We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Sunday Lunch”
Review of Carriages Wine Bar

Carriages Wine Bar
Ranked #13 of 85 Restaurants in Knaresborough
Certificate of Excellence
Price range: $16 - $39
Cuisines: European, Spanish, British
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Local cuisine, Special occasions, Large groups, Romantic, Bar scene
Dining options: Dinner, Late Night, Breakfast, Outdoor Seating, Reservations
Description: Located in a listed building above a Victorian train tunnel on Knaresborough’s High Street, Carriages is a restaurant and bar serving British and European cuisine. Working closely with good quality local suppliers and sourcing the best ingredients, Carriages offers a range of menus including an excellent value Early Bird and set lunch menu in addition to the a la carte and tapas. Sunday lunches are very popular too. The cosy bar with a low beamed ceiling has an inviting atmosphere and offers a range of fine wines, spirits and ales. The large beer garden to the rear makes it the perfect place to enjoy summer drinks and eating al fresco style.
Reviewed 4 weeks ago via mobile

We visited this afternoon for what we hoped would be a lovely Sunday Lunch but we were underwhelmed.
We have been many times in the past with friends for a meal and have always had a great time but the restaurant was really noisy- not their fault but the music was too loud and the service was poor, perhaps too many tables and not enough staff.
I had the Devilled kidneys with mushrooms and they were awful, my hubby had pate which was nice. My nearly full plate taken away without question and yes it can be down to personal taste but I have never had them like that before. Looking at the dish, it looked awful and I was amazed that the chef would be happy with it.
I had asked for boiled potatoes as I don’t like roast and they were cold luckily she had to bring another main so I was able to tell her but she apologised and quickly took it away before bringing it back having microwaved it.
The best bit was the sirloin and the Yorkshire puddings, the gravy tasted like it was from the Devilled kidneys but a little thinner.
No offer to top up the drinks and as it was raining my husband went to collect the car while I waited to catch someone’s attention, I went to the bar and back before spotting one of the people serving and then was asked if I would walk into town to get cash as the machine was broken!!!
All in all a waste of money and a precious Family Sunday.

Date of visit: September 2019
Thank bjulieb113
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
BusinessOwner01423, Owner at Carriages Wine Bar, responded to this reviewResponded 3 weeks ago

Thank you for providing feedback of your recent visit. I'm pleased to hear you enjoyed the roast sirloin and Yorkshire pudding but sorry the devilled lambs kidneys were not to your liking, usually this dish is well received. It was very unfortunate that the card machine stopped working later in the afternoon during a very busy service and no doubt this exasperated the other issues you have mentioned. I am very sorry your experience was not as good as you have experienced in the past and we will use your feedback to improve our service. Please feel free to get in touch directly - I sent a direct message with my telephone number.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a reviewReviews (681)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

6 - 10 of 681 reviews

Reviewed 4 weeks ago via mobile

The food was okay but not historic, quite tasty but rather formulaic. It wasn’t bad you understand it just did not excite. The wine offerings were frankly average and rather pricey for the quality.

The service though was friendly and rapid. The ambiance was okay rather rustic with wooden tables and bent back chairs, rather reminiscent of the seventies but okay.

All in all a satisfactory evening but no more than that.

Date of visit: September 2019
1  Thank StephenR744
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 3, 2019 via mobile

Very good early bird menu, excellent wine. As usual, too full for pudds. Service with a smile plus advice re the food + wine.

Date of visit: August 2019
Thank de-da2014
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
BusinessOwner01423, Owner at Carriages Wine Bar, responded to this reviewResponded 4 weeks ago

I’m delighted you enjoyed our Early Bird menu and the wine. We have a new Early Bird menu so I hope you will return soon to try the new dishes.

Early Bird/ Pre-theatre menu served 5 - 6-30pm, 2 courses £15.95, 3 courses £18.95.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 26, 2019

The food is really good but the venue is incredibly noisy. It’s a small place and some people insist of shouting over to he top of each other especially if there are a few of them. We will go again but it will be early Dorris, say 5pm before the noisy people are out in force.

Date of visit: July 2019
Thank Susan E
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
BusinessOwner01423, Owner at Carriages Wine Bar, responded to this reviewResponded 4 weeks ago

Sorry it was a little too noisy for you. 5pm is an excellent time to come to take advantage of our great value Early Bird menu - we have lots of new dishes so hope to see you again soon and we’ll do our best to find you a quiet table in one of our dining rooms.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 26, 2019

Fabulous Sunday Lunch 25/08/2019. with our friends. Great atmosphere , Great food, Great service. All four of us had different starters, different mains. but same conclusion DELICIOUS. Thanks to Ash and the staff for your sterling efforts. A great afternoon had by all xxx

Date of visit: August 2019
Thank jeanandalan
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
BusinessOwner01423, Owner at Carriages Wine Bar, responded to this reviewResponded August 28, 2019

We are so pleased you enjoyed your Sunday lunch. Thank you for taking the time to give such great feedback, we look forward to seeing you all again very soon!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Carriages Wine Bar also viewed

Harrogate, North Yorkshire
Knaresborough, North Yorkshire
 
Knaresborough, North Yorkshire
Harrogate, North Yorkshire
 
Knaresborough, North Yorkshire
Knaresborough, North Yorkshire
 

Been to Carriages Wine Bar? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing