We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“An Excellent Evening”
Review of Riverview Chinese Restaurant - CLOSED

Riverview Chinese Restaurant
Cuisines: Chinese, Asian
Dining options: Dinner, Late Night, Delivery, Highchairs Available, Reservations, Seating, Serves Alcohol
Restaurant details
Dining options: Dinner, Late Night, Delivery, Highchairs Available, Reservations, Seating, Serves Alcohol
Trowbridge, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
14 reviews
7 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 18 helpful votes
“An Excellent Evening”
Reviewed May 28, 2014 via mobile

After spending several days in Knaresborough on business, we found this gem of a restaurant on Trip Advisor. It is off the beaten track, but well worth the effort. The staff were attentive and helpful and the food was superb, rounded off with a delightful location and excellent value. It is well worth a trip by a weary traveller or a local looking for something different from the towns main stream offerings.

Visited May 2014
Helpful?
Thank Garrie D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

54 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    35
    14
    3
    2
    0
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Bristol, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Excellent service, warm staff and fantastic food”
Reviewed May 28, 2014

We ate in this restaurant on a whim and they were extremely gracious in hosting a walk in group of 5. Ordinarily Chinese would not be my food of choice however the menu was extensive and the food was wonderfully cooked and presented. The service was impeccable with friendly and helpful staff who I presume are the owners.

The meals were generous in
portions and fantastically well cooked. I couldn't recommend this restaurant enough!

  • Visited May 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank elz_182
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Colne, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
33 reviews
22 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 22 helpful votes
“Did mother shipton foretell this?”
Reviewed May 8, 2014 via mobile

It's not often I eat Chinese food, and it wouldn't ordinarily be my food of choice- one too many bad takeaways in the past. My wife had other ideas after reading a glowing review pinned up on the restaurant window.
The staff were incredibly friendly, and in good humour, a quality that is usually lost in translation. There were signs on display warning of zealous traffic wardens in the area. This was a nice touch on the restaurant's part.
There was a good choice of food on offer and it was served promptly.even better it was delicious - perhaps I should have Chinese food more often!

Helpful?
1 Thank malajusted1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level Contributor
19 reviews
10 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 31 helpful votes
“Delicious gluten free chinese food!!!”
Reviewed April 24, 2014

I went here tonight and it's only the second chinese restaurant I have been to in England that serves gluten free food. They have a menu that is full of delicious dishes of which the majority can be served gluten free and they are denoted by red stars. My meal of crispy beef and fried rice was delicious and I am so grateful to be able to have a chinese for the first time in years. Thank you very much.

  • Visited April 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank sallycoo
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
1 review
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Excellent food and service”
Reviewed April 19, 2014

Came without reservation and were seated straight. Service was brilliant and quick but never felt rushed. Food arrived very quickly and was delicious, appreciated by all and received great reviews.

Excellent resteraunt, highly recommended. Char Sui Pork is a must.

  • Visited April 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank Phil B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Riverview Chinese Restaurant also viewed

 
Knaresborough, Harrogate
Knaresborough, Harrogate
 

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing