We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Good stop-over location”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 1 more site!
Innkeeper's Lodge Harrogate East, Knaresborough
Ranked #13 of 15 Knaresborough B&B and Inns
Bedford
Level Contributor
175 reviews
70 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 45 helpful votes
“Good stop-over location”
Reviewed June 23, 2014

Situated approx. 15 minutes outside Harrogate we arrived late on a Thursday(2115hrs) Restaurant still serving a good choice of food selection. Menu reasonably priced & a great selection of beers. We had a wedding to attend Friday.
Room was sound & as expected for an Inn. Functional , clean & very well priced. (£66.00) two adults + child.
Parking readily available & the staff helpful & pleasant. Would stay here again.
Be aware we had to pay up-front on checking in for the room & paid separately for the meal Mildly annoying , but different business lines.

Room Tip: small amount of rooms so depends on size of party! I would arrive early next time to enjoy the beers...
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2014, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Mark C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Innkeepers_Lodge_01, Public Relations Manager at Innkeeper's Lodge Harrogate East, Knaresborough, responded to this review, June 25, 2014
We are so pleased to hear that you found The Kestrel, Innkeeper's Lodge, Harrogate a good place to stay, and we really appreciate you leaving positive feedback on Trip Advisor. We have replied to you personally as it is our aim to give every customer the very best experience possible.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

105 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    24
    41
    22
    13
    5
See reviews for
28
52
Solo
0
9
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (26)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Warrington, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
23 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
Reviewed June 2, 2014

We arrived 11.15 a.m., on a Sunday, motoring from Warrington. Even though it was before check-in, we were welcomed and offered tea or coffee, until we could move to a room so that we could freshen up and dress for the function. The overall ambiance was of a large, ill-lit, 18th century Inn. O.K. if you like this sort of thing but the very small windows meant a lot of care moving about for a couple of disabled mid 80 year olds. We were informed when booking, that there is no lift to the upstairs bedrooms. However the narrow, steep, staircase was a bit of a hazard. Also the uneven floor levels were a bit scary.
We returned from our function at 10.p.m., went straight upstairs to our room. It was facing the main Wetherby to Harrogate rd., but the double glazing minimised the traffic noise. About midnight when we settled down to sleep, we realised that there was an all-pervading thrumbling noise, just like being in a Boeing 747 at 50,00 ft.!! It was the air condition system that was still on at Midnight.! I rang reception about it and a few minutes later it died.! I would advise visitors to confirm that this is so for them. Negative! It returns at 6.00a.m.!! Jo, the Manageress was more than helpful.I'd forgotten my cuff-links, she lent me a pair,! The full English Breakfast next morning was great, the bacon you could die for. Downside, chunky wide coffee cups, no good for tea. It doesn't cost the earth to provide proper china teacups and saucers.

Room Tip: Front rooms can be noisy. Try for the ones at the rear of the Inn
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2014, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank FrederickJ932
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Innkeepers_Lodge_01, Public Relations Manager at Innkeeper's Lodge Harrogate East, Knaresborough, responded to this review, June 5, 2014
Thank you for your recent review, It was good of you to take the time to leave your feedback following your visit to The Kestrel, Innkeeper's Lodge, Harrogate (East) .
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Nottingham, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
13 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
Reviewed May 29, 2014

This lodge on the Wetherby Road is convenient for touring the surrounding area, whether you wish to explore the stunning Yorkshire dales or visit York and Harrogate.

The rooms themselves are comfortable and spacious and provided everything we needed. A shortage of shampoo and shower gel (apparently due to a delivery hitch) was easily rectified by talking to the manager. Cooked Full English Breakfast on both days of our stay was excellent and very generous. Coffee was refilled and the Continental selection looked good also.

We chose not to eat in the bar for our evening meal, but the menu again looked promising.

My advice to light sleepers would be to invest in some ear-plugs before staying at the hotel. At night (as people returned to their rooms until 3.00am) and early in the morning (from about 5.00am onwards) the floor-boards creaked almost constantly, so much so that at one point I thought someone was in the room with us. I also heard pretty much every word of the couple next door's conversation...

For those who don't mind nocturnal creaks - perhaps old mariners used to sleeping below deck - this wouldn't be a problem, however. And we felt comfortable and looked after during our stay, even if we weren't entirely rested.

  • Stayed April 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Jon D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Innkeepers_Lodge_01, Public Relations Manager at Innkeeper's Lodge Harrogate East, Knaresborough, responded to this review, May 30, 2014
We are so pleased to hear that you found The Kestrel, Innkeeper's Lodge Harrogate (East) a good place to stay, and we really appreciate you leaving positive feedback on Trip Advisor. We have replied to you personally as it is our aim to give every customer the very best experience possible.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bishop Auckland, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
16 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed April 20, 2014

The Lodge was easy to find and sign posted well,our room was fantastic,although I woke up very early the next day to the sound of other people using the bathrooms along the corridor.We had some food not long after arriving there,and it was fantastic,however the only hiccups we had was the "sigh" of the gentleman serving us,after we asked for another plate,which my partner was not impressed at all with,he must have realised it was noticed, as he made every effort after that to make us feel welcome,We were told on arriving breakfast would be served till 10am,after popping down on the morning for extra tea bags my partner was told 9.30am,so we felt a tad rushed. T he sign in the room said there would be toiletries available in the bathroom,and anything extra we just needed to ask,but there was none at all.Apart from that we enjoyed our stay although the staff seemed to be constantly rushed due to it being busy,which is understandable.thanks again for a nice stay!!!!

  • Stayed April 2014, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank bowe74
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Innkeepers_Lodge_01, Public Relations Manager at Innkeeper's Lodge Harrogate East, Knaresborough, responded to this review, April 21, 2014
Thank you for taking the time to review your visit to The Kestrel, Innkeeper's Lodge Harrogate(east) Knaresborough and we were delighted to read that you enjoyed your time with us. On behalf of all the team we look forward to welcoming you back in the near future and we have replied to you personally asking for a little more information.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bradford
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
Reviewed April 8, 2014

My husband and I have just been to the Kestrel for lunch, and will not be returning. A great disappointment. The staff were run off their feet but still managed to be very cheerful, friendly and efficient. I would give them marks of 110% .
Our problem was with the food this time around. My husband asked for his meal to be dairy free...no butter etc. His meal came, poached salmon and peas with mashed potato full of butter. That went back, with apologies, a whole new meal arrived, down to the poached salmon. Excellent. The peas, as we both discovered, were terrible. Shrivelled evil tasting little things.
My beef pie with Merlot had a huge crust over the top, looking very impressive, which when sliced with the knife, disintegrated into a million pieces and then just about disappeared. The huge pieces of beef were tender but had a strange taste...not sure what they were flavoured with (besides the Merlot) but was unpalatable. A small jug of gravy to accompany would have been a good idea. I can eat anything...used to eat all my school dinners without a murmur. The chips, however, were delicious. So was the coffee with which I finished off the meal. Dessert was great, an apple galette, yum...
Pity about the rest of it.

Room Tip: Did not stay there as we are local.
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Janet T
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Innkeepers_Lodge_01, Public Relations Manager at Innkeeper's Lodge Harrogate East, Knaresborough, responded to this review, April 9, 2014
Thank you for taking the time to review your visit to The Kestrel Innkeeper's Lodge Harrogate on our Trip Advisor page. We were disappointed to read that you were not satisfied, and we have replied to you personally about this.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers are raving about these Knaresborough hotels

4.5 of 5 bubbles
Show Prices
5 of 5 bubbles
Show Prices
5 of 5 bubbles
Show Prices
5 of 5 bubbles
Show Prices
4.5 of 5 bubbles
Show Prices
Lancashire
Level Contributor
142 reviews
55 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 72 helpful votes
Reviewed December 4, 2013

Wish now I had got her name as she was lovely and deserves a mention (think she had glasses on, long curly dark hair tied back). We were stuck for somewhere to eat when I remembered the Kestrel. Went along and the four of us had a delightful meal. No grumbles whatsoever apart from the charming waitress doing a super job and getting us all to eat desserts as well.
Will definitely go there again. Delightful room too.

  • Stayed November 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank LancashireLankyLass
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Innkeepers_Lodge_01, Public Relations Manager at Innkeeper's Lodge Harrogate East, Knaresborough, responded to this review, December 7, 2013
Thank you for taking the time to review your visit to Innkeeper's Lodge, Knaresborough, Harrogate and we were delighted to read that you enjoyed your time with us. On behalf of all the team we look forward to welcoming you back in the near future and we have replied to you personally asking for a little more information.
.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Durham, England, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed November 2, 2013

stopped here at 5 to 12 for lunch finally left after after 1.30. As a result we ran out of time to do things at our destination. Service completely shambolic in what is to be fair a busy pub. There just seemed to be no organisation anywhere. Shame because the food is not bad!

  • Stayed October 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Peter B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Innkeepers_Lodge_01, Public Relations Manager at Innkeeper's Lodge Harrogate East, Knaresborough, responded to this review, November 4, 2013
Thank you for taking the time to review your visit to Innkeeper's Lodge Harrogate (east) Knaresborough on our Trip Advisor page. We were disappointed to read that you were not satisfied, and we have replied to you personally about this.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Knaresborough
0.0 mi away
Innkeeper's Lodge Harrogate-West
0.0 mi away
Best Western Dower House Hotel & Spa
0.0 mi away
Rudding Park Hotel
Rudding Park Hotel
#1 of 1 in Follifoot
5.0 of 5 bubbles 4,496 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.0 mi away
The West Park Hotel
The West Park Hotel
#2 of 30 in Harrogate
4.5 of 5 bubbles 579 reviews
0.0 mi away
Best Western Plus Cedar Court Hotel
0.0 mi away
Newton House
Newton House
#4 of 15 in Knaresborough
4.5 of 5 bubbles 467 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Innkeeper's Lodge Harrogate East, Knaresborough? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Innkeeper's Lodge Harrogate East, Knaresborough

Property: Innkeeper's Lodge Harrogate East, Knaresborough
Address: Wetherby Road | Plompton, Knaresborough, Harrogate HG5 8LY, England
Phone Number:
Location: United Kingdom > England > Yorkshire > North Yorkshire > Harrogate > Knaresborough
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant
Hotel Style:
Ranked #13 of 15 B&Bs / Inns in Knaresborough
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3 star — Innkeeper's Lodge Harrogate East, Knaresborough 3*
Number of rooms: 10
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
If you're looking for budget accommodation in Knaresborough or near to Harrogate Conference Centre, this country lodge in nearby Plompton is perfect for both short breaks and business trips.The lodge is well placed for exploring the many charms of picturesque Knaresborough, historic Harrogate and unspoilt cathedral city Ripon. It's also an ideal base-camp for anyone wanting to immerse themselves in the Yorkshire Dales.Along with 10 comfy en-suite rooms, there's a pub serving a tempting menu of hearty, seasonal food together with a range of cask ales and wines. It's so cosy you could end up cancelling the hiking and sightseeing in favour of a day eating and drinking instead.But you wouldn't want to miss Harrogate's tourist treasures. Delve into antique shops, relax at the Turkish Baths, or sip a Darjeeling at Betty's iconic tearooms. Nearer home you can hunt out the cave of infamous Yorkshire witch Mother Shipton or marvel at the 30 acres of intriguing mineral formations at Plompton Rocks. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Priceline, Booking.com and LateRooms so you can book your Innkeeper's Lodge Harrogate East, Knaresborough reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Kestrel Pub Hotel Knaresborough
Innkeeper's Lodge Harrogate East, Knaresborough Yorkshire

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing