We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“The Little Gem Of North Yorkshire”
Review of Newton House

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 2 more sites!
Newton House
Ranked #4 of 15 Knaresborough B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
Greater Manchester
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“The Little Gem Of North Yorkshire”
Reviewed November 17, 2012

A warm welcome was given to us by Denise and her staff when we had a family week-end at Newton House. Our rooms were excellent, clean and very comfortable and the food delicious. Denise very kindly catered for my gluten free diet, it was exceptional. I would strongly recommend you try it, but save me some plums.

Room Tip: Ground floor rooms are available and very suitable for people with mobility problems.
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank RitaC390
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

470 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    372
    68
    13
    5
    12
See reviews for
84
231
27
60
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (111)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Any
English first
Bolton, United Kingdom
1 review
Reviewed November 15, 2012

Newton House has that rare ambience that makes you feel at home immediately. Denises welcome was friendly her and wealth of local knowledge pointed us to some very good local restaurants, and Knaresborough is a delightful town. The rooms were warm, clean, well appointed, and we had a four poster bed. The breakfasts are excellent and I can't recommend the poached plums with cinnamon enough, they are to die for! The staff are friendly and helpful. We will be back again soon, highly recommended

  • Stayed November 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank EricT444
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Broseley, United Kingdom
2 reviews
Reviewed November 13, 2012

Our second stay at Newton House. Very pleased that Denise has continued the very high standards and added her own individual touches. Our room was warm and comfortable - housekeeping was excellent. Breakfast offered very good choice and staff were very pleasant and helpful. Good local knowledge of the staff was a bonus. A lovely three day break.

  • Stayed November 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Keith E
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
1 review
Reviewed November 12, 2012

This is the second time I have stayed at Newton House. The bed was lovely and comfy and the room was spacious, clean and beautifully furnished. Great location (easy to find and close to all main attractions in knaresborough). The breakfast was delicious (especially the baked plums)and everyone who worked there was polite and friendly. Would recommend.

  • Stayed November 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank RachaelTuck
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Leeds, England, United Kingdom
Level 3 Contributor
12 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
Reviewed November 12, 2012

We bookbutler minute, but Denise was welcoming and helpful. The B&B is warm and comfortable with beautifully decorated rooms. We were tucked up away on the top floor, and it was quiet and cost - just what we needed for a quiet weekend away! Denise shared some local knowledge with us, and made us feel like nothing was too big or too small. Breakfast was fab (I had the eggs benedict and the other half had a full English). Lots of lovely extras throughout the B&B help make it a very special place to stay. We'll be back!

Room Tip: Book early. We booked very late and as we all know - beggars can't be choosers! The rooms seem t...
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Eleanor S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Barnsley, United Kingdom
Level 3 Contributor
12 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
Reviewed November 12, 2012

stayed here 2 nights in a single room.the room was cosy and warm . very clean, plenty of towels, shower gels shampoos etc. had a problem saturday night with no hot water and couldnt contact denise until it was too late.the breakfast is excellant and the staff very good. i would stay her again and recommend it to others.

  • Stayed November 2012, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank kathryn k
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Liverpool, United Kingdom
Level 2 Contributor
7 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
Reviewed November 10, 2012

Really enjoyed my stay here. Breakfast was fantastic. Not sure about free sweeties - think I ate too many eclairs :-) Staff where warm and friendly. Rooms where immaculate. Lovely comfy beds and stiff linen. Thank-you. Look forward to return.

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Arne N
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Knaresborough
0.4 mi away
Best Western Dower House Hotel & Spa
2.9 mi away
Best Western Plus Cedar Court Hotel
3.5 mi away
The Crown Hotel
The Crown Hotel
#14 of 30 in Harrogate
1,277 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
3.3 mi away
The West Park Hotel
The West Park Hotel
#2 of 30 in Harrogate
596 reviews
3.1 mi away
Ascot House Hotel Harrogate
3.2 mi away
Crowne Plaza Harrogate
Crowne Plaza Harrogate
#11 of 30 in Harrogate
137 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Newton House? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Newton House

Property: Newton House
Address: 5/7 York Place, Knaresborough, Harrogate HG5 0AD, England
Location: United Kingdom > England > Yorkshire > North Yorkshire > Harrogate > Knaresborough
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly )
Hotel Style:
Ranked #4 of 15 B&Bs / Inns in Knaresborough
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:4 star — Newton House 4*
Number of rooms: 12
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Agoda, Priceline and LateRooms so you can book your Newton House reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Newton House Hotel Knaresborough
Newton House Knaresborough, Yorkshire

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing