We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Perfect”
Review of Newton House

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 1 more site!
Newton House
Ranked #4 of 15 Knaresborough B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
Eastbourne, United Kingdom
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
“Perfect”
Reviewed September 3, 2013

Having travelled to many parts of the world and stayed in small pensions to Five Star hotels we found the Newton House a PERFECT place to stay. Situated in the centre of Knaresborough
it was an ideal place from which to explore Yorkshire. Denise greeted us upon arrival and showed us to our room which had everything you would expect from a room in a five star hotel.
Breakfast was amazing, all cooked by Denise, you would not find a better menu anywhere !
Everything was cooked to order with most things sourced locally. All the preserves were home made along with the wide choice of freshly prepared compotes and granola.
We were made to feel very welcome from Denise and her staff and really enjoyed our stay

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank alantfox
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

469 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    372
    67
    13
    5
    12
See reviews for
84
230
27
60
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (111)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Any
English first
Leeds, United Kingdom
Level 4 Contributor
27 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
Reviewed September 3, 2013

Overall, a lovely stay here at Newton House. Stayed for four nights in total and found it perfectly acceptable and comfortable. Location is ideal for the town centre, although right on a busy road, there is fair parking at the back (as long as people park sensibly and not block others in). Met with a friendly and homely welcome, shown around the guest lounge for which there is an honesty bar, then up to the room. Room was a small single but perfectly comfortable, bowl of sweets next to bed were a lovely little touch. There was a little fan heater in the room too-again very thoughtful. Bed was extremely comfortable and quality of linen and towels was very good. Could not fault room. Breakfast was equally great, fresh coffee, lovely selection of cold choices (baked peaches were gorgeous!) and the hot breakfast-event though i was picky and asked for something not on the menu, was met without little grumble. Will stay here again.

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank LoreleiLeeds
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Monmouth
Level 6 Contributor
120 reviews
42 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 52 helpful votes
Reviewed September 2, 2013

Reports had been good but, in the event, though it was not awful we were quite disappointed and it was not good value for money. We have no complaints about the large bed and linen which were very good and comfortable, also the bathroom which had had a makeover (though at this price I do not expect an ordinary Mira electric shower) and it was clean but the room itself - albeit a good size - had no charm and it was allegedly a superior one. There are attempts at nice touches and this review may be a little harsh but we had been led to expect more from this stay. It's just overpriced by £30 or so at which level I would have given it a higher star rating.

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank DerekW10
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hyde, United Kingdom
Level 5 Contributor
52 reviews
25 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 78 helpful votes
Reviewed August 25, 2013

My only regret with our stay at the Newton House was it was only for one night. We travelled to Knaresborough to attend a 50th birthday party. The room we had was fabulous, we stayed in a room at the back of the hotel and was like a seperate self contained room. The room had everything you needed which included hairdryer, iron and ironing board. the bed was huge and so comfortable. There was TV ,digital radio, a mini bar. and I have to agree with other guests the bowl of sweets and biscuits with the tea and coffee were lovely. The visitors book which is kept in your room had lots of information, which was so helpful as we were able to book a taxi with no problem at all.
There has been many comments about the breakfasts at Newton House and again I totally agree they were amazing. The poached plums and greek yoghurt was to die for. The service from all the staff was excellent. We would definitly be staying there again. Thank you to all the team for making this a very enjoyable stay.

Room Tip: We had room 11 and although we paid a litle extra for this room it was certainly worth it, and fabul...
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank baywatchHyde
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Dubai
Level 2 Contributor
5 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed August 24, 2013

We have just stayed at the Newton House for our 6th time! We really love staying here. The rooms are lovely, really clean and spacious, with lovely crisp, white linen. They are tastefully decorated and have everything you could ask for and more (My Daughter loves the bowls of sweets and biscuits!!). The staff are all really friendly and helpful. The location is great for exploring Knaresborough and is just a short walk from the train station. The breakfasts are absolutely delicious, the best we have had at any hotel or B and B. Would definitely recommend staying at the Newton House!

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank DubaiJendubai
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cirencester, United Kingdom
Level 5 Contributor
79 reviews
27 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 32 helpful votes
Reviewed August 19, 2013

Our hearts sank as we felt as much as heard the traffic outside our on-street room just metres from a busy light-controlled crossroads; in fact, we asked for another room. Since the place was full, we had to grin and bear it - and miraculously, at about 10.30, the town stilled and we got a lovely night's sleep, even if the traffic woke us at 6.30 next morning. The room itself was charming and as spotless as the tiny shower-room, replete with good toiletries. The breakfast was imaginative and excellent. Lovely hosts and staff. Well done.

Room Tip: Don't be put off by day time traffic: peace will descend!
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2013, traveled on business
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank judith_cutler
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Leicester, United Kingdom
Level 3 Contributor
24 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 27 helpful votes
Reviewed August 14, 2013

My good lady and I recently stayed at the Newton House for 3 nights whilst discovering the beauty that is Knaresborough. The Newton House has character, charm, history and elegance. It is the sort of place that allows you to enjoy a wonderful stay without intruding on whatever privacy you may want. It is on the edge of a most wonderful market town and provided us with a memorable experience.

As many others have commented on independent sites, the breakfast experience is out of this world, as is the service provided by the staff - a special mention here for Jackie - top lady.

Denise, thank you for your hospitality - we have already booked to return, parents in tow, to enjoy the whole experience with us.

Steve & Jackie

  • Stayed July 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Steve K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Knaresborough
0.4 mi away
Best Western Dower House Hotel & Spa
2.9 mi away
Best Western Plus Cedar Court Hotel
2.6 mi away
Rudding Park Hotel
Rudding Park Hotel
#1 of 1 in Follifoot
4,569 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
3.5 mi away
The Crown Hotel
The Crown Hotel
#14 of 30 in Harrogate
1,277 reviews
2.0 mi away
Goldsborough Hall
Goldsborough Hall
#1 of 15 in Knaresborough
366 reviews
0.2 mi away
Kirkgate House
Kirkgate House
#3 of 15 in Knaresborough
122 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Newton House? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Newton House

Property: Newton House
Address: 5/7 York Place, Knaresborough, Harrogate HG5 0AD, England
Location: United Kingdom > England > Yorkshire > North Yorkshire > Harrogate > Knaresborough
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly )
Hotel Style:
Ranked #4 of 15 B&Bs / Inns in Knaresborough
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:4 star — Newton House 4*
Number of rooms: 12
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Priceline and LateRooms so you can book your Newton House reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Newton House Hotel Knaresborough
Newton House Knaresborough, Yorkshire

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing