We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Well worth a stay”
Review of Newton House

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Newton House
Ranked #4 of 15 Knaresborough B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed March 30, 2010

My fiancee and i wanted a weekend away with our teenage son in Yorkshire. We decided on Newton House due to the reviews i'd read on trip advisor. We were greeted by the proprietor, Mark, when we arrived and we found him to be very friendly and helpful. He showed us to our room which was situated in the courtyard outside. He gave us a wealth of information regarding pubs, restaurants and places to visit as well as showing us the facilities at Newton House and giving us the impression that nothing was too much trouble. We found our room to be clean and comfortable with an amazing bed!! The little touches in the room were very nice and included water, different teas, coffee, hot chocolate, biscuits, sewing kit, shoe cleaning kit, shower cap, flannel, shampoo, shower gel, DVD player, DAB radio, games to play etc. When we arrived for breakfast in the dining room it was a breath of fresh air for our son (A Coliac who cannot eat gluten) to be offered gluten free sausages and bread. Overall our stay at Newton House was fantastic and very enjoyable. We only stayed the one night but we all said that we'd definately return again. We would certainly recommend this hotel to other people and give a huge thumbs up to the friendly and accomodating staff. I must admit that this is the first time i have left a review on Trip advisor but i felt that people are always quick to leave reviews when standards are poor and felt it my duty to report when a hotel has made so much effort!

  • Stayed: March 2010, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank RubeusMinerva
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a ReviewReviews (492)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

442 - 448 of 492 reviews

Reviewed February 22, 2010

The hotel is in prime location for trips to York, Harrogate and the Dales. Our room (no 5) was en suit, and the bed as others have written, was massive - I lost the wife on the odd occasion. Worth noting that the mini bar is also well priced and well stocked with wine and beer the same as high street prices and there is a decent victorian style lounge with high ceilings, good sofas and a small bar in the corner.
The owners were very welcoming and were always happy to advise and recommend where they could (and it's worth listening to), and it's fair to say they make an awsome breakfast! We both enjoyed a hearty meal every morning, I stuck with the full english and didn't try anything else, but the wife's bacon and eggs with muffin also looked very pleasant.
My advice is it's a great hotel which is slightly let down by the location. Arguably it's a terraced property on the A59 through knaresborough, so there are no stunning views and you can hear the traffic, so worth being mindful of.

  • Stayed: January 2010, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank fetcham
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed February 8, 2010

We booked this hotel on the strength of previous tripadvisor reviews, and we weren't disappointed. From the moment we arrived we received a warm welcome, and offered a choice of rooms (both of which were beautifully decorated and furnished). Our room contained everything anyone could possibly need for a short stay; comfy bed, lovely on-suite bathroom - which was spotlessly clean and contained great toiletries, tea tray, TV, DAB radio to name a few things. The living room was warm, cosy and welcoming, and unlike some other hotels, we both felt that we could relax in there.

Being a great food lover - the highlight of the stay was the fabulous breakfasts - in particular I enjoyed the huge variety of fruits, cereals, preserves on the breakfast bar. In addition to this, there were a variety of cooked options (including egg benedict, full english, poached haddock and porridge - all of which were delicious).

Newton House is situated in a great location - plenty to see & places to eat or drink within walking distance, whilst a little farther afield there is Harrogate and York - both of which easily accesible by train. In fact it was cheaper to travel on the train than to drive and pay for car-parking (if there are 2 of you then ask for the Northern Duo).

All in all - great place stay. Would definitely recommend, and hope to stay again.

  • Stayed: February 2010, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank saladdancer
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 2, 2010

My partner and I came across the Newton having travelled a long way and were just really in need of a bed for the night, but wow, what can I say...a gem of a hotel!

A grade 2 listed fabulous building, free parking, a huge tastefully decorated bedroom to die for (plus Molton Brown toiletries), spotlessly clean, warm, welcoming hosts and the most wonderful breakfast I've tasted in a long while! Having had English breakfasts for a number of days at other hotels, I was desperate for a 'healthier option' and whilst the inevitable fry up (plus other locally produced delicacies and cereals etc.) was available, the vast, fresh fruit salad on offer certainly didn't disappoint...fruit salad, figs in juice, pears, peaches, homemade granola and preserves, fruits of the forest etc. You name it it was there! Fantastic.

I'd definitely recommend this as a place to stay. In short, if you're in Knaresborough, go and stay at the Newton. I don't think you'll be disappointed.


Sharon

  • Stayed: January 2010, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank BirminghamSharon
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 1, 2010

We had a great new year stay, nothing was too much bother and would have no qualms about returning anytime.

Rooms great and well equipped with high quality finish. Staff made us feel very at home.

Luke & Nicky

  • Stayed: December 2009, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Lukas5
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed December 19, 2009

Stayed for a couple of nights in one of the courtyard rooms which had a huge comfy bed and all neccessary facilities. Very clean and comfortable. Staff and owners were very attentive, helpful and friendly.
Took our two dogs who were made more than welcome and bedding/towels/treats also provided for them.
Ideal location for centre and resteraunts / bars etc.
Breakfast very extensive and excellent quality. Needed to stay longer to enjoy everything on offer!
Could not recommend more and will certainly return.

  • Stayed: December 2009, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank RosieBWarrington
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed December 6, 2009

We stayed two nights based on the tripadvisor reviews and can agree this is a lovely place to spend time. Very clean, well specified and comfortable. We stayed in room 1, which was large and well appointed. The hosts (Mark & Lisa) could not have been more friendly and went out of their way to help with our questions, making the stay very pleasurable. If we're in the area, we'd stay again.

  • Stayed: December 2009, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank pstamour
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Knaresborough hotels
2.6 mi away
The General Tarleton Inn
The General Tarleton Inn
#1 of 1 in Ferrensby
399 reviews
0.4 mi away
Best Western Dower House Hotel & Spa
0.3 mi away
Teardrop Cottage
Teardrop Cottage
#2 of 15 in Knaresborough
323 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.1 mi away
The Market Tavern
The Market Tavern
#9 of 15 in Knaresborough
64 reviews
0.3 mi away
The Mitre Inn
The Mitre Inn
#6 of 15 in Knaresborough
161 reviews
2 mi away
Goldsborough Hall
Goldsborough Hall
#1 of 15 in Knaresborough
423 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Newton House? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Newton House

Address: 5/7 York Place, Knaresborough HG5 0AD, England
Location: United Kingdom > England > Yorkshire > North Yorkshire > Knaresborough
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly )
Hotel Style:
Ranked #4 of 15 B&Bs / Inns in Knaresborough
Price Range: $116 - $148 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — Newton House 4*
Number of rooms: 12
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com and Priceline so you can book your Newton House reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Newton House Hotel Knaresborough
Newton House Knaresborough, Yorkshire

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing