We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“A night away with friends”
Review of Teardrop Cottage

We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Knaresborough
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Teardrop Cottage
Ranked #2 of 15 Knaresborough B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
Bridlington
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
“A night away with friends”
Reviewed January 5, 2013

Had a really great nights stay at teardrop cottage in its great location so much so that on departure we booked to stay for weekend in the summer . The rooms are first class as were the breakfasts as were our host Mike who made our stay that bit more special.
Looking forward to our next stay

  • Stayed January 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
5 Thank Chris H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

301 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    271
    25
    4
    0
    1
See reviews for
22
218
7
11
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (71)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Italian first
  • Any
English first
Level Contributor
7 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 29 helpful votes
Reviewed December 31, 2012

From the moment you are greeted at the door by Mike the host at Teardrop cottage, you immediately feel at home.
The whole experience of staying in his home cannot be faulted (just don't leave any fruit n nut lying around! ;-) )
The rooms are immaculate and the breakfasts have an extra special touch, because he cares and it shows in bucketfulls.
The only drawback with the whole place is having to pack and leave...
We have stayed there twice now and I have resisted reviewing it up until this point purely and simply because we wanted t keep it to ourselves.
We hope to return soon. perfection.

  • Stayed May 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Mikeyboy1867
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed December 20, 2012

Very comfortable accommodation and a great location. Feels like a home away from home. Wonderful breakfasts and Mike is a great host. Would happily stay again to enable us to enjoy the surrounding area.

  • Stayed December 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Hardav
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sunderland, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
5 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
Reviewed November 25, 2012

I am under strict instruction from the girls I travelled with to write a review for Teardrop Cottage immediately. Had a one night stay which exceeded our expectations. Most of this was due to Mike our lovely host. He is most helpful and charming, nothing is too much trouble for him. The rooms (and indeed the whole cottage) are tastefully and eclectically decorated. The setting is so lovely and so was breakfast. I could continue but check it out yourself. We will return! Thank you Mike you are a star.

  • Stayed November 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Alibjdr
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
jackson1110, Owner at Teardrop Cottage, responded to this review, November 28, 2012
Dear Ladies..thank you for taking the time to send such a kind review...it was a pleasure to have you stay...It would be great to see you all again ...very best wishes,Mike.x
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
DERBYSHIRE
Level Contributor
112 reviews
22 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 48 helpful votes
Reviewed November 12, 2012

We've just returned from our second stay at Teardrop, we have been lucky enough to visit several bed & breakfasts this year and Teardrop will always be my favourite. I'm surprised by the last reviewers comments - but each to there own, theres just no pleasing some people!

Teardrop is a home from home in a beautiful location and the attention to detail is second to none. If you would like a base to visit Harrogate and York the train station is a stones throw away and is really handy.

We ate out in York this time as we had been sightseeing all day and then had a drink in Carriages which has a lovely atmosphere. We also had a drink in the Mitre which was very hot and busy.

If you like beautiful decor, special touches and lovely breakfasts with locally sourced produce you MUST visit Mike at Teardrop. Just a quick tip for you, the ground floor room is more spacious and can accomodate a z bed, upstairs the chocolate room is gorgeous with great views that overlook the River Nidd and the viaduct but the bathroom and loo is across the corridor (its very spacious in there though). The pink room has an en-suite wet room which again is very nicely done. Having stayed in both the ground floor room and the chocolate room I prefer the downstairs one.

We will be visiting again for sure.

  • Stayed November 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank PINKPRINCESS17
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
East Yorkshire
Level Contributor
29 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
Reviewed November 2, 2012

After reading the reviews on trip advisor I was looking forward to visiting Teardrop Cottage, however, I was disappointed. It was just a number of minor things that added up. Yes it is in a lovely setting, however, the room on the ground floor only has a door out onto a paved area. Surely to make the most of the views it would be nice to have a window overlooking the river and the viaduct to make the most of the lovely views. The bathroom floor was tiled but with no underfloor heating so it was very cold. The weather was cold and there seemed to be an absence of heating in the room, especially in the morning when it would have been nice to have a had a warm towel after getting out of the shower. There was a bulb out in the bathroom which was never replaced during the visit and also a couple of bulbs out in the main room which made it very gloomy at breakfast time. The breakfast was OK but why are the breakfasts garnished with loads of raw spinach? - ugh! A sprig or two of parsley if a garnish is required, but on the whole not really on a breakfast. Also we don't like sharing a breakfast table, we would have preferred a separate one, not being anti-social but it is just the way that we like things. Also we had to nominate a time to eat breakfast, which seemed a bit weird, however, Mike does not have any help in the kitchen, so that probably explained it. Suffice to say that we would not return to Teardrop Cottage, which is a shame as the setting is delightful and we found some great places to eat in the town. The location is also handy for Harrogate and Leeds, both of which are easily reached by public transport if you don't fancy driving.

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Happy-days-are-again
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
jackson1110, Owner at Teardrop Cottage, responded to this review, November 12, 2012
i just wanted to post a reply to express how deeply saddened i was as a result of recent guests comments in relation to their stay.My main aim at Teardrop Cottage is to make guests relaxed and comfortable,providing great attention to detail to try and ensure their stay is as memorable and enjoyable as possible.I would like to reply to the points that i feel are worthy of a response.
1)The luxury King size room has never been advertised with a river view.A window to achieve this would not only be impractical,but totally impossible.The "door" that is referred to is in actual fact double French windows that open out onto your own private courtyard garden and barbecue area.The en-suit has a 4 foot radiator which i feel is more than adequate.
2)A small amount of fresh rocket,watercress and spinach complements other options on the menu such as poached eggs and oven baked vine tomatoes as well as adding colour to the plate.
A couple of "sprigs" of parsley i feel are better suited to fish.
3)I personally find it important for guests to establish their breakfast time to fit in with work or day trips planned as part of their holiday.
In conclusion i would think that very few people have booked a table in a restaurant and not been asked what time they would prefer to have their meal.

Mike.owner Teardrop Cottage.Waterside,Knaresborough,North Yorkshire.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Liverpool, United Kingdom
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed October 28, 2012

A cosy, homely B&B in a beautiful location just yards from the river and only a short walk from the castle. Every care was taken by the owner to ensure we had the nicest possible stay. The room was lovely with exquisite furnishing and a sumptuous breakfast was laid on. Nothing was too much trouble and we were made to feel right at home during our stay. The perfect spot for a short break, any time of the year. Thank you, we'll be back.

  • Stayed July 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank David T
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Knaresborough
0.2 mi away
Best Western Dower House Hotel & Spa
2.6 mi away
Best Western Plus Cedar Court Hotel
2.6 mi away
Rudding Park Hotel
Rudding Park Hotel
#1 of 1 in Follifoot
4,531 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.1 mi away
Kirkgate House
Kirkgate House
#3 of 15 in Knaresborough
121 reviews
2.3 mi away
Goldsborough Hall
Goldsborough Hall
#1 of 15 in Knaresborough
360 reviews
0.2 mi away
Old Royal Oak
Old Royal Oak
#7 of 15 in Knaresborough
156 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Teardrop Cottage? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Teardrop Cottage

Property: Teardrop Cottage
Address: Waterside, Knaresborough, Harrogate HG5 9AZ, England
Location: United Kingdom > England > Yorkshire > North Yorkshire > Harrogate > Knaresborough
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Room Service Suites
Hotel Style:
Ranked #2 of 15 B&Bs / Inns in Knaresborough
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Number of rooms: 3
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Teardrop cottage is set in the picturesque location of waterside, with magnificent views of the river, castle and Victorian stone viaduct. A short walk from the historic market town of Knaresborough, with its eclectic mix of restaurants,individual shops and fine old pubs, the nearby railway station provides quick and easy access to the towns of Harrogate and its international exhibition centre, York and Leeds, and borders the beautiful Yorkshire Dales, moors and the east coast....our aim is to give you a relaxing and memorable stay in our stunning and magical location. Our 4 rooms are comfortable and finished to a very high standard. Our breakfast menu offers delicious,freshly prepared and locally sourced food. We insist that you make yourself "at home". We hope to see you soon. ... more   less 
Also Known As:
Teardrop Cottage Hotel Knaresborough
Teardrop Cottage Knaresborough, Yorkshire

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing