We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“what a disappointment”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Best Western Dower House Hotel & Spa
Ranked #1 of 2 Hotels in Knaresborough
Certificate of Excellence
Frog in Surrey
Level 3 Contributor
16 reviews
15 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
“what a disappointment”
Reviewed January 27, 2014

Nice old inn style outside. Pity that the inside is not matching the outside. Room very basic and badly decorated. Beds horrendous. TV not working. Bar with very little choice. Food not to bad. We will not return.

  • Stayed January 2014, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with Best Western GB

Helpful?
2 Thank jean-lukio
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
KenHardy, General Manager at Best Western Dower House Hotel & Spa, responded to this review, January 31, 2014
Dear jean-lukio

Thank you for your review on trip advisor and our own online survey, I am sorry that I didn't get the opportunity to speak to you whilst you were at the hotel to resolve your issues whilst you were here.

I have emailed you personally and look forward to discussing your stay with us.

We are committed to "getting it right " for all our guests. I do hope you will return at some point where we can demonstrate our true capabilities.

Best wishes

Ken Hardy
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

640 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    237
    201
    102
    68
    32
See reviews for
100
303
23
75
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (141)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • Any
English first
merseyside
Level 5 Contributor
44 reviews
14 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 26 helpful votes
Reviewed January 26, 2014

My husband and I stayed at the Dower house Hotel Knaresborough, (Best western), what can I say. Everything was fantastic. The pool, Jacuzzi/ sauna's, & the gym & I even had a back massage with oils, it was so relaxing I fell asleep. We had a lovely meal in the restaurant, and then a few drinks in the bar later. The breakfast was well worth it too, fabulous. The staff were really helpful, as we wanted to go to York for the day, the reception staff were very friendly and directed us to the nearest train station to York. The train station is not far from the hotel at all. Knaresborough town was lovely too, full of quaint shops and a few restaurants and take aways. I could not fault the hotel at all, and we would definitely go back again. York is a beautiful place to walk around too, lots of things to do and well worth a visit.

  • Stayed February 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank brockbank56
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
KenHardy, General Manager at Best Western Dower House Hotel & Spa, responded to this review, January 28, 2014
Dear brockbank56

We are delighted to read that you enjoyed your stay, we are very lucky to have a great team here at the Dower House Hotel & Spa positive feedback gives us all a real buzz.

We look forward to welcoming you back in the near future.

Regards

Ken Hardy
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
Level 4 Contributor
32 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
Reviewed January 21, 2014 via mobile

very well equipped hotel in nice surroundings. Great facilities with adjoining gym, spa and pool also opened to the public - and very popular with the too!
Room was very comfortable, didn't use the restaurant as there are other good options locally but the breakfast was ideal.

Stayed December 2013, traveled as a couple
Helpful?
Thank Derek M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
KenHardy, General Manager at Best Western Dower House Hotel & Spa, responded to this review, January 25, 2014
Dear Derek M

Thank you for staying with us. We are delighted to read that you enjoyed your stay, I have passed your comments on to all the team.

Once again thank you for your review and we look forward to welcoming you back soon

With kind regards


Ken Hardy
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Durham, United Kingdom
Level 1 Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed January 18, 2014

Staff friendly and very helpful, food gorgeous, we had an upgrade to luxury room - clean, attractive and spacious, spa small but everything you would expect from a spa with again helpful, friendly staff on hand. We have thoroughly enjoyed our 2 nights, walking, shopping, eating and spa-ing!

  • Stayed January 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank jennieemms
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
KenHardy, General Manager at Best Western Dower House Hotel & Spa, responded to this review, January 25, 2014
Dear jennieemms

Thank you for your feedback, we genuinely appreciate your kind comments, I have passed on to all the team.

We look forward to welcoming you back in the future.

Kind regards

Ken Hardy
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Newcastle upon Tyne, United Kingdom
Level 5 Contributor
78 reviews
18 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 48 helpful votes
Reviewed January 12, 2014

We're just home after a short stay at the Dower House. It is utterly charming. The staff were superb; so efficient, so friendly! The room was very clean, spacious and welcoming. Whilst the bathroom was a touch dated, it was clean and roomy with plenty of soft towels and complimentary toiletries. The dining area was warm and suitably lit for an intimate evening meal (and the food was absolutely delicious!) at breakfast the same room was bright and airy with a varied breakfast buffet. We had a great, perfectly cooked breakfast whilst enjoying the morning papers and a pleasant view over the garden. We didn't take advantage of the bar area but can state that it look SO cosy with its wood burning stove. We can't wait to come back for another stay.

  • Stayed January 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank RMPK
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
KenHardy, General Manager at Best Western Dower House Hotel & Spa, responded to this review, January 25, 2014
Dear RMPK

Thank you for your review.

I am very pleased you enjoyed your stay with us here in Knaresborough and that you found the staff superb, efficient, and friendly, positive feedback gives us all a real buzz.

We look forward to welcoming you back to the Dower House & Spa in the near future.

Regards

Ken Hardy
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Knaresborough
2.7 mi away
Best Western Plus Cedar Court Hotel
3.1 mi away
The Majestic Hotel
The Majestic Hotel
#18 of 30 in Harrogate
2,770 reviews
3.1 mi away
The West Park Hotel
The West Park Hotel
#2 of 30 in Harrogate
604 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
3.2 mi away
The Crown Hotel
The Crown Hotel
#14 of 30 in Harrogate
1,299 reviews
2.9 mi away
Crowne Plaza Harrogate
Crowne Plaza Harrogate
#9 of 30 in Harrogate
155 reviews
2.8 mi away
Ascot House Hotel Harrogate
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Best Western Dower House Hotel & Spa? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Best Western Dower House Hotel & Spa

Property: Best Western Dower House Hotel & Spa
Address: Bond End, Knaresborough, Harrogate HG5 9AL, England
Location: United Kingdom > England > Yorkshire > North Yorkshire > Harrogate > Knaresborough
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beverage Selection Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 2 Hotels in Knaresborough
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3 star — Best Western Dower House Hotel & Spa 3*
Number of rooms: 29
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Dower House & Spa is as full of character as it is convenience, when you're not enjoying a good nights sleep, you can relax in our recently refurbished Imagine Health & Spa with a swim, treatment or work out. Award winning Storm Restaurant offers a seasonally changing menu and daily specials that you can enjoy overlooking the terrace gardens. You'll not only enjoy the sights and sounds of the traditional market town of Knaresborough, but also the opportunity to take in beautiful river walks and historical landmarks such as Mother Shiptons Cave and the Castle ruins. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Priceline, Hotels.com, Orbitz, Travelocity, Cancelon, TripOnline SA, Agoda, Evoline ltd and HotelQuickly so you can book your Best Western Dower House Hotel & Spa reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Best Western Dower Hotel
Best Western Knaresborough
Knaresborough Best Western
Best Western Dower House Hotel & Spa Knaresborough, Yorkshire

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing