We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Quick lunchtime stop off”
Review of The Mitre

The Mitre
Ranked #16 of 74 Restaurants in Knaresborough
Certificate of Excellence
Cuisines: European
Dining options: Reservations
Restaurant details
Dining options: Reservations
York, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
77 reviews
44 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 26 helpful votes
“Quick lunchtime stop off”
Reviewed August 31, 2013

We stopped for a light lunch at the Mitre next to the train station and the food we had was very good. Paninis and soup with excellent chips. Portion size was just right and the ingredients were fresh and tasty. The bar staff were friendly and relaxed, exactly what you want on a day out in Knaresborough.

  • Visited August 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Chris C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

176 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    73
    75
    19
    8
    1
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Italian first
  • Any
English first
Level Contributor
27 reviews
21 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 24 helpful votes
“Chilled!!!”
Reviewed August 11, 2013 via mobile

I have been here on a few occasions now, the bar staff are so helpful and can offer good advice on food and ale!!
The food is spot on, proper pub grub at good value!! The ale and drinks are amazing!! I'm disappointed that you have stopped serving strawberry beer from the tap!

We also had my sister funeral wake here and the staff were so accommodating and it was really value. We can not thank you enough

  • Visited April 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Foolie
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Florida
2 reviews
“Real ale paradise”
Reviewed August 11, 2013

Wonderful beers and really imaginative food with great vegetarian options. Very knowledgeable staff too.

Visited May 2013
Helpful?
Thank DAflorida
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Portsmouth
Level Contributor
13 reviews
6 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
“Good and bad”
Reviewed August 2, 2013

Our first visit to The Mitre was excellent. Service was good and food was delicious. My husband said that the pie was the best pie he'd ever tasted! We therefore decided to go back a couple of nights later, but wish we hadn't! Whilst the food was still excellent, we waited nearly an hour for it to come out. Disappointing!

Visited July 2013
Helpful?
Thank Stroppers
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Knaresborough, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
11 reviews
3 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
“Great beer selection, great food.”
Reviewed July 29, 2013

The on tap beer select is larger than most pubs and they seem to make an effort to get a range of beer styles. The food was really high quality as well, we were very pleased.

Visited July 2013
Helpful?
Thank Jasen H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed The Mitre also viewed

Knaresborough, Harrogate
 
Knaresborough, Harrogate
 
Knaresborough, Harrogate
 

Been to The Mitre? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing