We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Old Royal Oak
Show Prices
Like saving money? We search up to 200 sites for the lowest prices
Nearby Hotels
View Hotel
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Rudding Park Hotel(Follifoot)
View Hotel
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
View Hotel
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
View Hotel
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Ascot House Hotel Harrogate(Harrogate)
View Hotel
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
View Hotel
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Kimberley Hotel(Harrogate)
View Hotel
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Restaurant
View Hotel
Certificate of Excellence
  • Breakfast included
  • Restaurant
View Hotel
Certificate of Excellence
  • Restaurant
  • Bar/Lounge
View Hotel
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Restaurant
Reviews (161)
Filter reviews
161 results
Traveler rating
95
46
9
3
8
Traveler type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
95
46
9
3
8
Show reviews that mention
All reviewsthe pubstable blockmarket squareb blarge towelscar parkfull englishgreat yorkshiretwo night staylovely ensuiteroom numberexcellent staysunday lunchtea and coffeeshower roomgood nights sleepstayed for two nights
FilterAll languages
Updating list...
88 - 93 of 161 reviews
Reviewed August 14, 2013

on our way home from Belgium we stopped off at the market town of Knaresborough.
where we stayed at the old royal oak which is a traditional pub with detatched accommodation and parking, the rooms are comfy and spacious with double glazed windows so there is noise
from the busy bar which serves a good range of real ale and very good food.

  • Stayed: August 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank benjamin r
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 13, 2013

Nice old inn situated in a perfect position on the Market Square. All staff are friendly and helpful. In particular, Landlord Mark makes you feel at home and is very sociable.

Rooms are situated in a courtyard to the rear of the inn and there is limited parking (but a tight squeeze) for your car. Our room was bright, spacious, well equipped and clean.

Food was good and nicely cooked. If you happen to be there during Wednesday night’s quiz night, the staff hands around plates of delicious sandwiches, free of charge, which was a nice and very welcome touch.

Can’t think of a better or more hospitable place to stay in this beautiful old town.

  • Stayed: July 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank trev2906
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 9, 2013

We have recently stayed at the Old Royal Oak for the third time and as always our stay was perfect. Top class accommodation and very friendly pub. Breakfast was lovely too. Would highly recommend a stay here!

  • Stayed: August 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank JulieM18
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 6, 2013

My Partner, her son and girlfriend enjoyed a very pleasent weekend from 2nd to 4th August. Our hosts and local people frequenting the Pub were very welcoming. Yes, Kareokie (Spelling!!) for both nights, but if you can't beat them join them. Friday eve was a fantastic atmosphere full of happy relaxed people enjoying themselves. When we had had enough (alchohol as well!!) we retired to bed in lovely large rooms nicely decorated and very clean. Even better, you couldn't hear the noise from the pub.

Breakfast both days was well prepared and plentiful served with a friendly smile and a chat.
All in all we enjoyed a fantastic two nights at the Inn. Thank you to all the staff

Knaresborough is an interesting town and if you want another nice place to eat, can I recommend both ;Carriages' and 'Su' Excellent food at reasonable priceses.

  • Stayed: August 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank DBCLRushden
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 31, 2013

me and my boyfriend came to Knaresborough for a night away for his birthday in april, dont know why its taken me so long to write this but we had a lovely time, the staff at the old royal oak were very welcoming, very friendly and very helpful! the rooms were so cute with the wooden beams and very clean and had everything you could need, the breakfast in the morning was just what we needed to sort out are hangovers before we went on a walk suggested by the owner.
would defiantly stay here again.

  • Stayed: April 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Kerry N
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
View more reviews