We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“A great stay!”
Review of Teardrop Cottage

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Teardrop Cottage
Ranked #2 of 15 Knaresborough B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed November 12, 2012

We've just returned from our second stay at Teardrop, we have been lucky enough to visit several bed & breakfasts this year and Teardrop will always be my favourite. I'm surprised by the last reviewers comments - but each to there own, theres just no pleasing some people!

Teardrop is a home from home in a beautiful location and the attention to detail is second to none. If you would like a base to visit Harrogate and York the train station is a stones throw away and is really handy.

We ate out in York this time as we had been sightseeing all day and then had a drink in Carriages which has a lovely atmosphere. We also had a drink in the Mitre which was very hot and busy.

If you like beautiful decor, special touches and lovely breakfasts with locally sourced produce you MUST visit Mike at Teardrop. Just a quick tip for you, the ground floor room is more spacious and can accomodate a z bed, upstairs the chocolate room is gorgeous with great views that overlook the River Nidd and the viaduct but the bathroom and loo is across the corridor (its very spacious in there though). The pink room has an en-suite wet room which again is very nicely done. Having stayed in both the ground floor room and the chocolate room I prefer the downstairs one.

We will be visiting again for sure.

  • Stayed: November 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank PINKPRINCESS17
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (310)
There are newer reviews for Teardrop Cottage
See the most recent reviews
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

248 - 254 of 310 reviews

Reviewed November 2, 2012

After reading the reviews on trip advisor I was looking forward to visiting Teardrop Cottage, however, I was disappointed. It was just a number of minor things that added up. Yes it is in a lovely setting, however, the room on the ground floor only has a door out onto a paved area. Surely to make the most of the views it would be nice to have a window overlooking the river and the viaduct to make the most of the lovely views. The bathroom floor was tiled but with no underfloor heating so it was very cold. The weather was cold and there seemed to be an absence of heating in the room, especially in the morning when it would have been nice to have a had a warm towel after getting out of the shower. There was a bulb out in the bathroom which was never replaced during the visit and also a couple of bulbs out in the main room which made it very gloomy at breakfast time. The breakfast was OK but why are the breakfasts garnished with loads of raw spinach? - ugh! A sprig or two of parsley if a garnish is required, but on the whole not really on a breakfast. Also we don't like sharing a breakfast table, we would have preferred a separate one, not being anti-social but it is just the way that we like things. Also we had to nominate a time to eat breakfast, which seemed a bit weird, however, Mike does not have any help in the kitchen, so that probably explained it. Suffice to say that we would not return to Teardrop Cottage, which is a shame as the setting is delightful and we found some great places to eat in the town. The location is also handy for Harrogate and Leeds, both of which are easily reached by public transport if you don't fancy driving.

  • Stayed: October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Happy-days-are-again
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
jackson1110, Owner at Teardrop Cottage, responded to this reviewResponded November 12, 2012

i just wanted to post a reply to express how deeply saddened i was as a result of recent guests comments in relation to their stay.My main aim at Teardrop Cottage is to make guests relaxed and comfortable,providing great attention to detail to try and ensure their stay is as memorable and enjoyable as possible.I would like to reply to the points that i feel are worthy of a response.
1)The luxury King size room has never been advertised with a river view.A window to achieve this would not only be impractical,but totally impossible.The "door" that is referred to is in actual fact double French windows that open out onto your own private courtyard garden and barbecue area.The en-suit has a 4 foot radiator which i feel is more than adequate.
2)A small amount of fresh rocket,watercress and spinach complements other options on the menu such as poached eggs and oven baked vine tomatoes as well as adding colour to the plate.
A couple of "sprigs" of parsley i feel are better suited to fish.
3)I personally find it important for guests to establish their breakfast time to fit in with work or day trips planned as part of their holiday.
In conclusion i would think that very few people have booked a table in a restaurant and not been asked what time they would prefer to have their meal.

Mike.owner Teardrop Cottage.Waterside,Knaresborough,North Yorkshire.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 28, 2012

A cosy, homely B&B in a beautiful location just yards from the river and only a short walk from the castle. Every care was taken by the owner to ensure we had the nicest possible stay. The room was lovely with exquisite furnishing and a sumptuous breakfast was laid on. Nothing was too much trouble and we were made to feel right at home during our stay. The perfect spot for a short break, any time of the year. Thank you, we'll be back.

  • Stayed: July 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank David T
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 23, 2012

What a lovely setting, by the river Nidd, with amazing views, the Cottage is so cosy and inviting. Despite Mike being unwell he still managed to make us feel welcome, and the pink room was so cosy and comfortable - best nights sleep I have had in ages. Knaresborough is lovey, hilly but lovely lol. Good food in Beckets restaurant, fairly new but the service was first class and the food was 5*. Would we go back, yeahhhh!!! Would we recommend, yeahhhh! Can't wait to go back if Mike will have us x

Room Tip: Don't use SATNAV once you get into Knaresborough, use the instructions on site, and be patient o...
  • Stayed: October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank snadge
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 13, 2012

We have just spend two nights at this beautiful cottage right next to the river in Knaresborough. Mike is a lovely host and makes your stay very comfortable. Would definately recommend. Some lovely restaurants to visit, certainly got fit getting up the hill to them, but the view is certainly worth it. Robins hood bay and Whitby only 1 hr 20 mins away on very good roads, we came back over the moors which was very scenic. Plenty of places to visit round this area. All in all a very memorable holiday to Yorkshire.

  • Stayed: October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Diane H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 30, 2012

Thanks Mike for all your effort in making a super stay at your B&B
we had the Pink suite and our friends had the King size suite both are of the highest standards you could expect. I prefer a shower than a bath so the walkin shower in the Pink suite for me every time.

Room Tip: Pink suite for shower only (1st floor) King size for bath, with shower ( Grnd floor)
  • Stayed: August 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank cybershot123
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 25, 2012

Stunning location, superb hospitality. Couldn't fault the accommodation or the host in any way. Mike was so welcoming and attentive. Mike provided lots of recommendations on local attractions, restaurants and pubs. Unfortunately we had to cut our trip short but Mike was very understanding. Will definitely be back to sample more of Mike's hospitality and superb breakfast!

Room Tip: Would recommend the King size room on the groung floor with it's own private garden
  • Stayed: September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Stevie72
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Knaresborough
0.2 mi away
Best Western Dower House Hotel & Spa
2.6 mi away
Best Western Plus Cedar Court Hotel
2.9 mi away
Kimberley Hotel
Kimberley Hotel
#6 of 30 in Harrogate
1,742 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
2.3 mi away
Goldsborough Hall
Goldsborough Hall
#1 of 15 in Knaresborough
387 reviews
0.1 mi away
Kirkgate House
Kirkgate House
#3 of 15 in Knaresborough
125 reviews
0.3 mi away
Newton House
Newton House
#4 of 15 in Knaresborough
477 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Teardrop Cottage? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Teardrop Cottage

Address: Waterside, Knaresborough, Harrogate HG5 9AZ, England
Location: United Kingdom > England > Yorkshire > North Yorkshire > Harrogate > Knaresborough
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Room Service Suites
Hotel Style:
Ranked #2 of 15 B&Bs / Inns in Knaresborough
Price Range: $101 - $155 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Number of rooms: 3
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Teardrop cottage is set in the picturesque location of waterside, with magnificent views of the river, castle and Victorian stone viaduct. A short walk from the historic market town of Knaresborough, with its eclectic mix of restaurants,individual shops and fine old pubs, the nearby railway station provides quick and easy access to the towns of Harrogate and its international exhibition centre, York and Leeds, and borders the beautiful Yorkshire Dales, moors and the east coast....our aim is to give you a relaxing and memorable stay in our stunning and magical location. Our 4 rooms are comfortable and finished to a very high standard. Our breakfast menu offers delicious,freshly prepared and locally sourced food. We insist that you make yourself "at home". We hope to see you soon. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com so you can book your Teardrop Cottage reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Teardrop Cottage Hotel Knaresborough
Teardrop Cottage Knaresborough, Yorkshire

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing