We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
“wonderful stay”
other travelers have booked this property

Review of Tenter Turret

Bookings for this home are first-come, first served. Lock in your dates before they are gone
Check Availability
Request to Book
Make Inquiry
Average
6 reviews
This property is not available for these dates.
Don't give up! Inquire about other rentals just like this one that are available -
Show all rentals available
Overview
Rental Home -
4 Bedrooms, 1 Bathroom, Sleeps 6
Knaresborough, North Yorkshire, England

Reviews from our community

Average - based on 6 reviews
Write a Review

Reviews from our community

Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
English first
Any
English first
Jane M
1 review
“Worst holiday cottage I've ever stayed in”
Reviewed August 29, 2016 for a stay in August 2016

I can't begin to describe what a disappointment this cottage is. It feels as if it hasn't been updated for about 20 years - old furniture, horrible bedding, ancient towels, terrible carpets. The downstairs toilet was a disgrace - clearly leaking for a while and horribly grubby. It was the height of summer when we were there and its dark and gloomy. I can honestly say that it was the worst cottage I've ever stayed in and would encourage anyone to find somewhere else to stay if possible - I'd have given it 0 out of 5 if I could

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: leaving
Liked least: the horrible downstairs toilet
Traveling group: Extended Family
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   No.
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Management Response
Sep 12, 2016
Dear Jane, I am sorry that your stay at Tenter Turret did not meet your expectations. It is one of our older and more historic properties, being built into the side of the Nidd Gorge river cliff and therefore is not as light or modern as some of our alternatives. I have fed your comments back to the Owner in order that she can address any issues and I understand that the over flow downstairs is not from the toilet, but from a natural source in the cliff which can become more apparent in times of heavy rain. We very much hope to be able to welcome you again to the area and would encourage you to make contact with us for us to suggest something which suits your needs. Kind Regards Alison Cormack
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
678Tracey...
Staffordshire, United Kingdom
Level 1 Contributor
4 reviews
“wonderful stay”
Reviewed September 24, 2015 for a stay in September 2015

Just spent 5 nights at Tenter Turret in Knaresborough . what a wonderful quirky house with roof top seating what a fab view. Its own quirky cave not many holiday homes can say they have their own cave can they. Place was clean and tidy welcome pack on arrival with tea coffee sugar milk and biscuits. Beautiful vase of roses in the window what more could you ask for . If you want a place to stay that's a bit different then Tenter Turret is the place for you we would definitely go back we all loved it.

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: that it was an unusual property
Liked least: quite alot of steps
Traveling group: Extended Family
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway Older travelers
Large groups People with pets
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Management Response
Sep 25, 2015
Thank you for your comments, we love Tenter Turret too, it has some unique features and super views. We hope to welcome you back when you are next visiting Yorkshire.
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
glamorama
london
Level 2 Contributor
7 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
“Unique and quirky with fabulous views.”
Reviewed June 30, 2015 for a stay in March 2015

Booked to stay here for a long weekend with my husband, mother and brother in law and my Dad to celebrate my mother in laws 60th Birthday.
The cottage is just as it looked on the website, gorgeous. The roof terrace was amazing with the most incredible views of the viaduct, really amazing.
It has its own little cave just off the living room and 4 cosy bedrooms, one with a small balcony at the front of the property facing the river. Large bathroom with roll top bath and separate shower, this was also fantastic.
My Dad is disabled but can walk with the aid of sticks so he was ok, however if you are a guest with limited mobility then I wouldn't recommend this property, as there are lots of steps up to the property and due to its unique design, lots of steps inside too.
I would absolutely recommend this property and hope to be able to return there myself.

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: The views and the design of the property
Traveling group: Friends
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway Families with young children
Large groups People with pets
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Heather B
Newcastle upon Tyne, United Kingdom
1 review
“Quirky but nice!”
Reviewed January 4, 2015 for a stay in December 2014

If you want something different - this is it! It is an old house with all that means but cosy and comfortable. Well equipped kitchen. Good beds. Near to all the touristy things in Knaresborough. We visited with 3 adults, 1 child and 1 dog. Good for everyone. Thought parking might be a problem - but wasn't.

Traveling group: Extended Family
Your age range 65+
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
nacnud1
Glasgow, United Kingdom
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
“A lovely old house but dirty and poorly maintained- not good value for money”
Reviewed December 29, 2014 for a stay in December 2014
3
people found this review helpful

We spent Xmas at this house and had to wash cutlery, crockery and clean the oven trays before using. The house reeked of dogs and was poorly maintained. An apparently long standing problem with leaking bathroom nearly ruined Xmas gifts and made bedroom below the bathroom unsafe.The outside lights didnt work - another safety hazard. We left early as couldn't tolerate any more. When packing we found a pair of dirty pants under one of the beds- enough said!

Traveling group: Extended Family
Your age range 50-64
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   No.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Management Response
Dec 29, 2014
Dear Guest. Thank you for your feedback on Tenter Turret which we manage on behalf of the Owner. We ask our Guests to address any problems directly with Owners during their stay in order that they can be resolved without delay, which you did in this case. We have spoken to the Owner and understand that a plumber is attending to assure her that the bathroom is safe and is in full working order and confirm that the external light bulb has now been replaced. We are sorry that your experience did not live up to your expectations and assure you that we will work closely with the Owner to monitor guest satisfaction.
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers are raving about these Knaresborough hotels

Enter dates for more accurate prices
2 guests
Adults2
Children0
Apply
Do you own a vacation rental? List it here.
Extra income
Earn money by renting out your home. With no up-front fees and no contract, you keep more for yourself.
Easy to manage
Confirm bookings in one click and track everything from inquiry to check-out – even while you're on the go.
Trusted by travelers
With millions of reviews and protected online payments, TripAdvisor helps travelers book your home with confidence.
Set up your free listing