We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Read the small print” 3 of 5 bubbles
Review of Innkeeper's Lodge Harrogate East, Knaresborough

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 1 more site!
Innkeeper's Lodge Harrogate East, Knaresborough
Ranked #10 of 17 Knaresborough B&B and Inns
Leeds
Level Contributor
31 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 40 helpful votes
“Read the small print”
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed June 24, 2012

We booked the Kestrel so we could enjoy a weekend in Knaresborough. There is no safe walking route and the bus service is a bus ride into Harrogate then another one to Knaresborough. You either dont drink and use the car or pay between £8 and £10 in a taxi.
They close the bar at eleven so bear this in mind if you fancy a night cap.
We stayed in room 4 which smelled of drains. The room was adequate but on a par with travel lodge and certainly over priced.
The breakfast was continental and not very inspiring.
Would not use again.

Room Tip: Much better locations for the same money
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank MartinDay
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

101 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    24
    39
    22
    11
    5
See reviews for
27
49
Solo
0
9
Rating summary
  • Location
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (24)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Newcastle
Level Contributor
141 reviews
73 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 149 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed April 29, 2012

I should first declare that I have already reviewed this establishment - so in those circumstances read on if you wish.

Rated AVERAGE again - but this time only just- perhaps a little unfair to say that as were no real problems - just a few little things not worthy of complaint - but here they are:
1.Only towels for one person - swiftly corrected when asked
2. Only one glass in bathroom
3. No soap in dispenser (shower gel left in room - perhaps as substitute) - despenser left open on 2nd day but no replenishment - was weekend so hotel may have "run out"
4.No bath mat - corrected on second day.

All the above of little consequence to us - but if competitors can get these small details correct so should The Kestral.

Oh! and like so many of these typeof hotel only one seat in the room. Why oh! why cannot a second seat be provided - not everyone wishes to sit the the public lounge (None in this case - just the pub) all the time.

But yes we would go back - well situated basic accommodation -basic food a little over priced but ok.

  • Stayed April 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Northumberlandscout
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Thornton Cleveleys, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
38 reviews
20 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed March 22, 2012

The Kestrel is well placed for Harrogate and York. It is a Standard Innkeepers lodge in a very old and interesting building. The rooms are all very different but all have beams as a feature. The bed was comfortable and there was a modern freeview TV. The room was clean and well appointed . The one we had had an en suite with a bath tub and shower over. The room was a good size and had a sofa bed (For Family use). It was not over-noisey considering there was a busy pub downstairs. The Continental breakfast was well stocked and had a good veriety. The Pub provided a good choise of well cooked meals and real ale. I use this place regularly and it has never let me down. The staff are very friendly and very helpful and I heartily recommend it.

Room Tip: Family rooms have a tub and shower. Doubles have just a shower.
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Jonboy99
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
sunderland
Level Contributor
118 reviews
29 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 63 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed January 23, 2012

We've just returned from our second visit. This time the room was cleaner but only half the size. Both times due to the age of the property we've found it almost impossibe to sleep due to the constant creaking of floorboards and thin walls. We ate in the pub for both lunch and dinner due to the poor weather and found all meals to be very enjoyable and the staff were pleasant. Maybe we had the two worst rooms in the place but for this reason I would probably not stay again although I would return to the pub if passing.

Room Tip: Room 4 is small at the start of the corridor so you get noise from everyone passing. Room 7 is slig...
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank hayley1980
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Essex
Level Contributor
26 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 20 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed November 7, 2011

We stayed here on a whim because of heavy rain. Our room was cold when we arrived and to be honest it could have done with a refurb - decor was a bit tired. Dinner was nice though and service was friendly.

  • Stayed September 2011
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank lovelyladyEssex
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Abergavenny, United Kingdom
2 reviews
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 24, 2011

Have stayed there many times before, but not for last four years. Did not have any food but the rooms were still of a high standard, but what a pity the Sky TV with sport has now gone. Also no pen, writing paper or booklet showing other Inkeeper Lodges (there always used to be, and I ended up at another chain hotel the following night as a result, when I would have preffered to stay at another Innkeepers).
Staff very helpful

  • Stayed September 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank ieuan j
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
northants, england
Level Contributor
37 reviews
16 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 24 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 27, 2011

We stayed here at the end of 2009 (sorry I've not added a review before!) As a family of 5, we had a triple room & a twin and found it to be good value, clean & in an excellent location for visiting York, Harrogate (which we love) and to go into the dales, to grassington, slipton etc. Breakfast was exactly what you expect from any hotel /b&b nowadays, nothing to complain about, plenty for the kids. Evening meals were good pub food. If you want a top restaurant meal, you're in the wrong place, but we found it to be good value, delicious, pub grub - again plenty for the kids to chose, and if they are well fed & happy........that'll do for me!!
A great experience, we hope to go back one day - thank you

  • Stayed August 2010
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank clairej0
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Knaresborough
6.7 mi away
Innkeeper's Lodge Harrogate-West
2.0 mi away
BEST WESTERN Dower House Hotel & Spa
2.7 mi away
Rudding Park Hotel
Rudding Park Hotel
#1 of 1 in Follifoot
5.0 of 5 bubbles 4,395 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
4.3 mi away
Ascot House Hotel Harrogate
4.3 mi away
The West Park Hotel
The West Park Hotel
#2 of 31 in Harrogate
4.5 of 5 bubbles 551 reviews
1.7 mi away
Kirkgate House
Kirkgate House
#3 of 17 in Knaresborough
5.0 of 5 bubbles 115 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Innkeeper's Lodge Harrogate East, Knaresborough? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Innkeeper's Lodge Harrogate East, Knaresborough

Property: Innkeeper's Lodge Harrogate East, Knaresborough
Address: Wetherby Road | Plompton, Knaresborough, Harrogate HG5 8LY, England
Phone Number:
Location: United Kingdom > England > Yorkshire > North Yorkshire > Harrogate > Knaresborough
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant
Hotel Style:
Ranked #10 of 17 B&Bs / Inns in Knaresborough
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3 star — Innkeeper's Lodge Harrogate East, Knaresborough 3*
Number of rooms: 10
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
If you're looking for budget accommodation in Knaresborough or near to Harrogate Conference Centre, this country lodge in nearby Plompton is perfect for both short breaks and business trips.The lodge is well placed for exploring the many charms of picturesque Knaresborough, historic Harrogate and unspoilt cathedral city Ripon. It's also an ideal base-camp for anyone wanting to immerse themselves in the Yorkshire Dales.Along with 10 comfy en-suite rooms, there's a pub serving a tempting menu of hearty, seasonal food together with a range of cask ales and wines. It's so cosy you could end up cancelling the hiking and sightseeing in favour of a day eating and drinking instead.But you wouldn't want to miss Harrogate's tourist treasures. Delve into antique shops, relax at the Turkish Baths, or sip a Darjeeling at Betty's iconic tearooms. Nearer home you can hunt out the cave of infamous Yorkshire witch Mother Shipton or marvel at the 30 acres of intriguing mineral formations at Plompton Rocks. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Priceline, LateRooms and Booking.com so you can book your Innkeeper's Lodge Harrogate East, Knaresborough reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Kestrel Pub Hotel Knaresborough
Innkeeper's Lodge Harrogate East, Knaresborough Yorkshire

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing