We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“My favoriate place in the world on a Sunday!”
Review of The Royal Oak

The Royal Oak
Ranked #18 of 74 Restaurants in Knaresborough
Certificate of Excellence
Price range: $4 - $25
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Local cuisine
Dining options: Late Night, Dinner, Breakfast, Reservations
Level Contributor
6 reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
“My favoriate place in the world on a Sunday!”
Reviewed April 25, 2013

I have been many times now both for Sunday Lunch and dinner in the evening and can’t fault anything. I have been with my husband on our own, with my parents, his parents and in a large group and each time our experience has been exceptional.

Cheryl, Daniel and the team are friendly and welcoming and the real log fire makes it the perfect place to cosy up for a long lunch on a Sunday. The food is exceptional and definitely not your bog standard Sunday lunch in a pub.

The menu on a Sunday is simple with 3 or 4 choices for each course and each one is a little twist on the original the Prawn Cocktail with the Chili Jam, the Slow Roast Pork and the practically world famous Lemon Posset is the perfect combo (if you can eat it all) the portions are generous!

Whenever you go you will be guaranteed a wonderful meal with great service and a warm welcome.

Enjoy!

  • Visited April 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank HayleyHoyle
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

266 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    198
    39
    14
    14
    1
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • Any
English first
Thirsk, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
13 reviews
11 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
“Lovely food, lovely people.”
Reviewed April 23, 2013

Lovely food, Lovely people, good value for money and the best yorkshire puddings in yorkshire!
Settled in a little village just outside Knaresborough we found this quaint little pub and decided to pop in for Sunday lunch. The staff were very polite and looked happy to be there (not the robotic American, usual stuff ) The food was fantastic, and the head chef even popped out to say hello.
Not many intimate places like this left, due to all the chains out there now.
Well worth a visit, and it wont be long before this place starts to receive stars. Keep your eye on this one!

  • Visited April 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank 692richard
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level Contributor
12 reviews
11 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
“Our favourite hideaway !”
Reviewed April 16, 2013 via mobile

Perfect place to get away from it all. We are regular visitors. Great Sunday lunch with the best beef I've ever tasted. Great staff and lovely warm atmosphere. The food is top notch. Well worth a trip.

  • Visited February 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
2 Thank Dsjgg10
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level Contributor
65 reviews
33 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 17 helpful votes
“wonderfully friendly service & lovely food!!”
Reviewed April 12, 2013

We visited midweek with family on holiday. The service was very friendly, and the 3 children in our party were also made to feel welcome. Drinks order taken promptly. Bread was a nice touch while we waited for our mains. Everyone enjoyed their food, one child in our party said the chef should be on MasterChef! Hubby loved his ribs, all meat no fat. Other food sampled included posh macaroni cheese, fish n chips, and duck confit. Puddings are substantial. Only thing they could do better is offer small portions of the puddings for the kids.definitely recommend.

  • Visited April 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
2 Thank Sleepysue29
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Thirsk, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
137 reviews
103 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 106 helpful votes
“Cold Sunday Lunch. Sunday 7th April.”
Reviewed April 9, 2013

The first roast beef dinners were served luke warm and we sent them back.Everything including the jug of gravy was luke warm and we did wonder why considering the meals were served so quickly after our order was taken.Maybe too quickly. The second roast beef dinners were piping hot and most enjoyable. A pity as someone in the kitchen was not on the ball. Our complaint was very well dealt with by our very good waitress . We had returned as we had enjoyed our previous Sunday Lunch so much. We will return as I think this was just a blip!

  • Visited April 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
3 Thank anna f
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed The Royal Oak also viewed

Knaresborough, Harrogate
 
Knaresborough, Harrogate
Knaresborough, Harrogate
 

Been to The Royal Oak? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing