We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“would definitely recommend.” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of Newton House

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 2 more sites!
Newton House
Ranked #4 of 17 Knaresborough B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
Barnsley, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
4 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“would definitely recommend.”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 14, 2012

We stayed at Newton House for ! night, on arrival we were met by Denise who was very helpful and friendly, our room was very spacious and well decorated to a high standard, the bed was really comfortable, our bedroom from on the front of the hotel and we didn't have a problem with noise from the traffic lights. Our breakfast the next morning was excellent, everything was cooked to order and was delicious, the homemade rhurbarb and ginger jam and marmalade was an extra special treat! Would definetly stay there again.

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank joanne w
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

459 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    366
    65
    12
    5
    11
See reviews for
82
224
27
60
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (110)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Any
English first
Wymondham
Level Contributor
22 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 17 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 10, 2012

We stayed at Newton House last weekend. Our room was nicely decorated and the furnishings were very tasteful. There were tea and coffee making facilities and supplies were updated daily. Towels were changed daily without asking. There was an honesty bar which we did not use but I thought it was very trusting of the proprietors. The breakfasts were probably the best I have had away from home. The downside is that the hotel is yards away from traffic lights at a fairly busy town junction and we were kept awake most of the night. It was on the ground floor so probably higher rooms or those at the back would be better. We were offered ear plugs when we arrived but we didnt take them, probably should have

Room Tip: Do not have room 9
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2012, traveled with family
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Jan G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Surbiton
Level Contributor
10 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 30, 2012

I have stayed at a few Gueshhouses over the years, but very few have the charm and charisma + friendlyness of this place. I have stayed once before with my partner, but my 2nd stay recently was even more impressive. Denise makes all the rooms very comfortable and has everything from a great hotel room, but with all the charm of staying at close friend's place. The rooms were packed with drinks, teas.coffees, games, books and plenty of space. The breakfast is truly 2nd to none and Denise cooked my favourite Eggs Royale 2 days in a row, and had the most lovely De-Caffinated Coffee i have tasted. The Guesthouse is really close to town and all that Knaresborough has to offer

  • Stayed September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Jonathan M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
jarrow, england
Level Contributor
12 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 21, 2012

Just spent two nights at Newton House and could not fault a thing. The breakfast selection was far superior to anything we have experienced in the UK. Our room was very comfortable with beautiful decor - nothing shabby here! The en-suite bathroom was ultra modern and I would have no hesitation in recommending Newton House to anyone visiting North Yorkshire.

  • Stayed September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank chucksy
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Knebworth
Level Contributor
5 reviews
5 hotel reviews
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 18, 2012

Our second stay at NH and at least as impressed as last time. We had a spacious and extremely comfortable room with attention to every detail and an open invitation to ask if anything was not available as wanted. Nothing can match the breakfast on offer, for variety, imagination, presentation and overall quality. No wonder it wins awards! The only problem is restraint! Lovely relaxed friendly atmosphere with a very warm welcome from Denise and all her staff and efficiency at all times. A superb place to stay in a delightful town. We will certainly return for more of the same!

  • Stayed September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Gill H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Stockport, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
20 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 24 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 15, 2012

Been here a few times in the last 17 years. Always a very high standard of accommodation food etc and this visit was no exception.
However the new owner needs to try a little harder on the charm front - not the warmest of welcomes- a shame as this sets the tone for people's perceptions of the hotel. Knaresborough not the most exciting of venues but central for visits to Harrogate and York.

  • Stayed September 2012
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank MissMarple41
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
london
Level Contributor
43 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 46 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 11, 2012

This was or third visit to Newton House which has now changed ownership in the last year. I wouldn't say there were too many noticeable changes which is a positive reflection! I do enjoy staying at the NH as I find it a homely, clean and quality B&B. We stayed in one of the quiet rooms to the rear which I would always request as I have read reviews stating the front can be noisy due to the road outside. The room was spotless and furnished as always with quality furniture and bedding.

I am a light sleeper so I am easily disturbed however I found myself enjoying a peaceful sleep throughout the night. The breakfast is delicious, as always, and promptly served. I love the baked nectarines with cinnamon and the cooked, grease free, English breakfast. I also enjoyed the attentive and friendly service at breakfast.

Just a couple of things would have improved the experience. After a shower on the first night we hung our towels ready for the next days turn down service. On our return the room had been turned down however the towels were still soaking wet. The problem was that that the radiator did not come on (I did turn it up to max but the thermostat didn't kick in - day temp was 19 and night was approx 10) so it didn't dry them. I would suggest if the heating doesn't come on then fresh towels are provided as our second shower was a little unpleasant. I would also ask that there is more control over room temp as we were cold during the night. It was summer admittedly however it was jumper weather at nighttime. There is an electric heater in the room but this doesnt do the trick like a radiator. I know we all feel the cold differently however I did have to jump under the duvet when I got in at night to warm up. I know times are tough however I feel the prices justify allowance for additional gas costs.

All in all, it's a great b and b, just hope that the small (possibly cost saving?) elements are remedied...

Room Tip: Choose a quiet room to the rear.
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank goldbyron
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
newtonhouse, Owner at Newton House, responded to this review, September 18, 2012
I am pleased that these guests enjoyed their stay at Newton House and would like to thank them for their kind comments. However, they did stay in the middle of August (Summer!) and this is the only month this year that we have not had the central heating on. We do provide supplementary heating in all our rooms throughout the year which is normally more than adequate.

We do leave clear instructions in our bathrooms for dealing with used towels. And although I’m sorry these guests had a problem with wet towels, they were given details of how to contact me. They only had to ask and their towels would have been replaced. We provide telephones in our bedrooms for internal use on occasions such as this.

Newton House is in the middle of town which does have a number of advantages but I appreciate that being on the main road will not be to everyone’s taste. However, the rooms at the front of the building do have either original 18thC wooden shutters (which provide effective sound-proofing), or secondary glazing. And if any guest should have a serious problem with traffic noise we can provide them with ear-plugs.

I’m sorry these guests think we are cutting costs – I can assure them this is not the case at all. In fact, a number of ‘added value’ extras have been introduced since being here (nearly 2 years now) and we are constantly looking for additional ways to make our guests’ stay with us more comfortable.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Knaresborough
0.4 mi away
BEST WESTERN Dower House Hotel & Spa
2.6 mi away
Rudding Park Hotel
Rudding Park Hotel
#1 of 1 in Follifoot
5.0 of 5 bubbles 4,394 reviews
3.3 mi away
The West Park Hotel
The West Park Hotel
#2 of 31 in Harrogate
4.5 of 5 bubbles 551 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
2.9 mi away
BEST WESTERN PLUS Cedar Court Hotel
2.0 mi away
Goldsborough Hall
Goldsborough Hall
#1 of 17 in Knaresborough
5.0 of 5 bubbles 338 reviews
0.2 mi away
Kirkgate House
Kirkgate House
#3 of 17 in Knaresborough
5.0 of 5 bubbles 115 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Newton House? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Newton House

Property: Newton House
Address: 5/7 York Place, Knaresborough, Harrogate HG5 0AD, England
Location: United Kingdom > England > Yorkshire > North Yorkshire > Harrogate > Knaresborough
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly )
Hotel Style:
Ranked #4 of 17 B&Bs / Inns in Knaresborough
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:4 star — Newton House 4*
Number of rooms: 12
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Agoda, Priceline and LateRooms so you can book your Newton House reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Newton House Hotel Knaresborough
Newton House Knaresborough, Yorkshire

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing