We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Central and very nice place to eat”
Review of The Lavender Rooms

The Lavender Rooms
Ranked #12 of 75 Restaurants in Knaresborough
Certificate of Excellence
Cuisines: Cafe, British, Soups
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Kids, Families with children, Local cuisine
Dining options: Brunch, Breakfast, Lunch, Highchairs Available, Reservations, Seating, Waitstaff
Description: A warm welcome awaits you in the Lavender Rooms where you can relax and enjoy a break in an atmosphere full of Olde Worlde Charm.
Yorkshire Dales
Level Contributor
38 reviews
21 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 58 helpful votes
“Central and very nice place to eat”
Reviewed August 14, 2014

Took my Mother to this place on a day out in Knaresborough and we both really enjoyed the experience.

Fortunately, the weather was good as we decided to sit outside and watch the world go by.

The service was quite slow but quite understandable as it was lunch time and they were crowded in the large eating area inside.

My mother said that her homemade mushroom soup was delicious and my light lunch of a baked potato and tuna was just as good.

As the building is very old it is appealingly picturesque.............. and it has a great history.

Nice place, would definitely go again.

  • Visited August 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Creteaholic
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

268 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    165
    59
    30
    7
    7
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Japanese first
  • Any
English first
Swindon, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
48 reviews
40 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
“Great find”
Reviewed August 12, 2014

Last stop on our 30 day caravan trip brings us to Knaresborough and a search for a traditional cream tea. Though we were going to be disappointed but upstairs above a gift shop which purports to be in the oldest chemist shop in England was this little gem. The rooms are totally skew-whiff, the furniture nothing special but we had 2 huge fruit scones, with ample cream and jam and a lovely pot of tea.... For just £3.95 each. We were too late for the lemon and lavender scones - sold out and there were also cheese scones on the menu a selection of delicious looking home made cakes. A group of ladies on the next table were partaking of the chocolate and coffee and walnut variety - their slices were huge - the cakes were about 5 ins deep and it looked as if the cake had been cut into about 6 pieces in total - massive! They were enjoying them too.

Service was fast and pleasant. Stairs up to the restaurant need some care but not impossible for most.

  • Visited August 2014
    • Value
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
2 Thank Terri E
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cambridge
Level Contributor
64 reviews
19 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 50 helpful votes
“Great place to avoid the chain cafes”
Reviewed August 11, 2014

Lovely friendly atmosphere and really good service. Quirky and different but really worth a visit. Fat rascals are lovely and very "fat" do not try to eat more than one!!

Visited August 2014
Helpful?
1 Thank topcat8562
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
leeds
Level Contributor
433 reviews
163 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 202 helpful votes
“Tea and scones.”
Reviewed August 9, 2014

Nice little tearoom with a choice of seating either outside in the Marketplace or upstairs above the sweetshop.
It was a bit breezy so we opted for inside - buying some sweets on the way upstairs.
Nice setup - friendly staff and good refreshments the only place where I think they could have improved was the Jam.
Jam for scones should have great big lumps of strawberry in it. Theirs was smooth jelly.
Otherwise? Well done.

  • Visited August 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank imacbeth
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Chelmsford, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
33 reviews
14 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 27 helpful votes
“A must to visit in Knaresborough”
Reviewed July 29, 2014

Visited here twice at lunchtime while in the area, both times food was excellent (you should try the scones,jam and cream), and the service was most attentive. My husband needs Gluten-free meals and they managed that. Ricotta and blueberry cake was to die for!! Would thoroughly recommend.

  • Visited July 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank Kayanne2014
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed The Lavender Rooms also viewed

Knaresborough, Harrogate
Knaresborough, Harrogate
 
Knaresborough, Harrogate
Knaresborough, Harrogate
 

Been to The Lavender Rooms? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing