We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Ideal for a Short Break”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 3 more sites!
The White Rose Hotel
Ranked #1 of 1 Hotels in Leeming Bar
Folkestone
1 review
“Ideal for a Short Break”
Reviewed September 5, 2013

We are always delighted to stay at The White Rose while en-route to Scotland from Kent (and back again!). The staff are very friendly and the competitively priced accommodation is well suited for a short stay. As always we enjoy a great dinner and the beer is good!

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Paul M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

180 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    73
    37
    28
    28
    14
See reviews for
29
73
4
31
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (37)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Any
English first
Wolverhampton, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
6 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
Reviewed August 29, 2013

My husband and I went to this hotel after my children booked it through KGB deals for our wedding anniversary. We got there on the Monday the rooms were tiny and there were only 2 staff to run the whole place. The deal was 2 nights to include a main meal and a bottle of wine. We went down to eat at 7.15 we was told to take a seat. At 7.45 nobody had been to us so we went to the bar and asked if we could order at the bar, so that's what we did. My husband ordered a starter they gave it to another customer they then remade his starter again and he got it at 8.15. They brought us our main meal at 8.30 it was served on cold plates and the food was not as was stated on the menu, it should have been home cooked chips but they gave us frozen fries I ate a fry and it was cold so we didn't even attempt the rest, we called for the chef and he said all I can do is apologise, he did not even offer to replace made, the restaurant tables were dirty and sticky. The dirty linen bags were left in the hallway from the afternoon, overnight. We left after the first night with a promise of a refund, however since then they have refused the refund and the so called owner has proceeded to call and threaten my daughter with small claims court for a tab that we know nothing about and to then insult her accent. How rude. Would rather stay in the local kennels.

Room Tip: Don't bother
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
7 Thank Jackie B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers are raving about these Leeming Bar hotels

Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
surrey
Level Contributor
8 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed August 29, 2013

Parking plentiful and staff all very helpful and young although probably not over trained. Dinner was excellent but English breakfast disappointing with hard fried eggs and dried up bacon. The room was over the front entrance and traffic was extremely noisy - tractors at 6 a.m. rubbish collection at 6:30.

Room Tip: Don't be at the front - noisy
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank hdt20979
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Wakefield, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed August 27, 2013

i recently made my second trip to the White Rose and have to say the quality of the meat was excellent there was also plenty of choices of veg and potatoes. There is a very relaxed atmosphere to the place i will visit again soon.

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank andy1008
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level Contributor
5 reviews
Reviewed August 15, 2013 via mobile

I've stayed here twice in the past 2 months, 5 days at a time, the bedrooms are just as you would expect them, nothing less than you need, and very clean. Your very well looked after, Michelle is great she does an amazing job to keep the whole place running. The food is good quality,always a good sized portion aswell. The only downfall is that it is only in a small village with not a lot in it. Other than that will always be recommended! I'm staying again at the end of the month!

Stayed July 2013
Helpful?
Thank LMAC19
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Northallerton, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
Reviewed August 11, 2013

Visited for the Sunday carvery and was a massive disappointment, the meat was chewy and dry. The mash was smash, and the roast potatoes were black on the inside.

Used to be a great carvey but they seem to have swopped quantity for quality

Will not be visiting again

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Ellen1706_11
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Derby, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
37 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
Reviewed July 29, 2013

Bit of a disappointing welcome to be greeted by a half asleep receptionist who said she had just done a 17 hour shift then was back on early the day we arrived. As part of a party, one of our group had problems changing their "box room" located on the noisy front of the hotel. When told that there were no rooms available and after threatening to go elsewhere, another room was soon located. Rooms are very clean, but the upstairs corridors smell a bit fusty. The ""All you can eat Chinese buffet we had was disappointing after it ran out after 45 minutes. ten pound for a plate full seemed excessive. Staff shortages were evident the next day when the receptionist/waitress/cook for breakfast was in attendance. She did the best in the circumstances, but we felt very uncomfortable asking for extra toast , milk etc. The bar was very well staffed and the Black Sheep is excellent. Next day, the receptionist who had left at 2am in the morning to be back in at 5am to prepare, did her best in difficult circumstances. But due to our large party we were waiting a long time for the breakfast basics. I probably would return. This time a chef was in residence, but is still was Fawlty Towers. I would come here again as the staff keep the place ticking over and are very nice people. Apart from used bath towels which were were advised to leave in the bath were then refolded damp over the bath. Food quality was good, but the portions didn`t really match the price.

Room Tip: Stay at the rear of the hotel it is so much quiter
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank MARLEYGINGER
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Leeming Bar
0.4 mi away
Lodge At Leeming Bar
Lodge At Leeming Bar
#1 of 1 in Bedale
126 reviews
5.7 mi away
Allerton Court Hotel
Allerton Court Hotel
#3 of 5 in Northallerton
284 reviews
15.9 mi away
Best Western Crown Hotel
Best Western Crown Hotel
#1 of 1 in Boroughbridge
641 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
5.7 mi away
Golden Lion Hotel
Golden Lion Hotel
#4 of 5 in Northallerton
281 reviews
7.8 mi away
Swinton Park
Swinton Park
#2 of 5 in Ripon
1,240 reviews
11.7 mi away
The Ripon Spa Hotel
The Ripon Spa Hotel
#4 of 5 in Ripon
746 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The White Rose Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The White Rose Hotel

Property: The White Rose Hotel
Address: 12 Bedale Road, Leeming Bar DL7 9AY, England
Location: United Kingdom > England > Yorkshire > North Yorkshire > Leeming Bar
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 1 Hotels in Leeming Bar
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3.5 star — The White Rose Hotel 3.5*
Number of rooms: 18
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The White Rose Hotel at Leeming Bar is situated in the heart of North Yorkshire, just moments from the A1, Scotch Corner and the Yorkshire Dales making it ideally located for both business and leisure travellers alike. The White Rose is also home to our hugely popular pub/restaurant providing excellent home-cooked food, fine real ales and a friendly atmosphere. All of our 18 en-suite rooms offer exceptional comfort and cleanliness at great value. As a result, our hotel offers the perfect blend of privacy and isolation, alongside a gateway to the local community and regional charm. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Travelocity, Hotwire, Orbitz and Hotels.com so you can book your The White Rose Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
The White Rose Hotel Leeming Bar, Yorkshire

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing