We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Fine dining” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of Becket's Restaurant & Grill - CLOSED

Becket's Restaurant & Grill
Price range: $16 - $47
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Local cuisine
Dining options: Dinner, Late Night, Lunch, Highchairs Available, Outdoor Seating, Reservations, Seating, Serves Alcohol, Waitstaff
Description: Becket's is a contemporary restaurant situated in the heart of the historic market town of Knaresborough in North Yorkshire.Offering an eclectic and varied menu in relaxed surroundings, all of our dishes are freshly prepared to order, using only the best quality locally sourced produce.
Level Contributor
3 reviews
3 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Fine dining”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed January 27, 2013

I would like to thank Becketts , their staff, chef , managers/ Stephen & Gareth for an amazing meal, the king prawn Thai starter was absolutely define, followed by the seafood mixed grill.. Simply perfect..
The atmosphere and service just gave it that extra special touch... Thank you.. Definitely will return :))))

    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
1 Thank Vfyoga
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Steve P, Owner at Becket's Restaurant & Grill, responded to this review, February 6, 2013
Thank you for your encouraging comments................and encouraging they are as they give us all at Becket's that added momentum to continually offer the very best we possibly can on all levels.
I look forward to welcoming you back on your next vist to Knaresborough.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

179 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    134
    28
    9
    7
    1
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Kent UK
Level Contributor
234 reviews
118 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 496 helpful votes
“Could hardly move afterwards”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed January 26, 2013

It's not a criticism because it was a delicious meal but maybe the portions were a mite over generous. Meant we were left with no room for desserts which looked very tempting. The Yorkshire folk must have massive appetites.
We had a rib eye steak and a fish dish with scallops and they were both absolutely excellent, My plate was overpowered a bit but that is not a complaint as everything was brilliantly cooked. A good chef here no doubt. Service is exemplary. The restaurant is very warm and cosy and comfortable and tables are well distanced from each other. Highly recommended.

Visited January 2013
Helpful?
2 Thank Lemniot
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Harrogate, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
17 reviews
3 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 47 helpful votes
“No character”
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed January 23, 2013

The old building had been ripped apart from my last visit (was Bella Sicillia) and has lost all its charm. The place was clinical, the food at best average and overpriced, the service was fair.
Would I go back? NO.

  • Visited January 2013
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
8 Thank michael h
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Steve P, Owner at Becket's Restaurant & Grill, responded to this review, January 24, 2013
I am sorry we failed to meet your expectations, particularly when we appear to do so in most cases.
It is unfortunate you were not a little bit more specific as to where we failed in quality of food and service to enable us to improve, or indeed a pity you were not compelled to voice your concerns at the time thereby offering us an opportunity to resolve any issues.
With regards to 'ripping apart of the building.'
We spent several months and a large sum of money in saving this building, (it having been condemned by a Structural Engineer). We conducted a complete refurbishment removing years of ill conceived and ill executed work, uncovering and restoring the original 17th Century fireplace and several oak beams dating back even further. (Work which gained us congratulations and commendations from a number of Heritage and Conservation societies)!
Taste in architecture and decor is of course a subjective issue, and if you felt the Bella Sicilia had charm with it's pink decor, plastic ceilings, woodchip wallpapered walls and brown linoleum floor you will obviously not appreciate the changes we have made to the old place.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Northampton
Level Contributor
15 reviews
10 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
“Fantastic”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed January 21, 2013

On a trip via Knaresborough we were recommended to Becket's. How Lucky We Were!!
Fantastic food, wine, service and extremely friendly staff. Do not make a mistake and walk past this excellent restaurant without making a reservation.

  • Visited January 2013
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
1 Thank Mabbo1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Knaresborough, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
88 reviews
49 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 47 helpful votes
“locally sourced good "english" food”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed January 20, 2013

i have walked past this restaurant many times but only recently actually eaten here - the menu displayed outside is impossible to read given the lack of lighting and my fading eyesight. all solved with a torch and a pair of glasses!
the interior has been completely renovated since its last incarnation as an italian restaurant (the building was a hospital in the 16th century) and is now smart modern and clean whilst still retaining some of its original character and features.
it wasn't busy on a cold thursday evening which affected the atmosphere, although service was great and the wine (a spanish temperanillo for £16/bottle) was the best I've had in a while.
the food was georgeous - everything except some rather grey cold lifeless mounds of dry potato serving as bases for black pudding, but as the dauphinois potatoes that came with the mains were so melt in the mouth delicious, it didn't matter.
the bill was twice as much as a local curry, on a par with the mexican and cheaper than the general tarleton. hasn't quite got the finesse of the latter, but still a fantastic addition to knaresborough eateries

  • Visited January 2013
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
Thank thisbe
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Becket's Restaurant & Grill also viewed

 
Knaresborough, Harrogate
 
Knaresborough, Harrogate
Knaresborough, Harrogate
 

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing