We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Two Firsts”
Review of Teardrop Cottage

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Teardrop Cottage
Ranked #2 of 15 Knaresborough B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed June 15, 2013

So as indicated two firsts here...

1 - This is my is my first review on Tripadvisor. But really felt that I should after my stay at Teardrop Cottage.

2 - I know it sound terrible, but this was my first stay at a B&B.....So, I am truly delighted to say what a wonderful experience it was. Everything was perfect and really couldn't be bettered. Position was perfect, accommodation terrific, breakfast fantastic. Mike the owner was really helpful and went that "extra mile" that is so lacking in some larger establishments.

Teardrop Cottage - "More than Rock N' Roll" !

Stayed: June 2013, traveled on business
Thank Mike P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
jackson1110, Owner at Teardrop Cottage, responded to this reviewResponded April 28, 2015

Dear Alan and Gill...that is so kind ..thank you...we are so pleased you enjoyed your weekend at Teardrop cottage...and our directions to the flower show missed a lot of the traffic for you...we hope you can return..with my best wishes,Mike.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (318)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

238 - 244 of 318 reviews

Reviewed June 15, 2013

Lovely warm welcome on our return to Teardrop Cottage. It really is the most amazing place to stay. Mike the owner is so charming and helpful and obviously just wants you to enjoy your stay. We like the luxury room with its own courtyard. It's a lovely room with everything you would need along with some little treats, fresh flowers and free wifi. As we had a sunny evening the day we arrived we were able to enjoy a glass of wine on the roof terrace with fabulous views over the river, Mike kindly provided wine glasses. Teardrop Cottage is in a lovely position on the waterside and yet is only a few minutes away by bus to Harrogate, the buses run very regularly until late at night. We loved every minute of our stay and will be returning again hopefully in the not too distant future.

Room Tip: The luxury room is on the ground floor with patio doors on to the private courtyard.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: June 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank LizEastYorkshire
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 5, 2013

We stayed at Teardrop Cottage for two nights, in the Chocolate Brown room. Mike, the owner is a charming host, who made us feel so welcome. Our room was small but very comfortable, with an outstanding view of the viaduct and riverside. We had access to the roof garden, which overlooks the riverside walk, and this was a real delight, especially as the weather was so warm. The cottage has loads of atmosphere and a timeless feel to it which made it very easy to relax and enjoy the beautiful surroundings. Breakfast was freshly cooked and delicious, and nothing was too much trouble. We couldn't have wished for a better place to stay, and will definitely return, hopefully later in the year.

Room Tip: The black and white suite has en suite bathroom, and its own private courtyard garden. It is also lo...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: June 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank mamat26
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 4, 2013

My wife and I had a wonderful time during our stay at the Teardrop Cottage in Knaresborough, Yorkshire. We stayed there for 5 nights last month (May-2013). This B&B is a comfortable cottage that is set on the hillside next to the Nidd River. The proprietor (Mike) made us feel very welcome and comfortable. His great sense of humor and easy-going nature made our breakfasts at this B&B a lot of fun. The breakfasts that Mike prepared for us each day were very good and he was great about accommodating our special vegetarian dietary needs. Our bedroom had a beautiful view over the river and the train trestle and the bathroom facilities were clean and well maintained. We would highly recommend a stay at the Teardrop Cottage for anyone that is planning to visit the Harrogate / York area.

  • Stayed: May 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank thomkaySJ
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
jackson1110, Owner at Teardrop Cottage, responded to this reviewResponded June 5, 2013

Dear Thom and Suzzanne..i hope all is well?....thank you for taking the time to write such a kind review...it was truly a delight to meet you both...im so pleased you had a great time at Teardrop cottage..lots of love.Mike.x

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 3, 2013

This was our last stop on our tour of Yorkshire & was by far the best lodging we experienced. We arrived a little early, but Mike, the owner seemed genuinely pleased to see us, even though the place was fully booked.
The room was beautifully decorated and the bed comfy and soft, with a great view of the river and 19th century railway bridge.
We were really made to feel like valued guests, with access to the lovely living room and kitchen. Mike pretty much left us alone, but was a mind of local information when we needed him.
The breakfast (which Mike was happy to prepare at 10am!!) was a work of art, with fresh local ingredients. Best sausages in Britain :) We'll be back...

Room Tip: We had The Pink Room - great view...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: May 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank jason f
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 3, 2013

Beautiful, quaint cottage in historic Knaresborough. Decorated to perfection, each room has it's own style & own price. If you're lucky enough to get the 'Pink Room' you'll be dazzled by the amazing view of Knaresborough Bridge as the cottage is right on the river.
Service was amazing. Mike, the owner, like a favourite Aunty is attentive yet discreet. Makes sure you have everything you might want/need down to wine & great conversation but also knows when to bugger off & leave you to your own devices.
Looking forward to our return

  • Stayed: May 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank HappyTrails947
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 2, 2013 via mobile

We booked into the luxury room at Teardrop Cottage for one night as we were guests at a wedding taking place at Allerton Castle. Upon arrival to this idyllic cottage we both realised that we wanted to stay longer. The room was immaculate and well decorated with lots of interesting features (including the most comfortable bed I've slept in). Mike, the owner made us feel welcome and offered help and advice that was much appreciated. Breakfast was amazing and we both really enjoyed the way Mike made sure we got everything we wanted. We both enjoyed our stay very much and we also enjoyed the relaxed, friendly atmosphere that Mike has been able make synonymous with staying at Teardrop Cottage. Cheers Mike, hopefully get to come back soon. Nick and Han

  • Stayed: June 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Raasclart
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Knaresborough
0.2 mi away
Best Western Dower House Hotel & Spa
2.9 mi away
Crowne Plaza Harrogate
Crowne Plaza Harrogate
#6 of 30 in Harrogate
222 reviews
2.6 mi away
Best Western Plus Cedar Court Hotel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
2.9 mi away
Kimberley Hotel
Kimberley Hotel
#7 of 30 in Harrogate
1,755 reviews
2.3 mi away
Goldsborough Hall
Goldsborough Hall
#1 of 15 in Knaresborough
392 reviews
0.1 mi away
Kirkgate House
Kirkgate House
#3 of 15 in Knaresborough
128 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Teardrop Cottage? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Teardrop Cottage

Address: Waterside, Knaresborough, Harrogate HG5 9AZ, England
Location: United Kingdom > England > Yorkshire > North Yorkshire > Harrogate > Knaresborough
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Room Service Suites
Hotel Style:
Ranked #2 of 15 B&Bs / Inns in Knaresborough
Price Range: $103 - $154 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Number of rooms: 3
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Teardrop cottage is set in the picturesque location of waterside, with magnificent views of the river, castle and Victorian stone viaduct. A short walk from the historic market town of Knaresborough, with its eclectic mix of restaurants,individual shops and fine old pubs, the nearby railway station provides quick and easy access to the towns of Harrogate and its international exhibition centre, York and Leeds, and borders the beautiful Yorkshire Dales, moors and the east coast....our aim is to give you a relaxing and memorable stay in our stunning and magical location. Our 4 rooms are comfortable and finished to a very high standard. Our breakfast menu offers delicious,freshly prepared and locally sourced food. We insist that you make yourself "at home". We hope to see you soon. ... more   less 
Also Known As:
Teardrop Cottage Hotel Knaresborough
Teardrop Cottage Knaresborough, Yorkshire

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing