We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“A great day”

Mother Shipton's Cave and The Petrifying Well
More attraction details
Attraction details
Owner description: Mother Shipton’s Cave is England’s oldest visitor attraction, having been open since 1630. Millions of visitors from all over the world have been enchanted by the park's natural beauty, mesmerised by the Petrifying Well and enthralled by Mother Shipton's birthplace and her amazing story. The park has several scenic picnic areas, an adventure playground and museum and gift shop. Themed events run during school holidays. The park is open weekends in March then every day from 1st April to 29th October 10 am to 4.30pm (last admission 3.30pm). There is parking on site (£2 all day in addition to admission).
Harrogate
Level Contributor
23 reviews
5 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 19 helpful votes
“A great day”
Reviewed January 12, 2013

We had a great day here, there's plenty for the kids to do, 2 adventure playgrounds, lots of space to explore and run around, great picnic benches by the river - beautiful views and of course the cave and well are just brilliant - no gimmics- just great historic fund.

Helpful?
Thank Millog
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,089 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    370
    370
    185
    86
    78
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Barnsley
Level Contributor
42 reviews
8 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 22 helpful votes
“Not worth a long trip for as not much there.”
Reviewed January 12, 2013

Great for half a day out if you live local but not worth a long drive. Saying that I made a wish in the wishing well and it came true! The kids enjoyed it though. Not suitable for those unsteady on their feet.

Helpful?
1 Thank Mrs-Barnsley
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Barnsley, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
108 reviews
48 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 101 helpful votes
“"Petrifying" "well" thats what it is.”
Reviewed January 10, 2013

We visited in September 2009 on a nice day.Parking is on the river side with a pleasant walk towards the shop that sell bits and bobs relating to the attraction,you pass the cave with a Hag inside (Mother Shipton ) then you approach the petrifying well with all kinds of things hanging there.The walk passes over the river bridge and if you turn on the path on the right over the bridge you will see the House in the Rock,about turn and follow the walk on the riverside towards the well known rail bridge.It is a nice place but a bit far fetched with the Mother Shipton story but we liked the place and a visit up to Knarsborough is highly recommended,nice fish n chip restraunte/cafe,enjoy.

Visited January 2013
Helpful?
Thank b j w
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Wakefield, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
39 reviews
6 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 31 helpful votes
“Petrified!”
Reviewed January 6, 2013

I enjoyed the walk down to the falls - beautiful scenery all around.
Thankfully it was very quiet when we went so we could spend as long as we wanted looking at the bears and other items that had been hung up to be petrified.

After the first waterfall we walked into the cave and we suddently said in unison "oh...is that it?!"

So what there is, is very lovely...but for the money, there isnt a lot to see.

Visited October 2012
Helpful?
1 Thank Chloe_brightside
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Harrogate, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
10 reviews
3 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
“Expensive cave”
Reviewed December 29, 2012

Mother shiptons cave is bit of a joke not a real attraction it is very small hole with poorly made sculpture inside. Petrifying well is nothing I would recommend either. You will be better of parking car on the other side of the road and taking walk around the river, visiting the castle ruins.

Visited June 2012
Helpful?
2 Thank Daniel M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Mother Shipton's Cave and The Petrifying Well also viewed

Knaresborough, Harrogate
 
Harrogate, North Yorkshire
Harrogate, North Yorkshire
 

Been to Mother Shipton's Cave and The Petrifying Well? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing