We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Good... with a few reservations”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 3 more sites!
The White Rose Hotel
Ranked #1 of 1 Hotels in Leeming Bar
Newcastle upon Tyne, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
25 reviews
22 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 36 helpful votes
“Good... with a few reservations”
Reviewed July 17, 2013

I find it difficult to rate this hotel as there are so many good points but certainly some negative issues too. To be fair I would have chosen Good but I don't have that option, and Very Good doesn't allow for the negatives.

We had a two night stay on a deal. For the price we paid it was good. The staff are friendly and very welcoming. The rooms are very clean and include a trouser press, fan, iron & board (located in wardrobe), tea/coffee making, soap dispensers in bathroom, lots of hot water, flat screen tv and free Wi-Fi. The breakfasts were cooked to order and were very good. The deal included £10 each towards an evening meal from the main menu and a bottle wine. We ordered the duck breast which was well cooked & presented. The restaurant has a welcoming atmosphere. We have eaten here on a previous occasion, with young children, and we all felt it was very good.

Now for the reservations - we stayed during a very hot time and naturally had the windows open. Unfortunately our room overlooked the road and early morning traffic started around 5am. This was after not getting to sleep until midnight due to music coming from another guest's room. But must emphasise that our request to be moved to a room away from the road was dealt with very well and pleasantly and we had a better night's sleep in a room towards the back. They stored our luggage safely and took it up to the new room.

The rooms are in need of a refurb although the furniture is in good order. A few issues with carpet in the bathroom - not ideal in a hotel! A shelf for toiletries would be handy. The coloured suites should have been discarded years ago! Unfortunately the first bathroom reeked of smoke presumably due to an uncaring previous guest. Perhaps clearer signs for No Smoking in rooms are needed.

My main concern is with the electrics & sockets. I noticed PAT labels on some of the electrical components in the main areas & corridors, although couldn't read the dates. I didn't see any in the two rooms. In the first room there were very few viable sockets. Only one of the bedside lamps worked as there was no socket to plug in the other one! The only double socket was located across the room and near the floor. Into this we had to plug the kettle - on the floor as the flex didn't reach - and any other electrical equipment. We realised only one socket was usable - the other being damaged. This severely limited the use of other electricals e.g. hairdryer, phone charger. The wall mounted mirror was situated so you couldn't use the hairdryer in front of it - a criminal offence in the eyes of most women!!

The second room faired a little better in that both bedside lamps were plugged into an extension gang behind the bed. But the strange arrangement elsewhere was another matter. There were 3 sockets located on the wall but none worked. The tv, kettle, phone charger and any hairdrying equipment used were plugged into another extension gang located hanging from the tv wire! See photo. Umm I think there are serious safety issues here which should be addressed!

Overall a good stay - great staff, very good restaurant, some room issues. Good base for exploring north Yorkshire as close to connecting roads.

Room Tip: Avoid rooms at front
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Juliamac51
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

178 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    72
    37
    27
    28
    14
See reviews for
29
72
4
30
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (37)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Any
English first
Liversedge, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
23 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
Reviewed July 10, 2013

Just returned from a 2 night break at this hotel. The room was basic but very clean. It could have done with a shelf in the bathroom to put toiletries on. Food was very good first night but not on our second night. Staff were friendly.

  • Stayed July 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank fjs17411
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Derby, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
5 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed July 6, 2013

We stayed at this hotel for two nights in June 2013, whilst the room was basic in decoration style, it was spotlessly clean and very well equipped with everything you could ever need. The bed was comfy, and the shower powerful. the food in the bar was lovely, and was only bettered by the polite and welcoming staff on hand. Would stay again and would recommend.

  • Stayed June 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Vic W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sheffield
Level Contributor
5 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviewed July 3, 2013

Just returned from a two night Deal Monster trip to this Hotel. The deal was excellent value
( £89 for two nights with £10 towards an evening meal ) and the were staff friendly and helpful. Our room was clean and spacious but could have done with a couple of pictures on the walls to brighten it up. We would definitely return and would recommend the deal to family and friends

Stayed June 2013, traveled as a couple
Helpful?
Thank marrdc
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Nottingham, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
18 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 29 helpful votes
Reviewed July 1, 2013

We recently enjoyed a two night stay at The White Rose with a meal and a bottle of wine. The staff were very helpful and friendly, the breakfast lady was a one woman tourist information point, with lots of ideas for places to see , things to do and advice on the best routes for views. The rooms may be a little basic, but were spotless and had everything we needed. The breakfast and evening meals were good value. there is plenty to do in the area and we will definitely return again. .

Room Tip: We had a room at the front of the hotel overlooking the main road but it did not affect our nights s...
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank alfredr063
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Leeds, United Kingdom
2 reviews
Reviewed June 28, 2013

My wife and our two friends found this hotel through deal monster and we were not disappointed. The hotel was run smoothly by the owner Michelle who was open,friendly, welcoming and accommodated all our requests by for assistance. The hotel was spotless and our room was well appointed with hair dryer, trouser press, iron and ironing board! Although the deal we got only covered you for up to £10 discount on your evening meal it was well worth it. The food was both tasty and well cooked. I can highly recommend you the Pasta Carbonara it was the single most tasty pasta dish I've ever had. It ticked every box for us and we will definitely be coming back. Thanks hope this helps other visitors to the area.

Room Tip: Try to get a room at the back of the hotel as the front ones face onto the road
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank glenn b
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Lancashire
Level Contributor
6 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed June 26, 2013

Booked a two night break, and we enjoyed it so much,we extended our stay.The hotel staff were really friendly and helpful, food was delicious,and the atmosphere in the hotel was relaxed and welcoming. We will definitely return, and will recommend to our family and friends.

  • Stayed June 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Moneypenny_10
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Leeming Bar
0.4 mi away
Lodge At Leeming Bar
Lodge At Leeming Bar
#1 of 1 in Bedale
3.0 of 5 bubbles 126 reviews
5.7 mi away
Allerton Court Hotel
Allerton Court Hotel
#3 of 5 in Northallerton
4.5 of 5 bubbles 279 reviews
11.8 mi away
The Old Deanery
The Old Deanery
#1 of 5 in Ripon
4.5 of 5 bubbles 451 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
5.7 mi away
Golden Lion Hotel
Golden Lion Hotel
#4 of 5 in Northallerton
4.0 of 5 bubbles 276 reviews
11.3 mi away
White Horse Lodge Hotel
4.3 mi away
Solberge Hall Hotel
Solberge Hall Hotel
#1 of 1 in Newby Wiske
4.5 of 5 bubbles 693 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The White Rose Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The White Rose Hotel

Property: The White Rose Hotel
Address: 12 Bedale Road, Leeming Bar DL7 9AY, England
Location: United Kingdom > England > Yorkshire > North Yorkshire > Leeming Bar
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 1 Hotels in Leeming Bar
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3.5 star — The White Rose Hotel 3.5*
Number of rooms: 18
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The White Rose Hotel at Leeming Bar is situated in the heart of North Yorkshire, just moments from the A1, Scotch Corner and the Yorkshire Dales making it ideally located for both business and leisure travellers alike. The White Rose is also home to our hugely popular pub/restaurant providing excellent home-cooked food, fine real ales and a friendly atmosphere. All of our 18 en-suite rooms offer exceptional comfort and cleanliness at great value. As a result, our hotel offers the perfect blend of privacy and isolation, alongside a gateway to the local community and regional charm. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Hotwire, Travelocity, Orbitz and Hotels.com so you can book your The White Rose Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
The White Rose Hotel Leeming Bar, Yorkshire

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing