We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Timeless Charm”
Review of Teardrop Cottage

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Teardrop Cottage
Ranked #2 of 15 Knaresborough B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed June 5, 2013

We stayed at Teardrop Cottage for two nights, in the Chocolate Brown room. Mike, the owner is a charming host, who made us feel so welcome. Our room was small but very comfortable, with an outstanding view of the viaduct and riverside. We had access to the roof garden, which overlooks the riverside walk, and this was a real delight, especially as the weather was so warm. The cottage has loads of atmosphere and a timeless feel to it which made it very easy to relax and enjoy the beautiful surroundings. Breakfast was freshly cooked and delicious, and nothing was too much trouble. We couldn't have wished for a better place to stay, and will definitely return, hopefully later in the year.

Room Tip: The black and white suite has en suite bathroom, and its own private courtyard garden. It is also lo...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: June 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank mamat26
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a ReviewReviews (321)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

243 - 249 of 321 reviews

Reviewed June 4, 2013

My wife and I had a wonderful time during our stay at the Teardrop Cottage in Knaresborough, Yorkshire. We stayed there for 5 nights last month (May-2013). This B&B is a comfortable cottage that is set on the hillside next to the Nidd River. The proprietor (Mike) made us feel very welcome and comfortable. His great sense of humor and easy-going nature made our breakfasts at this B&B a lot of fun. The breakfasts that Mike prepared for us each day were very good and he was great about accommodating our special vegetarian dietary needs. Our bedroom had a beautiful view over the river and the train trestle and the bathroom facilities were clean and well maintained. We would highly recommend a stay at the Teardrop Cottage for anyone that is planning to visit the Harrogate / York area.

  • Stayed: May 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank thomkaySJ
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
jackson1110, Owner at Teardrop Cottage, responded to this reviewResponded June 5, 2013

Dear Thom and Suzzanne..i hope all is well?....thank you for taking the time to write such a kind review...it was truly a delight to meet you both...im so pleased you had a great time at Teardrop cottage..lots of love.Mike.x

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 3, 2013

This was our last stop on our tour of Yorkshire & was by far the best lodging we experienced. We arrived a little early, but Mike, the owner seemed genuinely pleased to see us, even though the place was fully booked.
The room was beautifully decorated and the bed comfy and soft, with a great view of the river and 19th century railway bridge.
We were really made to feel like valued guests, with access to the lovely living room and kitchen. Mike pretty much left us alone, but was a mind of local information when we needed him.
The breakfast (which Mike was happy to prepare at 10am!!) was a work of art, with fresh local ingredients. Best sausages in Britain :) We'll be back...

Room Tip: We had The Pink Room - great view...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: May 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank jason f
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 3, 2013

Beautiful, quaint cottage in historic Knaresborough. Decorated to perfection, each room has it's own style & own price. If you're lucky enough to get the 'Pink Room' you'll be dazzled by the amazing view of Knaresborough Bridge as the cottage is right on the river.
Service was amazing. Mike, the owner, like a favourite Aunty is attentive yet discreet. Makes sure you have everything you might want/need down to wine & great conversation but also knows when to bugger off & leave you to your own devices.
Looking forward to our return

  • Stayed: May 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank HappyTrails947
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 2, 2013 via mobile

We booked into the luxury room at Teardrop Cottage for one night as we were guests at a wedding taking place at Allerton Castle. Upon arrival to this idyllic cottage we both realised that we wanted to stay longer. The room was immaculate and well decorated with lots of interesting features (including the most comfortable bed I've slept in). Mike, the owner made us feel welcome and offered help and advice that was much appreciated. Breakfast was amazing and we both really enjoyed the way Mike made sure we got everything we wanted. We both enjoyed our stay very much and we also enjoyed the relaxed, friendly atmosphere that Mike has been able make synonymous with staying at Teardrop Cottage. Cheers Mike, hopefully get to come back soon. Nick and Han

  • Stayed: June 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Raasclart
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed May 19, 2013

On arrival, the relaxed and very friendly atmosphere (created by Mike, the owner) was immediately evident at Teardrop Cottage. The cottage is a beautifully presented little B&B located beside the river and underneath the railway bridge (passengers could look into our bedroom whilst trundling past - which was a little disconcerting!).
Attention to every tiny detail was obvious (the property was full of of ornaments and teddy bears were to be found everywhere) which included nice touches - bath robes, nice quality tea/coffee, chocolates and biscuits in the room etc.
Our room was very small and was only able to house a standard size double bed which although comfortable was located up-against a wall giving the feeling of being 'hemmed-in'. Our bathroom (a short distance down the hall) was large and had a roll-top bath and shower cubicle.
Sadly, the weather didn't allow us to enjoy the pleasures of the roof terrace (with lovely views over the river). We were allocated a 'breakfast time' of 09.30 hours, however Mike was happy to accommodate our request to bring-forward this time (to 09.00 hours) and he presented us with a lovely array of locally produced and beautifully cooked food.
All in all, Teardrop cottage is a lovely little place to rest your head for one/two nights when looking for a 'home from home'.

  • Stayed: May 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank H1CAJ
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed April 8, 2013

Fantastic accommodation exceptional decor and the comfiest beds in the world. '
Mikes personality almost as big as his breakfasts with every need catered for and presented and cooked to perfection.
Location really pretty and within walking distance of town centre and local pubs/wine bars and restaurants tho I defy anyone to require lunch after such an extensive breakfast.
In my opinion Mike goes out of his way to make your stay a memorable one, he even drove a couple in our party around Knaresborough showing them places he would recommend to spend enjoyable evenings out.
All in all a very comfortable and relaxing stay highly recommended we will certainly be back.

  • Stayed: April 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank 565JoM
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
jackson1110, Owner at Teardrop Cottage, responded to this reviewResponded April 9, 2013

Dear Jo and party....thank you so much...im so pleased you enjoyed your time at TC...it was a pleasure to have you stay..very best wishes,Mike.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Knaresborough
0.2 mi away
Best Western Dower House Hotel & Spa
2.9 mi away
Crowne Plaza Harrogate
Crowne Plaza Harrogate
#6 of 28 in Harrogate
292 reviews
2.8 mi away
Ascot House Hotel Harrogate
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
2.9 mi away
Kimberley Hotel
Kimberley Hotel
#8 of 28 in Harrogate
1,774 reviews
3.1 mi away
The West Park Hotel
The West Park Hotel
#2 of 28 in Harrogate
645 reviews
2.3 mi away
Goldsborough Hall
Goldsborough Hall
#1 of 15 in Knaresborough
410 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Teardrop Cottage? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Teardrop Cottage

Address: Waterside, Knaresborough HG5 9AZ, England
Location: United Kingdom > England > Yorkshire > North Yorkshire > Knaresborough
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Room Service Suites
Hotel Style:
Ranked #2 of 15 B&Bs / Inns in Knaresborough
Price Range: $103 - $167 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Number of rooms: 3
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Teardrop cottage is set in the picturesque location of waterside, with magnificent views of the river, castle and Victorian stone viaduct. A short walk from the historic market town of Knaresborough, with its eclectic mix of restaurants,individual shops and fine old pubs, the nearby railway station provides quick and easy access to the towns of Harrogate and its international exhibition centre, York and Leeds, and borders the beautiful Yorkshire Dales, moors and the east coast....our aim is to give you a relaxing and memorable stay in our stunning and magical location. Our 4 rooms are comfortable and finished to a very high standard. Our breakfast menu offers delicious,freshly prepared and locally sourced food. We insist that you make yourself "at home". We hope to see you soon. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com so you can book your Teardrop Cottage reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Teardrop Cottage Hotel Knaresborough
Teardrop Cottage Knaresborough, Yorkshire

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing