We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“fantastic”
Review of The Groves Hotel

The Groves Hotel
We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Knaresborough
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
The Groves Hotel
Ranked #11 of 15 Knaresborough B&B and Inns
Flookburgh, United Kingdom
1 review
“fantastic”
Reviewed April 9, 2014

Very nice and clean exalant staff and a filling breakfast .Saturday night there was a disco but when in our room we did not hear a thing .I would return for a stay at the Groves it's like a big family and if there is anything you need ask and I bet they will try there best to get it for you

  • Stayed March 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank luv2travel369
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

48 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    18
    17
    11
    0
    2
See reviews for
5
26
Solo
0
3
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (13)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Doncaster, United Kingdom
1 review
Reviewed March 18, 2014 via mobile

Just had a one night stay in the family room.Staff were excellent. Nothing too much trouble. Lovely room and breakfast. The location is brilliant. The quoted ten minute walk is a gentle stroll. FYI We got a taxi back at the end of the night from the Opera house, (probably furthest attraction away) and it was only just over £6, bargain. The hotel's bar prices are also reasonable, would stay in longer on a longer trip. Definitely recommend this hotel. Thanks to all, Les & Kim.

Stayed March 2014, traveled as a couple
Helpful?
Thank redles10
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Dudley
1 review
Reviewed February 25, 2014

We stayed in hotel for just over two months because it was cheap working away, however, we soon found out why it was so cheap. The rooms weren't cleaned from the Monday through to the Friday when were staying, no fresh towels were provided unless they were asked for, the light sensor outside room was broken and constantly "clicked" every two seconds, the hearing was turned off to save money, and we had to ask for it back on on a number of occasions, and finally the owners were the most miserable people I have ever met, they didn't seem to care about anything. Would Definatly not recommend this hotel to anybody with basic hygiene or morals.

  • Stayed February 2014
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Brains1234
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Dumfries, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
20 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 20 helpful votes
Reviewed February 19, 2014

We stayed here on a Saturday night so I expected noise but not quite as much as there was. There was a band playing and we could hear every word of what they were singing. I think there should be something written on the property's website to warn people how noisy the pub can be on a weekend. The room was nice, modern and well decorated. It was basically clean but could have been hoovered better.

We also had problems sleeping due to a constant clicking outside our room (no 2). We reported this to the management and they seemed familiar with the issue so hopefully getting it fixed.

Breakfast was good the next day but it seems to be a bit of a one woman performance so we had to wait for quite a while before the woman attended to us and the other waiting guests - she was busy cooking a different table's breakfast. There is only four rooms though so that is not bad. There is juice and cereal available on a self-service basis and then tea/ coffee/ hot breakfast can be ordered.

Everyone was friendly.

  • Stayed February 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank JoL186513
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London
Level Contributor
24 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
Reviewed November 28, 2013 via mobile

We stayed at The Groves for a couple of nights in August. The rooms are above a pub, but there was no noise that we could hear. The Groves is in a great location, right in the market place. Only a short walk to the train and bus station. The room was very nice, with a lovely big, comfortable bed. Everything was clean. The staff were very friendly and helpful. Great, freshly cooked breakfast which sets you up for the day. We would stay at The Groves again.

Stayed August 2013
Helpful?
1 Thank Dive_Boy
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level Contributor
4 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
Reviewed March 16, 2013

Rooms are lovely and comfortable finished off to a high standard. Could not sleep until 12.30 due to the rowdy music and smokers area under our room not nice and definitely not a country idle. Locacation central going to skip breakfast becase no info on where to eat abd what time.

  • Stayed March 2013
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
Helpful?
2 Thank trumpet649
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Southampton, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed September 23, 2012

First time we have stayed at a bed and breakfast always hotels. We stayed one night at the groves and would have booked another had it not been fully booked.Iit centrally situated five mins walk from train station, five mins walk to bus station .Tthe rooms were spotless and warm, would not have known we were sleeping on top of a pub. Staff were second to none, nothing too much trouble. Would go back anytme. WELL DONE THE GROVES

  • Stayed September 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank dunn186299
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Knaresborough
0.3 mi away
Best Western Dower House Hotel & Spa
2.8 mi away
Best Western Plus Cedar Court Hotel
0.1 mi away
Old Royal Oak
Old Royal Oak
#7 of 15 in Knaresborough
4.5 of 5 bubbles 156 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.1 mi away
Kirkgate House
Kirkgate House
#3 of 15 in Knaresborough
5.0 of 5 bubbles 120 reviews
0.1 mi away
The Mitre Inn
The Mitre Inn
#6 of 15 in Knaresborough
4.5 of 5 bubbles 140 reviews
0.2 mi away
Newton House
Newton House
#4 of 15 in Knaresborough
4.5 of 5 bubbles 466 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Groves Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Groves Hotel

Property: The Groves Hotel
Address: 30 Market Place, Knaresborough, Harrogate HG5 8AG, England
Location: United Kingdom > England > Yorkshire > North Yorkshire > Harrogate > Knaresborough
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge
Hotel Style:
Ranked #11 of 15 B&Bs / Inns in Knaresborough
Number of rooms: 4
Also Known As:
The Groves Hotel Knaresborough, Yorkshire

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing