We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“great meal”
Review of Old Royal Oak

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 3 more sites!
Old Royal Oak
Ranked #11 of 15 Knaresborough B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed May 17, 2014

Called into Knaresborough on the way home from York and we found this pub for a meal. As it was quite late and all food is freshly made some of the menu wasnt available. My wife wanted the fish pie but having got over the disapointment she had the brocoli bake with the extra on the side. I had sausage and mash. The food was fresh hot and fantastic. All the staff couldn't do anymore for us. Would recommend to all. All I say is be prepared to go early to avoid disappointment. Would deffo go back.... 10 out of 10.

  • Stayed: May 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Service
Thank nelpop2001
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a ReviewReviews (160)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

69 - 75 of 160 reviews

Reviewed April 18, 2014

I wanted somewhere to meet up with 8 other people prior to a few days away with the group. This pub is absolutely central to Knaresborough and was perfect with car parks behind. We had a fantastic lunch and the lady (sorry forget her name) was just brilliant coping with a 10 mad pensioners. She even gave us tourist information to go and see the view of the viaduct and we returned a couple of day later to do just that and the super market. Really delightful place and great food!

  • Stayed: April 2014, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Service
Thank suzya190761
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed April 16, 2014 via mobile

This is a fantastic pub with a very local feel. Well kept hand pulled real ale and very nice food at a good price.

I stayed here for two nights in the detached accommodation at the rear of the pubs courtyard. I stayed on the first floor and was really impressed with the quality of the room. The high exposed roof beams give the room a extra feel of space. Nice modern ensuite bathroom with good sized shower. I have to admit that the bed was very comfortable and had two great nights sleep.

Breakfasts aren't served till 08:30 which could pose a problem for people requiring an early start. However we were offered the choice to swap the breakfast for evening meal if required 'how's that for service'. On this occasion we opted for breakfast and decided on the evening meal as well. Good choice as both were very nice. The people who own/run the Old Royal Oak are very friendly and really helpful. All the staff we spoke to, were equally pleasant and helpful.

With parking for residents to the rear, this definitely put a extra tick in the box for a return visit. Not to mention that your ideally located in the centre of Knaresborough.

  • Stayed: April 2014
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Lebeouf
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed April 4, 2014

Great staff! Great food. Something on every night. Complete hidden gem. Mark is great - really helpful and a great singer! Also such a lovely village. The castle and bridge is worth the visit alone :-)

  • Stayed: April 2014
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Niamhmarie
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed April 4, 2014

We went for a day out in Knaresborough and randomly selected this pub as a good place for lunch. We were happy to see that there were 3 different real ales on tap including Timothy Taylor's Landlord and Theakston's XB. Really good food - 3 varieties of homemade sausages made on the premises (as are the burgers) with Yorkshire puddings. Lovely, friendly staff and a comfortable atmosphere.

  • Stayed: April 2014, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank mat2maa
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed February 18, 2014 via mobile

Me and my girlfriend stayed here for valentines day and it was wonderful. The hotel staff where very friendly and the room was very welcoming and very clean. The full English breakfast was to die for too. I would recommend this hotel to anyone wanting a warm friendly place to stay while in such a lovely place. Very nice hotel. :)

Stayed: February 2014
1  Thank Brandi13666
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Mark L, Owner at Old Royal Oak, responded to this reviewResponded March 16, 2014

Thank you for the Review, I have past on your kind comments to all our staff. We look forward to seeing you again in the near future.
Mark

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed February 15, 2014

On returning late evening we generally had drinks in the bar and found the atmosphere inviting and friendly. Good food and comfortable accommodation. Ideal location / base to visit local area and attractions. We will definitely stay at the Old Royal Oak again.

  • Stayed: October 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with this hotel
Thank PAULAALANROGERS
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Mark L, Manager at Old Royal Oak, responded to this reviewResponded March 16, 2014

Hi Paula & Alan,
Thank you for taking time to leave a review on here. It is much appreciated.

Hope to see you again.

Mark, Jean & The Royal Oak Team

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Knaresborough
0.4 mi away
Best Western Dower House Hotel & Spa
3.1 mi away
Crowne Plaza Harrogate
Crowne Plaza Harrogate
#6 of 28 in Harrogate
322 reviews
3.1 mi away
Kimberley Hotel
Kimberley Hotel
#7 of 28 in Harrogate
1,783 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
2.8 mi away
Cedar Court Hotel
Cedar Court Hotel
#12 of 28 in Harrogate
2,364 reviews
3.4 mi away
The Crown Hotel
The Crown Hotel
#14 of 28 in Harrogate
1,378 reviews
0.2 mi away
Teardrop Cottage
Teardrop Cottage
#2 of 15 in Knaresborough
324 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Old Royal Oak? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Old Royal Oak

Address: 7 Market Place, Knaresborough HG5 8AL, England
Location: United Kingdom > England > Yorkshire > North Yorkshire > Knaresborough
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly )
Hotel Style:
Ranked #11 of 15 B&Bs / Inns in Knaresborough
Price Range: $115 - $137 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — Old Royal Oak 3*
Number of rooms: 6
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Traditional Olde-Worlde public House situated in the heart of the Market Square of Knaresborough. We have 6 en-suite rooms which are seperate from the pub itself. Each room has parking just feet away. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Travelocity, Expedia, Hotels.com, Orbitz and getaroom.com so you can book your Old Royal Oak reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Old Royal Oak Hotel Knaresborough
Old Royal Oak Knaresborough, Yorkshire

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing