We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Wonderful Breakfasts”
Review of Newton House

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 1 more site!
Newton House
Ranked #4 of 15 Knaresborough B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
Bath, United Kingdom
1 review
“Wonderful Breakfasts”
Reviewed April 4, 2014

We have just returned from a delightful 3 night stay at Newton House and are sorely missing the wonderful breakfasts – especially all the home made fruit compotes made with local ingredients bought from Knaresborough’s famous market (every Wednesday since 1310), and that’s before you get to the tempting selection of tastefully presented cooked dishes! All are served by the very welcoming and friendly staff.
Our bedroom was attractively decorated with wonderfully comfortable beds and was clean and fully equipped with all that you would expect and little luxuries that you may not expect. There was also a large, comfortable guest lounge on the ground floor with a wide selection of reading material and a well-stocked honesty bar that included locally brewed beers.
The house is centrally located for both the town and for transport to other places of interests around North Yorkshire. Knaresborough itself is a most interesting little town with a stunning location above the River Nidd and when next visiting the area we will certainly stay again at Newton House.

  • Stayed April 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Nigel P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

468 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    371
    67
    13
    5
    12
See reviews for
84
229
27
60
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (111)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Any
English first
Level Contributor
9 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed March 28, 2014 via mobile

I stayed here for five night I was made to feel very welcome upon my arrival by Denise, Thank you. The room was very clean and the bed was so comfortable . Highly recommend the Newton House knaresborugh

Stayed March 2014, traveled on business
Helpful?
Thank Wheelhouse05
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Knebworth
Level Contributor
5 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviewed March 26, 2014

This was our third stay at Newton House and once again it matched all our expectations. Each of the rooms we have stayed in have had different points to recommend them but all 3 we have stayed in have been comfortable and very clean. Denise pays great attention to detail and encouraged us to let her know if anything was missing. One of the biggest treats of being away is always a relaxed breakfast, and Denise and her team excel in this department both on food and service. As we were joined this time by friends it was lovely to have plenty of space to relax together in the lounge after an evening out in this delightful town. Great to stay right in the centre with a good variety of eating places only a short walk away.

  • Stayed March 2014, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Gill H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
1 review
Reviewed March 23, 2014

Brilliant place! Really welcoming and unique. Have stayed in so many holiday inns and alike, all of them so corporate and bland so was pleasantly surprised to discover this little gem of hospitality and comfort. Loved the small details that made the big difference. Eg. Cotton buds in the bathroom, rich variety of teas, books everywhere, honesty bar.. the list goes on. . Will certainly be coming back. Inesa (london)

  • Stayed March 2014
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank 1nesa
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bath, United Kingdom
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed March 7, 2014

We just wanted to say a big thank you to Denise and her team for our stay last month. We have 2 Black Labradors and so were given one of the lovely 'dog friendly' rooms in the converted Coach House at the back . The room was extremely spacious with a huge bed and comfy chairs with Dog treats ( home cooked !) ready and waiting on the table. Denise even provided blankets and towels for the dogs. In the morning we were treated to a delicious home cooked full English ( Yorkshire Style !) and could not have been made to feel more comfortable and welcome. Well done and we will be back ! ( If the dogs have their way !).

Room Tip: Make sure that if you have Dogs that you book the Dog Friendly rooms - Call Denise to confirm .
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank MurrayJones
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Preston, United Kingdom
2 reviews
Reviewed February 22, 2014

Our first time at Newton House was an experience we will never forget! The room was extremely comfortable and clean. The extra touches made our stay very special. The breakfast was second to none. Everything about our stay was very well organised and ran very smoothly. Thank you Denise for an exceptional stay in your lovely hotel :-)

Room Tip: Our room was at the back so no noise whatsoever.
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2014, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Shirley H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Halifax, United Kingdom
1 review
Reviewed February 22, 2014 via mobile

Stayed here while visiting friends in knaresborough, and so glad we chose this b and b. Room was spotless and had everthing in that we needed. Denise was very welcoming, helpful and we were made to feel completely at home. Nothing was too much trouble. The choice at breakfast was amazing, super service to the table and all our needs were catered too. Would definitely stay here again and recommend to others.

Stayed February 2014, traveled with friends
Helpful?
Thank sarahogden
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Knaresborough
0.4 mi away
Best Western Dower House Hotel & Spa
2.9 mi away
Best Western Plus Cedar Court Hotel
2.6 mi away
Rudding Park Hotel
Rudding Park Hotel
#1 of 1 in Follifoot
4,527 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.2 mi away
Kirkgate House
Kirkgate House
#3 of 15 in Knaresborough
121 reviews
2.0 mi away
Goldsborough Hall
Goldsborough Hall
#1 of 15 in Knaresborough
360 reviews
0.1 mi away
Old Royal Oak
Old Royal Oak
#7 of 15 in Knaresborough
156 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Newton House? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Newton House

Property: Newton House
Address: 5/7 York Place, Knaresborough, Harrogate HG5 0AD, England
Location: United Kingdom > England > Yorkshire > North Yorkshire > Harrogate > Knaresborough
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly )
Hotel Style:
Ranked #4 of 15 B&Bs / Inns in Knaresborough
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:4 star — Newton House 4*
Number of rooms: 12
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, LateRooms and Priceline so you can book your Newton House reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Newton House Hotel Knaresborough
Newton House Knaresborough, Yorkshire

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing