We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Super Food and Service”
4 of 5 bubbles Review of The Mitre

The Mitre
Ranked #17 of 74 Restaurants in Knaresborough
Certificate of Excellence
Cuisines: Bar, British, Pub, European
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Kids, Dining on a budget, Families with children, Bar scene, Special occasions, Large groups
Dining options: Lunch, Drinks, Brunch, Dinner, Free Wifi, Full Bar, Highchairs Available, Outdoor Seating, Reservations, Seating, Serves Alcohol, Waitstaff
Harrogate, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
118 reviews
68 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 54 helpful votes
“Super Food and Service”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed November 15, 2013

Just returned from my first visit to the Mitre. Recommended by my friend who lives in Knaresborough. Cannot believe that I have not been before, but will certainly be going back. Food was super as was the service. Really nice atmosphere, not rushed etc. Definitely value for money. Also being next door to the train station if you did not want to drive that is handy as well.

  • Visited November 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank JRiseley
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

174 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    72
    74
    19
    8
    1
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Italian first
  • Any
English first
Scotland
Level Contributor
53 reviews
24 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 23 helpful votes
“Excellent Food”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 28, 2013

Recently went for a mid week supper here. Food was really good - the chocolate baked cheesecake was truly one of the very best puddings I have ever tasted, perfection. The starters and main courses were very tasty and just the right size for me - I did not feel over faced by plate fillers (chips etc). The parking area is a bit tight and the inn itself is a bit short on space being long and thin, but do not miss for the great food, service and welcoming atmosphere. Good range of quality beers.

  • Visited September 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank rebeccaneil
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Knaresborough
Level Contributor
5 reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“Reasonable?”
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 1, 2013

Food is good; staff friendly and helpful; location is a little out of the way; parking is limited. Very convenient for train travelers.
Drinks selection very good.

  • Visited June 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Twbleds
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
York, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
70 reviews
40 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 22 helpful votes
“Quick lunchtime stop off”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 31, 2013

We stopped for a light lunch at the Mitre next to the train station and the food we had was very good. Paninis and soup with excellent chips. Portion size was just right and the ingredients were fresh and tasty. The bar staff were friendly and relaxed, exactly what you want on a day out in Knaresborough.

  • Visited August 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Chris C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level Contributor
27 reviews
21 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 24 helpful votes
“Chilled!!!”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 11, 2013 via mobile

I have been here on a few occasions now, the bar staff are so helpful and can offer good advice on food and ale!!
The food is spot on, proper pub grub at good value!! The ale and drinks are amazing!! I'm disappointed that you have stopped serving strawberry beer from the tap!

We also had my sister funeral wake here and the staff were so accommodating and it was really value. We can not thank you enough

  • Visited April 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Foolie
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed The Mitre also viewed

Knaresborough, Harrogate
Knaresborough, Harrogate
 
Knaresborough, Harrogate
 

Been to The Mitre? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing