We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
“1st Class Cottage break in Yorkshire”
other travelers have booked this property

Review of March Cottage

Feature Fireplace
Bookings for this home are first-come, first served. Lock in your dates before they are gone
Feature Fireplace
Front  of March Cottage Dining Area
Check Availability
Request to Book
Make Inquiry
Excellent
36 reviews
Feature Fireplace
Front  of March Cottage
Dining Area
Lounge
Dining Area
Lounge
Double Bedroom
Twin Bedroom
River Nidd, Knaresborough
Cottage Exterior
Rear Patio
Front of March Cottage
Rear Patio
One of the Carvings on Abbey Road riverside walk
Kitchen view 1
Kitchen view 2
Family Bathroom
Family Bathroom
Family Bathroom
This property is not available for these dates.
Don't give up! Inquire about other rentals just like this one that are available -
Show all rentals available
Overview
Cottage -
2 Bedrooms, 1 Bathroom, Sleeps 4
Knaresborough, North Yorkshire, England

Reviews from our community

Excellent - based on 36 reviews
Write a Review

Reviews from our community

Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
English first
Any
English first
bluejdp12...
1 review
“1st Class Cottage break in Yorkshire”
Reviewed April 7, 2015 for a stay in April 2015

This was my 3rd time staying in the cottage with my family whilst visiting Yorkshire.
Jackie is great the cottage is kept spotlessly clean with all home comforts, the cottage is also very central for everything we have done 5 Minutes walk to the train station and a short train ride you are in Harrogate and York, or a short drive in your car you are in the Yorkshire Moors.
March Cottage is also a great location if you play Golf as its location is close to Harrogate golf club and Knaresbrough Golf club .

Value Rooms
Location Cleanliness
Service
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Management Response
Apr 12, 2015
It was great to see you and your family again in our 1st week of sunshine. We hope you will stay with us again on your next visit to Yorkshire.
Regards
Jackie D
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
AmyGreato...
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Couldn't have been any better.”
Reviewed March 28, 2015 for a stay in March 2015
1
person found this review helpful

My partner and I stayed at March cottage for three nights during March. Jackie was happy to accept our booking at relatively short notice and gave us a very warm welcome when we arrived.
The cottage appeared much bigger than pictured and is kept very clean and tidy. Everything you might need is supplied, such as towels, hair dryer, wifi etc. Jackie even supplied us with milk for a tea/coffee and some chocolate biscuits!
March cottage is perfectly situated for a walk down the Waterside and only a couple of minutes away from the centre of Knaresborough. The cottage is also around the corner from the pedestrian entrance to Mother Shiptons cave.
You'll also be supplied with a parking pass for Mother Shiptons Inn should you drive to March cottage.
We were really happy with the cottage and thoroughly enjoyed our time in Knaresborough.

Value Rooms
Location Cleanliness
Service
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Management Response
Apr 1, 2015
It is always good to hear that guests have enjoyed their stay in Knaresborough and that March Cottage provides everything needed for a wonderful holiday. Thank you for your review. Jackie D
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Mrs Linda...
Dunfermline, United Kingdom
Level 4 Contributor
25 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
“Excellent accommodation, recently refurbished to a high standard, definately worth booking”
Reviewed November 5, 2014 for a stay in October 2014

March Cottage was very comfortable with everything you could possibly need. It has been refurbished recently to a high standard. It was very central, only a short distance to the town centre but in a quiet location close to the River Nidd. We liked having a rail station 10 minutes walk away. it was 10 minutes by train to Harrogate and 30 minutes to York. It's very central for lots of tourist attractions. We intend to return to March Cottage next year as we enjoyed our stay so much.

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Bathroom cleanliness
Other facilities & amenities Service
Liked best: Good location and comfortable cottage
Traveling group: Spouse/Partner
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
  • Was your security deposit returned on time?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Management Response
Nov 20, 2014
Thank you for your review. I am pleased you found March Cottage ideally placed for your holiday and that you made use of the good train links. Hope to see you on your return to Knaresborough. Jackie D
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
b0bbins
Warwickshire
Level 3 Contributor
12 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
“Lovely cottage”
Reviewed August 5, 2014 for a stay in July 2014
1
person found this review helpful

We have just returned from a family holiday in March cottage. The cottage was beautifully clean when we arrived. The owner goes the extra mile to make guests feel welcome by checking if things are ok, offering help and flexibility as necessary and leaving a particularly nice assortment of drinks and nibbles on arrival.
Our children aged 8 and 10 found some new games in the lounge to keep them amused for a while and also enjoyed their bedroom in the loft. The cottage is cosy and nicely done out, whilst still being big enough for a family of four to to relax and wind down. It is also perfectly situated for enjoying the beautiful town of Knaresborough. We would highly recommend and would love to return to do all the things we didn't manage to fit in first time around.

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: The lovely comfy sofa and the cappuccinos
Liked least: going home
Traveling group: Young Children
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway Families with young children
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Management Response
Aug 10, 2014
We are pleased you enjoyed your recent holiday in Knaresborough. Hope to welcome you again in the future. Regards Jackie D
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reichstett, France
Reviewed August 3, 2014 for a stay in May 2014
1
person found this review helpful

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Traveling group: Friends
Your age range 25-34
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway Families with young children
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Was your security deposit returned on time?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of an individual traveler and not of TripAdvisor LLC nor of its partners.
Gillingham, United Kingdom
Reviewed August 2, 2014 for a stay in June 2014
1
person found this review helpful

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: Being so close to the river and cafes
Liked least: Steep hill leading up to the town
Traveling group: Extended Family
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway Older travelers
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Was your security deposit returned on time?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of an individual traveler and not of TripAdvisor LLC nor of its partners.
East Riding of Yorkshire, United Kingdom
Reviewed July 31, 2014 for a stay in July 2014
1
person found this review helpful

Traveling group: Extended Family
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of an individual traveler and not of TripAdvisor LLC nor of its partners.
Management Response
Aug 10, 2014
Thank you for your lovely comments It means a lot to me and makes the hard working worth it. Hope to see you in March Cottage again in the future. Regards Jackie D
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC nor of its partners.
Enter dates for more accurate prices
2 guests
Adults2
Children0
Apply
Do you own a vacation rental? List it here.
Extra income
Earn money by renting out your home. With no up-front fees and no contract, you keep more for yourself.
Easy to manage
Confirm bookings in one click and track everything from inquiry to check-out – even while you're on the go.
Trusted by travelers
With millions of reviews and protected online payments, TripAdvisor helps travelers book your home with confidence.
Set up your free listing