We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Open today: 10:00 AM - 3:00 PM
Save
Review Highlights
Amazing

We had a fantastic trip on a steam train and the kids had a lovely time waving at all the people at... read more

Reviewed 3 weeks ago
benlavou
,
Petts Wood, United Kingdom
via mobile
Lovely day out

We've just had a lovely day out, caught the 9:45 from Leeming Bar to Leyburn, did their website... read more

Reviewed 4 weeks ago
Chris_NYorks
,
Northallerton, United Kingdom
Read all 238 reviews
  
Reviews (238)
Filter reviews
237 results
Traveler rating
138
66
25
3
5
Traveler type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
138
66
25
3
5
Show reviews that mention
All reviews castle bolton steam loco afternoon tea return journey diesel loco yorkshire dales station building steam hauled rolling stock glass of prosecco run by volunteers stunning countryside aysgarth falls day ticket lovely trip worth a trip heritage lines
Filter
Updating list...
1 - 10 of 237 reviews
Reviewed 3 weeks ago via mobile

We had a fantastic trip on a steam train and the kids had a lovely time waving at all the people at the side.

Thank benlavou
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
WensleydaleR, Guest Relations Manager at Wensleydale Railway, responded to this reviewResponded 1 week ago

Many thanks for taking the time to review our railway. Hope to see you again soon.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed 4 weeks ago

We've just had a lovely day out, caught the 9:45 from Leeming Bar to Leyburn, did their website recommended and informative 10 mile walk past the old industrial workings at Cobscar with great views of the dale, plenty of time at Castle Bolton, then Redmire for a couple of pints at the Bolton Arms before catching the 17:05 back to Leeming Bar. I enjoyed the Bubble Car, if that's what its called, good visibility from the windows, very open inside.

Minor downsides no facilities in the train or at Redmire, but there is a 5 minute halt at Leyburn so enough time to get a coffee or use the toilet, remember the two pints at Redmire. I think they should date their website entries as I wasn't sure if the "News" was news at all, I was interested in an update on the progress towards opening the line to Northallerton again but couldn't find anything in news.

Minor niggles, a great day out, recommended if you are interested in industrial heritage as well as hill walking.

Thank Chris_NYorks
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
WensleydaleR, Guest Relations Manager at Wensleydale Railway, responded to this reviewResponded 4 weeks ago

Many thanks for your review and feedback. The Class 121 'Bubble' cars were not constructed with toilets hence the short pause at Leyburn - did you try the cake ? It is amazing!

Really glad you enjoyed the walk on the website - one of our volunteers has researched and written these so he will be delighted to read your comments.

I will mention the comment around Northallerton to our 'webmaster'

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed 4 weeks ago

Having checked the web site for an up to date timetable and made a special trip in order to catch the steam hauled train we were very disappointed to be told it wasn’t running. They make a special point of telling you to check the web site then do not keep it updated.

Thank John W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
WensleydaleR, Guest Relations Manager at Wensleydale Railway, responded to this reviewResponded 4 weeks ago

Many thanks for your review and apologies for your disappointment. Would you be kind enough to email us with the webpage which shows steam. We haven't to the best our knowledge advertised steam since the engine left us at the end of August - if there is an oversight somewhere then we will action asap.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 2, 2018

This was our third visit to the Wendsleydale railway and it will be our last. The first time was okay. The second time was 6 years ago, We were told we could park in the disabled space but when we parked there we were told to move again by the same volunteer! (we left immediately and vowed never to come back). Today we broke that promise and when back to Leeming Bar for one last chance (and wished we hadn't). Firstly can we say we love Preserved Railways and never forget that these are run by volunteers, people who give their time in order for us to enjoy ourselves on the railways so we write this with sadness about the way this railway is run. It's really bad The disabled parking spaces have coal covering half of it! (please see the photo) its dirty and the train is a single car DMU bubble car but the driver has one function to blow that horn as many times as he can! Without exagerating it must have been over 70 times each way. We understand that birds, animals and level crossings you have to blow the horn but this is rediculous! You can't hold a conversation as he seems to blowing that horn at every opportunity .The DMU itself is a very tired dirty smelly diesel that prevented us from opening the window on the journey to Redmire because of the smell of the exhaust fumes coming into the train. Most of the staff this time were lovely and polite but this is not enough for todays preserved railways.
Sorry Wensleydale Railway you had enough chances we will never visit you again thats not a promise thats a guarantee!

Thank Jayandcc
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
WensleydaleR, Guest Relations Manager at Wensleydale Railway, responded to this reviewResponded October 3, 2018

Thank you for taking the time to review your trip. I guess reviews such as this serve 2 purposes, one is that we take action, the other is to warn potential customers from visiting the railway. I can assure you that we will take action as a result of the observations made around the car parking and potential issues with respect to the train. In respect of warning potential people away from our railway, I hope that other reviews where people have commented that our volunteers have worked hard to provide an enjoyable day and that the scenery is lovely won't put people off visiting - no people = no railway and that isn't great for preserving our heritage.

We'd love to run steam trains with fantastic carriages every day as we did in the summer but the costs are eyewatering and at least 150 people must visit the railway on each steam running day to give us a fighting chance.

What I cannot apologise for in any way is the horn sounding. We have over 40 points along the railway; level crossings and footpaths where we must by railway law sound the horn - imagine the trouble we'd be in, if we didn't sound the horn and then ran into a person or a car.

Despite all this, why not come along and join us as a volunteer and help us achieve what we believe is possible - we know we aren't there yet but please bear in mind we are only 15 years in and we have a very long line to maintain - it isn't 'run badly' - it is actually run to the best of our ability given the resources available.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 29, 2018

We recently spent a day in Leyburn and went on the round trip at the railway. From going into this station to leaving after our journey i could not fault anything. We were given great advice about the train journey and where it went to and how long at each staion. We had a cuppa and a sandwich with Arthur and his friend in the station cafe. I can honestly say they were two of the nicest people I've ever met. The station guard and train guards and driver were brilliant as my friend is in a wheelchair but was helped on and off the train with no fuss or problems. We had one of the nicest days ever. We will visit again

Thank April M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
WensleydaleR, Guest Relations Manager at Wensleydale Railway, responded to this reviewResponded September 30, 2018

Thank you for taking the time to review our railway. Our volunteers work tirelessly to make everyone’s day out special and memorable. Looking forward to seeing you again

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 28, 2018 via mobile

A Fabulous day on the train from Finghall to Redmire. Sunday lunch at the Bolton Arms, then back again. Thanks Brian the Guard, Tom the Bartender and Marilyn the Station Master.

Thank 51splash
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
WensleydaleR, Guest Relations Manager at Wensleydale Railway, responded to this reviewResponded September 30, 2018

Thank you so much for your kind words - it means so much to our volunteers when they see you have had a great day out

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 20, 2018

We boarded the train at Redmire for a return trip to Leeming Bar, however without the sat nav I don't think we'd have found the station! Really feel some signposts are needed. We travelled on the 13.50 train and got back by 5.00 after pleasant few hours. Guard was unable to sell tickets on journey so it relied on people's honesty to pay at Leeming Bar I hope everyone did pay as it seems the railway needs lots of investment.

Thank LucindaStaffs
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 29, 2018

I have been visiting the Wensleydale Railway since it opened, It has a lot going for it: sixteen miles of varied and impressive scenery, two excellent stations at Bedale and Leyburn, both with shop and cafe, and, this summer, a visiting steam locomotive of outstanding interest.(NER/LNER J27 65894) All told, worth four stars. But . . .

If you arrive at Leeming Bar, the station closest the heavily populated Teeside area, the visitor experience is less impressive - pretty dismal, if I'm honest. On arrival in the car park, the first thing I saw was a pile of locomotive coal, which later was shovelled into the J27's tender by a JCB driven across the platform. The second thing was the toilets, portable ones up a flight of steps, where the floor had been taken up and a hose inserted. I didn't work out whether they were being filled up with chemicals or emptied of effluent: and frankly, I didn't want to investigate too closely! In fairness, the floor had been restored when I returned later in the day.

The railway does not have the use of the station building, so shop, ticket office and buffet are all accommodated in two carriages parked in the platform. The shop/ticket office was unmanned on my arrival, about ten minutes before the train left, and a notice directed us to the buffet to buy tickets. This meant joining the buffet queue.

In addition, the passenger carriages are rather shabby, though not uncomfortable.

Major improvements are needed at Leeming Bar to bring it up to the standard of the rest of the ilne.

2  Thank Stephen T
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
WensleydaleR, Guest Relations Manager at Wensleydale Railway, responded to this reviewResponded August 31, 2018

Thank you for taking the time to review the railway. As the listing is for the whole railway, I am delighted you thought we were worth 4 stars.

Leeming Bar is our operational hub and we are aware of the issues - so much so, we are in the final stages of securing Heritage Lottery Funding for restoring the station building and the immediate surroundings - this will include the toilets. Please remember, we have only been going for 15 years and on reflection our volunteers (of which we are 95% staffed with) have achieved amazing things in such a short space of time.

The coal pile is an interesting challenge - we recently installed a maintenance shed and as a result lost our previous coal storage area - for now this was a next best option to prevent contamination of the coal - I hope this didn’t spoil your day too much.

If you would like to join our smiling team of volunteers and help deliver the changes which will take your 2 star rating towards our average of 4.5 stars we would welcome you with open arms.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 28, 2018

.....to, well not that long ago. Whilst they have old style compartment carriages and steam trains some of there stock is 1960's carriages and diesels that I remember travelling in, in the early 90's!
The railway is run by volunteers and enthusiasts but that shouldn't detract from the enjoyment of the day. The ticket inspectors were both young engaging lads in their 20's knowledgable and personable and a million miles from what you might've expected. It runs a really good long decent length of line through old stations on the pre-Beeching era line (and they ultimately want to restore the whole line) and can take up an afternoon. A few stations have cafe facilities.
We boarded at Finghall Lane as a request stop where we had to flag down the train, a novelty in itself for our child, and ran through to Redmire. Once at Redmire there didn't appear much there though apparently there is so we headed back via a stopping off at Leyburn (see chocolate factory, station cafe and teapottery reviews). There was a fair mix of families, older folks and train spotters and it was highly enjoyable.

Practicalities: They run steam AND diesel so check carefully which one you'll get lest you set your heart on a particular type.
You can walk from the stations to certain attractions such as Bolton Castle but make sure you do your timings right and allow plenty of wiggle room to make last trains etc.
Prices, not the cheapest but you get an entire afternoons diversion of entertainment AND bear in mind they have rolling stock, infrastructure, insurance and fuel to cover so realistically you're getting a bargain.
Visit this. Enjoy!

1  Thank FlorianFY
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 27, 2018 via mobile

We visited the railway recently and thoroughly enjoyed the experience. The staff there were particularly friendly and helpful and welcoming of our dog.

Thank acornclose
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
WensleydaleR, Guest Relations Manager at Wensleydale Railway, responded to this reviewResponded August 28, 2018

Many thanks for taking the time to review your trip. Glad you and your four legged friend enjoyed

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
View more reviews