We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“One to return to”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Best Western Dower House Hotel & Spa
Ranked #1 of 2 Hotels in Knaresborough
Liverpool, United Kingdom
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
“One to return to”
Reviewed May 2, 2012

We stayed for a three night walking holiday in the area. The weather was terrible but the hotel and its location made the stay really enjoyable.
The staff created a very pleasant friendly atmosphere and were always anxious to provide what ever assistance they could.
When planning the trip we had intended to eat in local restaurants, but changed our mind after eating in the hotel on the first evening. We found the hotel menu offered a good varied choice and the quality and presentation of the meals was excellent.
Our room was comfortable, fairly large, warm, clean and well furnished and was cleaned thoroughly each day.
We only used the pool and spar in late afternoon but found them clean, warm, inviting and very quite.
The Dower House will be our first choice when visitng the area again.

  • Stayed April 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank ray_sheila
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
KenHardy, General Manager at Best Western Dower House Hotel & Spa, responded to this review, May 3, 2012
Dear Ray & Shiela

Thank you very much for taking the time to write about your stay with us. We are delighted to read that you enjoyed your time with us, If only we could arrange better waether.

Your comments have been passed onto the whole team, positive feedback gives us all a real buzz.

Once again thank you for your review and we look forward to welcoming you back soon.

With kind regards.


Ken Hardy
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

619 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    230
    191
    102
    68
    28
See reviews for
93
296
22
72
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (137)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • Any
English first
Glasgow
Level Contributor
235 reviews
95 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 103 helpful votes
Reviewed April 26, 2012 via mobile

Stayed at this hotel again for a few days when in Harrogate for business.
Again I was not let down, simply a great hotel, well run with a great leisure centre and pool, which is all free to hotel guests.
I did not eat meals here, due to work commitments, but if the breakfast is anything to go with, the meals must be great.
Keep up the good work.

Stayed April 2012
Helpful?
Thank jman26
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
KenHardy, General Manager at Best Western Dower House Hotel & Spa, responded to this review, April 27, 2012
Dear Jman26

Thank you for staying with us again, it is always a pleasure to welcome returning guests.

Your comments have been passed onto the whole team, positive feedback gives us all a real buzz.

Once again thank you for your review and we look forward to welcoming you back soon.

With kind regards.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Milton Keynes
Level Contributor
7 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
Reviewed April 24, 2012

We stayed for three nights after the Easter break 2012. Everything was wonderful.
We ate in the restaurant each evening, it is in Yorkshire, so we got healthy Yorkshire portions. The menu was varied and different each night. The food,cooking and presentation was of an excellent standard and as good as anything we have eaten anywhere in Europe. The staff were attentive without being overbearing.
Someone on here mentioned mobility problems. I have some, we were in the front downstairs room just outside reception, and found that was fine for me.
In that room we could just hear traffic on the road, but it was not loud enough to be an issue.
Nothing was too much trouble for the staff. Usually when anyone particularly remembers staff it is for the wrong reasons. We will remember them all at the Dower house Hotel for all the nice things they did.
We will be back. Thankyou everyone.

  • Stayed April 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank NickMiltonKeynes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
KenHardy, General Manager at Best Western Dower House Hotel & Spa, responded to this review, April 25, 2012
Dear Nick

Thank you for staying with us. We are so delighted to read that you had enjoyed your stay.

Your comments have been passed onto the whole team, positive feedback gives us all a real buzz.

Once again thank you for your review and we look forward to welcoming you back soon.

With kind regards.

Ken Hardy
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Leeds
2 reviews
Reviewed April 23, 2012

We stayed at the Dower House back in January and had a fantastic stay its wonderful location (in the heart of Knaresborough a fab little market town and a stone throw away form Harrogate what more can you ask for) the atmosphere in the hotel was truly unique. The staff are very attentive and professional, paying attention to every detail and preference. Nothing is too much trouble, and they make you feel very at home.


The rooms are stylish and well appointed, and crucially exceptionally clean. The spa was fantastic and a perfect place to relax they really have thought of everything.

We had lunch in the hotels bar in front of the log fire and dinner in the restaurant both meals were beautiful the staff were extremely helpful and had good knowledge of the menu we never felt rushed even when we were the last to leave the restaurant.

It really was a perfect break I went with the girls however believe it would be perfect for couples, families, friends or if you were travelling on your own. I know we will be back.

A big thank you to all the staff for making it perfect

  • Stayed January 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank lisa_shepherdson
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
KenHardy, General Manager at Best Western Dower House Hotel & Spa, responded to this review, April 25, 2012
Dear Lisa

Thank you for your kind comments that I have passed to the team. We look forward to welcoming you back in the future.

Many thanks and kind regards,


Ken Hardy
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Caerphilly
Level Contributor
7 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviewed April 20, 2012

My wife and I have just returned home after spending 6 nights at the Dower House. We originally booked for 5 nights but as we liked it so much we stayed an extra night. The staff were efficient, pleasant and helpful, the roon was large and comfortable and the breakfasts were excellent. We also dined in on 2 evenings and were not disappointed either with the quality or quantity of the food.

The spa facilities were first class - all in all we would thoroughly recommned the Dower House Hotel and look forward to returning again sometime.

Room Tip: We asked for a quiet room and were allocated room 20 - it was large and quiet, it suited us perfectl...
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Richard C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
KenHardy, General Manager at Best Western Dower House Hotel & Spa, responded to this review, April 22, 2012
Dear Richard

Thank you for staying with us. We are so delighted to read that you had enjoyed your stay.

Your comments have been passed onto the whole team, positive feedback gives us all a real buzz.

We very much look forward to the opportunity to welcome you back in the future.

Many thanks and kind regards,

Ken Hardy
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Lower Darwen
Level Contributor
24 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
Reviewed April 8, 2012

We had a very pleasant stay in this well located hotel. Can't comment on road noise as we took the advice of previous reviewers and booked a large room at the back of the hotel. Checking in was trouble free and the lady on reception was friendly, cheerful and helpful. The room was large and clean, nothing special but nothing to complain about either although missing things like a teapot and fruit/green tea which I normally expect from a 4 star hotel at this tariff but its not a big issue. We also made use of the spa on several occasions during our stay and again found the staff cheerful and helpful and the facilities were clean with everything working which is a rare find in these days of cost cutting and poor maintenance.

Breakfast was fine. Again nothing special but well cooked and served by friendly staff. Our only gripe during the whole 2 days was the meal we had in the restaurant. The starters were lovely, the main want exactly piping good but edible and had we finished there I would not have had any complaints but unfortunately we decided to be greedy and ordered dessert. My cheese board was fine but my partner's sticky toffee pudding arrived with ice cream instead of the ordered custard (the young lad serving didn't seem to understand the difference when we tried to tell him). Not a huge problem but when he tired to eat it, it was overcooked and impossible to cut through as the bottom half was too hard. There were other small gripes such as unneeded cutlery being left on the table and you for the impression that the serving staff had only basic training. Again not major issues but I expect better from a hotel which charges what this one does. Maybe I've just been spoilt in the past and they did knock 15% of the meal.

Overall a pleasant, clean hotel with genuinely friendly staff that easily make up for the little things that in my opinion are missing from a hotel of this class. Had this been a cheaper hotel, it would have definitely merited a 5 star review. I'm just glad I booked with Tesco vouchers as I may have otherwise felt a little cheated

  • Stayed March 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank snuffy-laz
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
KenHardy, General Manager at Best Western Dower House Hotel & Spa, responded to this review, April 14, 2012
Dear snuffy-laz

Firstly thank you very much for taking the time to give us your feedback on Tripadvisor, it is through our guest’s comments that we can improve on our standards and level of service we provide.

Although you enjoyed aspects of your stay I was sorry to learn that your experience within our dining room was disappointing and please accept our apologies for this.

I have discussed your comments with the Chef and we will be using the feedback you gave us to implement improvements to ensure we offer a better experience for guests in the future.

I do hope we will have the opportunity to fully restore your faith and that you may stay with us again in the future.

Once again thank you for your constructive comments and rest assured we genuinely care and will act upon them.

Many thanks and kind regards

Ken Hardy
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Leicester, United Kingdom
1 review
Reviewed April 5, 2012

The reception and continued friendliness of ALL the staff, made us feel welcome from the minute of arriving until our departure. The room allocated to us was very carefully and well maintained, as was the whole of the hotel we experienced. The dining room was equally welcoming as were the staff serving us. The menu was very good, and the food served was both wholesome and satisfying, although perhaps repetitive over successive evenings. The chef was very accommodating when asked if perhaps we could be served with an item from the lunch menu.
Unfortunately, because of infirmities (and age), we could not take advantage of all the facilities offered, but that was not the fault of the hotel. Thanks for a pleasant and restful stay.

Room Tip: No lift to the first floor. Wheelchair access difficult! Also difficult for guests with mobility pro...
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank David B D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
KenHardy, General Manager at Best Western Dower House Hotel & Spa, responded to this review, April 14, 2012
Dear David,

Thank you very much for taking the time to write about your stay with us. I am delighted to read that you enjoyed your time with us, the staff are delighted with your comments, It was a pleasure to welcome you.

We look forward to welcoming you back soon.

Kind regards

Ken Hardy
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Knaresborough
2.7 mi away
Rudding Park Hotel
Rudding Park Hotel
#1 of 1 in Follifoot
5.0 of 5 bubbles 4,496 reviews
2.7 mi away
Best Western Plus Cedar Court Hotel
3.1 mi away
The Majestic Hotel
The Majestic Hotel
#17 of 30 in Harrogate
3.5 of 5 bubbles 2,651 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
2.8 mi away
Ascot House Hotel Harrogate
3.1 mi away
The West Park Hotel
The West Park Hotel
#2 of 30 in Harrogate
4.5 of 5 bubbles 579 reviews
3.2 mi away
The Crown Hotel
The Crown Hotel
#12 of 30 in Harrogate
4.0 of 5 bubbles 1,241 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Best Western Dower House Hotel & Spa? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Best Western Dower House Hotel & Spa

Property: Best Western Dower House Hotel & Spa
Address: Bond End, Knaresborough, Harrogate HG5 9AL, England
Location: United Kingdom > England > Yorkshire > North Yorkshire > Harrogate > Knaresborough
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beverage Selection Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 2 Hotels in Knaresborough
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3 star — Best Western Dower House Hotel & Spa 3*
Number of rooms: 29
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
BEST WESTERN Dower House Hotel is as full of character as it is convenience, when you're not enjoying a good nights sleep, you can relax in our recently refurbished Imagine Health & Spa with a swim, treatment or work out.You'll not only enjoy the sights and sounds of the traditional market town of Knaresborough, but also the opportunity to take in beautiful river walks and historical landmarks such as Mother Shiptons Cave and the Castle ruins ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Hotels.com, Booking.com, Orbitz, Priceline, Travelocity, Cancelon, TripOnline SA, Evoline ltd and HotelQuickly so you can book your Best Western Dower House Hotel & Spa reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Best Western Dower Hotel
Best Western Knaresborough
Knaresborough Best Western
Best Western Dower House Hotel & Spa Knaresborough, Yorkshire

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing