We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Well worth a trip”
Review of Blacksmith's Arms

Blacksmith's Arms
Ranked #1 of 2 Restaurants in Lastingham
Certificate of Excellence
Cuisines: British
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Local cuisine
Dining options: Lunch, Breakfast, Dinner, Late Night, Delivery, Reservations
Beverley, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
7 reviews
5 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
“Well worth a trip”
Reviewed February 18, 2014

Went with friends and 5 kids under 8 and couldn't have been better looked after.
Food excellent and plentiful, great beers and friendly staff. what more do you need?

  • Visited February 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank Steve C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

427 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    279
    95
    29
    10
    14
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Any
English first
York, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
5 reviews
5 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“Very Good”
Reviewed February 16, 2014

Sunday lunch visit. Excellent food, can choose traditional Sunday lunch or fish & chips etc, good portions, friendly service, good value. Would highly recommend.

  • Visited February 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank VJT145
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Scunthorpe, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
18 reviews
17 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
“Excellent Food and Friendly Staff”
Reviewed February 10, 2014

We found this place a little by accident as it was the only place in the area open at the times we were likely to be eating when we have been walking in the area. It is our second visit in the last couple of months. My walking mate, who is a connoisseur of steak and ale pie, stated it is the best he has ever had. I had the lamb and mint pie which was also excellent and either 'home made' or from a fabulous local butcher. The accompanying potatoes and veg were plentiful and tasty, also just a little bit different as they included braised red cabbage the first time and creamy leeks this time. Lovely beer to accompany it too (Theakstons) and I noticed you can get the 3 small tasters rather than a pint to help you choose if you are unsure which you prefer. Sadly only had one pint as I was driving but would certainly have had more if I could. Desserts looked delicious but didn't partake as we were full from the pie. Landlord and staff very friendly and chatty. We will definitely be coming back here.

  • Visited February 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank Jim B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Doncaster, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
12 reviews
4 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
“Quality food in a quality pub. ”
Reviewed February 2, 2014 via mobile

We found the Blacksmiths on our first visit to the area a three years ago. Having experienced their top quality locally sourced food and excellent beers we always head back there. This time we took friends who have hearty appetites. The lamb and mint pie was
ordered by two, comments from around the table (which had to be booked) were of succulent melt in the mouth meat, and extremely large portions, so big no room for a pud. We will always return there, staff are really friendly, the bar although small is cosy with the open fire to warm yourself after a walk.

Helpful?
1 Thank Andy B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Yarm, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
132 reviews
66 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 65 helpful votes
“A must visit”
Reviewed January 28, 2014

Cosy pub open all day serving excellent food, and plenty of it. Lovely roaring fire in the grate and Yorkshire hospitality. Good to know you can have food anytime. Some people having meals others drinks and a couple came in for tea and scones. Fantastic!!!!

Visited January 2014
Helpful?
1 Thank Kay E
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Blacksmith's Arms also viewed

Hutton le Hole, North York Moors National Park
Appleton le Moors, North Yorkshire
 
Gillamoor, North Yorkshire
Kirkbymoorside, North Yorkshire
 
Wombleton, North Yorkshire
 

Been to Blacksmith's Arms? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing