We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Loved it”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Best Western Dower House Hotel & Spa
Ranked #1 of 2 Hotels in Knaresborough
Certificate of Excellence
Tranent, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
7 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
“Loved it”
Reviewed November 5, 2012

We attended a wedding in Knaresborough and chose the Dower House initially for it's convenience to the church.
So glad we did! After a warm greeting at reception we were given a very comfortable room.
Thoroughly enjoyed dinner, great food and service.
Liked the bar and open fire - cosy!
Breakfast good if standard - still enjoyed it!
We have stayed in Best Western hotels on a number of occassions and never been disappointed.
The Dowar House lived up to our expectations!
Thanks for a lovely stay.

Room Tip: If not happy with room allocation, ask for an alternative straight away.
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank David F
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
KenHardy, General Manager at Best Western Dower House Hotel & Spa, responded to this review, November 8, 2012
Dear David F

Thank you very much for taking the time to give us your feedback on Tripadvisor, We are so delighted to read that you had enjoyed your stay.

The real log fires are coming in real handy at the moment.

Your comments have been passed onto the whole team, positive feedback gives us all a real buzz.

Once again thank you for your review and we look forward to welcoming you back soon.

With kind regards.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

621 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    232
    191
    102
    68
    28
See reviews for
94
297
22
72
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (137)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • Any
English first
Essex, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
54 reviews
21 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 28 helpful votes
Reviewed November 2, 2012 via mobile

For some reason that i cant fathom now, i checked out of our 5* hotel with spa and travelled here for a morning of 'pampering'.... i believe it was the ice fountain that attracted me.... sadly it was little more than what you would find in one of those posh fridges!

The spa is bright with no ambiance.. a little clever lighting would have hidden the peeling paint and rust.. the jaquzzi was out of action with little room around the pool to sit.. certainly not enough room to protect me from the child splashing in the pool - he was no older than 7.. and his mum seemed to think it was ok for him to come in and out of the steam room at will, letting all the steam out.... and tying up the facilities.

The staff were nice enough - as was my therapist. the room was lovely but i had the most painful yet lacklustre scrub/massage. Instead on a massage couch, i was placed on a solid perspex bed with no towel... most bizarre and painful...

i could have cried with disappointment when i left

Stayed October 2012, traveled as a couple
Helpful?
Thank vickyjm78
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
KenHardy, General Manager at Best Western Dower House Hotel & Spa, responded to this review, November 9, 2012
Dear vickyjm78

Firstly please accept my apologies for the disappointment you experienced

It was most concerning to learn you did not fully enjoy your visit with us at Imagine Spa as we genuinely receive so many positive comments.

I can understand your frustration with the Jacuzzi being out of action although this was because the chemical levels were unsafe and we of course cannot put our guests at risk. I understand that we were able to advise you prior to your arrival and kept you updated throughout your visit. We opened the Jacuzzi as soon as it was safe to do so.

With regards to your treatment, our hammam bed is specifically designed for wraps and exfoliations and towels are not meant to be place on the bed as it is a heat source with enhances the treatment by helping the products penetrate the skin. We will however review this in light of your comments

On a positive note I was delighted to learn there were aspects you did enjoy especially the staff.

I do hope we will have the opportunity of restoring your faith at some point in the future

Kind regards

Ken Hardy
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Harrogate, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
4 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed November 2, 2012

We are having our wedding reception at The Dower House, i cannot fault anything about this hotel, the staff are lovely, the food is excellent, the surroundings are superb, it is a great place to hold a function or to just have a nice lunch or a relaxing stay.
The staff at The Dower House make organising a wedding so easy and they are so helpful,
So glad i live local and we have such a nice hotel in our town.
WELL DONE DOWER HOUSE !!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!

Room Tip: Beautiful hotel and surroundings, really nice staff
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank isladog
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
KenHardy, General Manager at Best Western Dower House Hotel & Spa, responded to this review, November 8, 2012
Dear isladog

Thank you so much for taking time to write about your experiences with us before your big day.

We are delighted the arrangements are going smoothly and we are looking forward to being part of your special day, not long now……

Kind regards
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
York, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
61 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
Reviewed October 29, 2012

We arrived on a crisp and sunny afternoon, the Hotel is impressive from the outside and we were looking forward to our lunch here very much. The inside is just as impressive as the outside, very clean and beautifully decorated. Nice bar area, all very cosy but with a modern twist here and there. We were greeted courteously and had a lovely table in the bright and airy dining room. The staff were helpful and polite and efficient. Only the food let them down. Between us we had crab, soup and duck to start, all rather bland and the soup was just awful. Move on to pork and salmon main courses. The pork was very nicely cooked - it can so easily be dry (well, it is when I cook it!!) but this was nicely moist and very tasty, veg was not overcooked - but the potato, well, i'd say it was smash as did my companion - how very disappointing from a hotel. The salmon was fine though a bit dry, and didn't come with the 'smash'. Puddings were adequate, just a bit too much sugar to make up for flavour, which made them difficult to finish. We felt a little let down. Everything is there to make the experience great, but the reason for being there - the food - is just not quite up to it

Room Tip: we didn't stay over - just lunch
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Tracie433
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
KenHardy, General Manager at Best Western Dower House Hotel & Spa, responded to this review, November 2, 2012
Dear Tracie 433
Thank you for visiting Storm Restaurant at the Dower House recently and for taking the time to write a review. We are delighted that you found the staff helpful and efficient and were equally impressed with the surroundings.

We are sorry that you were disappointed with the mashed potato. We take all guest feedback very seriously, have investigated your points thoroughly and would also like to assure you we only use fresh produce on our menu.

Once again thank you for your review and we look forward to welcoming you back to the Storm Restaurant soon.

With kind regards



Ken Hardy
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
North Yorkshire
Level Contributor
114 reviews
51 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 62 helpful votes
Reviewed October 25, 2012

We held my husband's birthday party at the Dower House and we couldn't fault a thing. The room itself (the dining room) plus there is a cosy bar with open fire, the food, the friendliness and professionalism of the General Manager and all the staff - everything was excellent! We had a wonderful afternoon. It is just a shame we don't live further away as I am sure this would be a lovely hotel to stay in!

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Harr0gate
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
KenHardy, General Manager at Best Western Dower House Hotel & Spa, responded to this review, November 2, 2012
Dear Harr0gate

Thank you so much for taking time to write about your husband’s birthday celebrations.

We are delighted to read that you thoroughly enjoyed your day. I have passed your kind comments on to all the team.

Totally converted to Jazz now…..

They do say any night away from home is a night away, do come and try our Spa.

We look forward to welcoming you back in the near future.

Kind regards


Ken Hardy
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Harrogate, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
5 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed October 22, 2012

We were a group of older people meeting for a social afternoon in the lounge. The room is lovely, nicely furnished and cosy and was the perfect place for us to meet the Mayor!. The hotel looked after us extremely well, making sure that we had enough refreshments to keep us going. The staff are very friendly and welcoming.

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Christine_B187046
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
KenHardy, General Manager at Best Western Dower House Hotel & Spa, responded to this review, November 2, 2012
Dear Christine_B187046

Thank you very much for taking the time to write about your experience. I am delighted to read that you enjoyed your visit. We love it when we have the opportunity to welcome the local community into our hotel, you don’t have to be a resident of the hotel to use our facilities.

We very much hope you all will visit us again soon.

Kind regards

Ken Hardy
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Forfar, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
29 reviews
14 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
Reviewed October 14, 2012

very pleased with our three night stay in this hotel, facilities were spot on and the staff all were on the ball, i couldnt single out one, A great team they seemed all to be very flexible with their work and very keen to intigrate with the patrons .We found this hotel very well placed for exploring Knaresborough and also the train station which we used to visit York. 0ur room was really quaint with traditional oak beams, very comfortable.

Room Tip: room 31 had oak beams ,real authentic.
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank rich060
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
KenHardy, General Manager at Best Western Dower House Hotel & Spa, responded to this review, November 2, 2012
Dear rich060

Thank you very much for taking time to write about your stay.

I am delighted to read that you enjoyed your time with us, I have passed your comments on to all the team.

We very much look forward to the opportunity to welcome you back in the future.

Many thanks and kind regards,

Ken Hardy
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Knaresborough
2.7 mi away
Best Western Plus Cedar Court Hotel
2.7 mi away
Rudding Park Hotel
Rudding Park Hotel
#1 of 1 in Follifoot
4,531 reviews
3.2 mi away
The Crown Hotel
The Crown Hotel
#14 of 30 in Harrogate
1,257 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
3.1 mi away
The West Park Hotel
The West Park Hotel
#2 of 30 in Harrogate
587 reviews
3.1 mi away
The Majestic Hotel
The Majestic Hotel
#18 of 30 in Harrogate
2,688 reviews
2.8 mi away
Ascot House Hotel Harrogate
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Best Western Dower House Hotel & Spa? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Best Western Dower House Hotel & Spa

Property: Best Western Dower House Hotel & Spa
Address: Bond End, Knaresborough, Harrogate HG5 9AL, England
Location: United Kingdom > England > Yorkshire > North Yorkshire > Harrogate > Knaresborough
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beverage Selection Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 2 Hotels in Knaresborough
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3 star — Best Western Dower House Hotel & Spa 3*
Number of rooms: 29
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
BEST WESTERN Dower House Hotel is as full of character as it is convenience, when you're not enjoying a good nights sleep, you can relax in our recently refurbished Imagine Health & Spa with a swim, treatment or work out.You'll not only enjoy the sights and sounds of the traditional market town of Knaresborough, but also the opportunity to take in beautiful river walks and historical landmarks such as Mother Shiptons Cave and the Castle ruins ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Booking.com, Expedia, Travelocity, Priceline, TripOnline SA, Cancelon, Evoline ltd and HotelQuickly so you can book your Best Western Dower House Hotel & Spa reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Best Western Dower Hotel
Best Western Knaresborough
Knaresborough Best Western
Best Western Dower House Hotel & Spa Knaresborough, Yorkshire

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing