We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Three stars for three stars”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Innkeeper's Lodge Harrogate East, Knaresborough
Ranked #10 of 15 Knaresborough B&B and Inns
Newcastle
Level Contributor
142 reviews
74 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 153 helpful votes
“Three stars for three stars”
Reviewed March 4, 2011

As one previous reviewer said if you have been to an Innkeepers Lodge before you will know what you will get - and thats exactly what you get at Kestrel - no more no less. Its clean- not posh or plush - comfortabe enough. Well placed for Harrogate and wider afield if you want.

An ideal place as a base to visit the area - but not a the hotel for you if the HOTEL is your holiday.

Actually we got a deal which makes it good value - the £69 per night per room headline price is what the average rating is based upon - but try and get a deal - we paid £20 per night per room including breakfast.

  • Stayed March 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Northumberlandscout
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

106 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    24
    42
    22
    13
    5
See reviews for
28
52
Solo
0
9
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (26)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Yorkshire
Level Contributor
33 reviews
14 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
Reviewed September 25, 2010

This pub used to be lovely - friendly team and a manager that was always welcoming. How can it change so much!! Poorly presented food - looked as though it had been warmed up more than once, so was consequently burnt round the edges - and barely an apology from the manager. Certainly no offer of a reduction for the fact that my daughter and I ate separately as she had to wait for a replacement meal. Only went for a meal so can't commrnt on the rooms.

  • Stayed September 2010, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank YorkshireAnn
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers are raving about these Knaresborough hotels

Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Liverpool
Level Contributor
12 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
Reviewed April 5, 2010

Made an overnight stop here on way to Newcastle area. There was ample parking despite it being a busy lunchtime in the restaurant. We ordered a light lunch which was perfectly adequate, served promptly by delightful staff. Our room was ready on arrival and whilst it was not one with the refurbished bathrooms (apprently some rooms have new wetrooms) it was comfortable and we had a good night's sleep. The complimentary continental breakfast comprised of everything you could want to set you up for the day ahead. I believe there had been a very recent change of management but everything seemed to be running smoothly and bodes well for the future of what could be a goldmine.

  • Stayed April 2010, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank DesireeLiverpool
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Skipton, United Kingdom
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed January 21, 2010

i am here now, in the room at the kestrel. i arrived morning to do a driving course which was held in a meeting room here and was welcomed by a member of staff and guided to the room, a majority of us on the course had lunch here, and in responce to the comment below about not been baby friendly, i witnessed today staff fully willing to heat baby food. the food we ate was nothing special but was not poor atall, just typical pub food. the staff were very friendly & made you feel welcome, and i have to say the place was quite busy & everyone seemed to of enjoyed themselves! i decided to stay the night in the kestrel, the room is adequatly cleen, only found 1 problem and that was empty biscuit wrappers in a drawer! but any housekeepers can forget something once in a while! the room has plenty of space and the decor isnt to bad.
dont be fooled by what was said below, the place isnt bad atall!

  • Stayed January 2010, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank sarahh10
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Yorkshire
Level Contributor
7 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed October 4, 2009

I've been using the Kestrel for many years, but have to report that the food and service have gone down hill recently. Staff are short with customers, the food is either dry, burnt or cold, and today, I had to wait five minutes for the waitress to bring over the condiments whilst my food got colder. The food isn't even cooked onsite - it comes in a van! I can't remember the last time that the Sunday roast was actually still available in the evening. I guess that you get what you pay for as it's not expensive - it's pub grub not restaurant food - more boil in the bag than cordon blur!

  • Stayed October 2009, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank YorkshireSimon
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
York
Level Contributor
282 reviews
43 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 147 helpful votes
Reviewed September 21, 2009

We didn't stay here but called in for a meal one Saturday lunchtime.

The decor is lovely and the place was packed. We ordered our sandwiches and sat down. The waitress brought out the wrong order for my partner but kept insisting that it was one of our meals. She took it back then the man who took the order came over and asked what did we actually order, we told him and he went away promising to send it straight out. The waitress then brought my order back and put it down which was I had to start eating as it would have been cold by the time they brought my partner's order out.

The food was distinctly average and I've had better at my local pub for cheaper.

It's OK if you are desperate but the menu prices are very high for the quality (or should I say lack of) food they serve.

  • Stayed September 2009, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank WitchyYork
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Leeds, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
14 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 26 helpful votes
Reviewed September 2, 2009

Haven't stayed in hotel so no comments on rooms. Closest pub with food to my business so used for business lunches many times previously. Most visitors impressed by countryside location and cosy, olde worlde, atmosphere - low beams etc, but, had to leave last time before food arrived as used up lunch hour waiting. Gave it another chance today with 2 visitors from Taiwan - big mistake!! Why on earth is food service so bad in this place? 45 minutes wait for 3 simple meals in a half empty pub. Plenty of staff wandering around, but kitchen clearly incapable of performing. Won't be using again, unless it's just for drinks.

  • Stayed September 2009, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank steevo2015
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Knaresborough
0.0 mi away
Best Western Dower House Hotel & Spa
0.0 mi away
Innkeeper's Lodge Harrogate-West
0.0 mi away
Best Western Plus Cedar Court Hotel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.0 mi away
Ascot House Hotel Harrogate
0.0 mi away
Goldsborough Hall
Goldsborough Hall
#1 of 15 in Knaresborough
360 reviews
0.0 mi away
Old Royal Oak
Old Royal Oak
#7 of 15 in Knaresborough
156 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Innkeeper's Lodge Harrogate East, Knaresborough? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Innkeeper's Lodge Harrogate East, Knaresborough

Property: Innkeeper's Lodge Harrogate East, Knaresborough
Address: Wetherby Road | Plompton, Knaresborough, Harrogate HG5 8LY, England
Phone Number:
Location: United Kingdom > England > Yorkshire > North Yorkshire > Harrogate > Knaresborough
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant
Hotel Style:
Ranked #10 of 15 B&Bs / Inns in Knaresborough
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3 star — Innkeeper's Lodge Harrogate East, Knaresborough 3*
Number of rooms: 10
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
If you're looking for budget accommodation in Knaresborough or near to Harrogate Conference Centre, this country lodge in nearby Plompton is perfect for both short breaks and business trips.The lodge is well placed for exploring the many charms of picturesque Knaresborough, historic Harrogate and unspoilt cathedral city Ripon. It's also an ideal base-camp for anyone wanting to immerse themselves in the Yorkshire Dales.Along with 10 comfy en-suite rooms, there's a pub serving a tempting menu of hearty, seasonal food together with a range of cask ales and wines. It's so cosy you could end up cancelling the hiking and sightseeing in favour of a day eating and drinking instead.But you wouldn't want to miss Harrogate's tourist treasures. Delve into antique shops, relax at the Turkish Baths, or sip a Darjeeling at Betty's iconic tearooms. Nearer home you can hunt out the cave of infamous Yorkshire witch Mother Shipton or marvel at the 30 acres of intriguing mineral formations at Plompton Rocks. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com and LateRooms so you can book your Innkeeper's Lodge Harrogate East, Knaresborough reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Kestrel Pub Hotel Knaresborough
Innkeeper's Lodge Harrogate East, Knaresborough Yorkshire

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing