We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Fantastic Food lovely setting”
Review of Blacksmith's Arms

Blacksmith's Arms
Ranked #1 of 2 Restaurants in Lastingham
Certificate of Excellence
Cuisines: British
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Local cuisine
Dining options: Dinner, Late Night, Breakfast, Lunch, Delivery, Reservations
Leeds, United Kingdom
Level 5 Contributor
76 reviews
43 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 47 helpful votes
“Fantastic Food lovely setting”
Reviewed December 19, 2013

Really enjoyed our meal, stayed 6 miles away at the Forest Holiday site and read about the Blacksmiths Arms there.
Well worth the drive, friendly staff excellent food great portions and very reasonable pricing. Serving from 6-00 pm we called at 5-00 but were made very welcome until the restaurant opened, really enjoyed our evening and will be back next time.

Visited December 2013
Helpful?
Thank Frazer A
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

433 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    283
    97
    29
    10
    14
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Any
English first
Malton
Level 3 Contributor
10 reviews
7 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
“Great friendly atmosphere”
Reviewed December 14, 2013 via mobile

Enjoyed a delicious meal in a relaxed traditional pub setting. Generous portions and very friendly service. The only dilemma is whether to have starter or desert. It's a challenge to eat three courses! Fully recommended.

Helpful?
Thank BananaJack
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Leeds, England, United Kingdom
Level 6 Contributor
103 reviews
58 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 61 helpful votes
“Still the best on the Yorkshire Moors”
Reviewed November 6, 2013

We have visited this restaurant many times and always try to book a meal when we visit the moors.
I like the fact that the landlord remembers our names and we are always made welcome.
The quality of the food is always excellent and the service always good, no matter how busy the pub is. A real country pub, small cosy rooms, open fires and an ever changing list of guest beers.
In my opinion, still the best restaurant on the Yorkshire Moors.

  • Visited November 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Bob O
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
kent
Level 3 Contributor
22 reviews
5 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 21 helpful votes
“WW2 weekend”
Reviewed October 28, 2013

This pub is in the heart of the village with the sheep wandering around. The decor of this pub is fabulous spotlessly clean with a welcoming fire. Plenty of Ales & Beers to choose from. Landlord very accommodating and helpful.

Visited October 2013
Helpful?
Thank lipstickwoman
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Newcastle upon Tyne, United Kingdom
Level 5 Contributor
78 reviews
47 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 31 helpful votes
“Crackling fire and hearty food”
Reviewed October 23, 2013

Splendid lamb and mint pie next to the fire and among the friendly bustle of a Saturday night. We didn't expect fresh fruit salad and smoked salmon for breakfast when the room was so cheap, so happy days! The en suite bathroom is just about ready for a refurb, and noise from the dining room would be an issue if you were early to bed, but we weren't so yay! Would happily return. Wanted to rate it as a B and B rather than a restaurant but couldn't work out how.

  • Visited October 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Sheila L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Blacksmith's Arms also viewed

Hutton le Hole, North York Moors National Park
Appleton le Moors, North Yorkshire
 
Gillamoor, North Yorkshire
Kirkbymoorside, North Yorkshire
 

Been to Blacksmith's Arms? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing