We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Third visit”
5 of 5 bubbles Review of Newton House

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 2 more sites!
Newton House
Ranked #4 of 16 Knaresborough B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
Pontypridd
Level Contributor
8 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
“Third visit”
Reviewed May 7, 2013

Stayed at the Newton House for the third time in three years last month. We booked two single rooms for six nights and as with our two previous visits we had a fantastic time. Everything is perfect with this hotel and I honestly cannot think of anything more Denise can do to improve what is already a wonderful home from home place to stay. We will certainly be back again next year to once again experience the wonderful hospitality of Denise, Jackie and the rest of her staff.

  • Stayed April 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank meirion e
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

463 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    368
    67
    12
    5
    11
See reviews for
82
227
27
60
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (111)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Any
English first
Manchester, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
7 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed May 6, 2013

Stayed at Newton House for 2 nights and had a cracking stay.!

Probably the best breakfast we have ever had.....Probably the comfiest bed we have ever slept in....A lovely building and helpful owner who gave us tips about the area. Mini Fridge in the room great, brand new shower too.. (room6)

Would definitely recommend and will definitely return.

  • Stayed May 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Scott W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
United Kingdom
Level Contributor
35 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
Reviewed April 17, 2013

We recently stayed at Newton House and found it to be extremely comfortable. Denise is very welcoming and her staff are very friendly, too. Our room (number 4 at the back) was quiet and very cosy with lots of lovely touches, enhancing the feel of exclusivity. The bathroom was spotless with nice toiletries. The hospitality tray was very comprehensive, as was the mini bar - unfortunately, as we were only there for one night, we couldn't indulge ourselves as much as we'd have liked! The breakfast menu was excellent, with lots of local produce. The fruit and cereal selection was probably the best we have been offered in any B&B. Porridge was also on the menu (something you don't see too much of these days), with the option of sultanas soaked in whiskey - delicious!!!! The staff at breakfast were very friendly and nothing was too much trouble. We would definitely return.

  • Stayed April 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank bb55UK
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
2 reviews
Reviewed April 13, 2013

We had a lovely two night stay at Newton House last week. When we arrived Denise could not have been more helpful. Her tips about the local area were really useful - considering we had gone away on the spur of the moment and had no plans for our stay. The other staff were also incredibly friendly and made our stay a real pleasure.

Our room was very comfortable and spotlessly clean. The best part of the stay was, of course, the breakfast. The Full English used fantastic local ingredients and was simply delicious. The Eggs Benedict was also perfect - nothing beats a perfectly cooked poached egg!

  • Stayed April 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank patricia151
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, England, United Kingdom
1 review
Reviewed April 8, 2013

My family and I are regular visitors to North Yorkshire. We stayed at Newton House over Easter and it was fantastic. We were made to feel welcome by Denise the moment we arrived. Furthermore, our family room was great with a large comfortable bed as well as a one for our 7 year old. We also had a fabulous large clean ensuite. Breakfast was amazing and we can highly recommend the full engish breakfast which included lots of local produce. There was lots of fantastic choices for vegetarians as well as meat eaters too. We will be returning to stay in the future.

  • Stayed April 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Fiona B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
sunderland
Level Contributor
42 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
Reviewed March 30, 2013

Had a lovely weekend, room was lovely and clean very nicely decorated . Bed very comfy an,i loved all the the little things in the room to mke your stay extra special. Denise and her staff very friendly and efficient.and breakfast was excellent, loved the rhubarb compot.Will stay again.

Room Tip: the room we stayed in was no 4 at back of hotel looking over car park, but was lovely and quiet and...
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank judmad
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Welwyn Garden City, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
155 reviews
45 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 76 helpful votes
Reviewed March 22, 2013

Stayed here while travelling on business, beats the usual Holiday Inn's hands down. A nice friendly welcome and comfy clean room. Big snugly warm bed with big duvet. Bathroom clean and nice, shower a little small. Breakfast was lovely.

Room Tip: Ask for a room at the rear.
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Richard H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Knaresborough
0.4 mi away
BEST WESTERN Dower House Hotel & Spa
2.6 mi away
Rudding Park Hotel
Rudding Park Hotel
#1 of 1 in Follifoot
4,444 reviews
3.3 mi away
The West Park Hotel
The West Park Hotel
#2 of 30 in Harrogate
564 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.2 mi away
Kirkgate House
Kirkgate House
#3 of 16 in Knaresborough
118 reviews
0.1 mi away
Old Royal Oak
Old Royal Oak
#7 of 16 in Knaresborough
153 reviews
2.0 mi away
Goldsborough Hall
Goldsborough Hall
#1 of 16 in Knaresborough
353 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Newton House? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Newton House

Property: Newton House
Address: 5/7 York Place, Knaresborough, Harrogate HG5 0AD, England
Location: United Kingdom > England > Yorkshire > North Yorkshire > Harrogate > Knaresborough
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly )
Hotel Style:
Ranked #4 of 16 B&Bs / Inns in Knaresborough
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:4 star — Newton House 4*
Number of rooms: 12
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Priceline, LateRooms and Agoda so you can book your Newton House reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Newton House Hotel Knaresborough
Newton House Knaresborough, Yorkshire

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing