We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“could be a good pub/inn, but let down by terrible management”
Review of The Mitre Inn

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
The Mitre Inn
Ranked #6 of 15 Knaresborough B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed November 23, 2009

We had an awful experience at the The Mitre unfortunately, one that pretty much put a dampener on our weekend (which was a big family celebration for my niece's christening.
The positives - good beer and comfortable, well equipped rooms - so a lot of potential for a great pub inn.
The negatives - a manageress Diane who acted like a stroppy teenager, was incredibly rude to us from the off, and essentially told us if we had a complaint with how we were spoken to / treated, we could just not come back - as she can fill the pub / rooms every weekend. This by the way, is despite the fact our part spent about £350 in the brasserie on Saturday night, plus lots of money on drinks at the bar over the weekend, and took 3 of their 4 rooms for both Saturday and Sunday night.
Also - if you come down at 8.55am when breakfast is served 8-9am, you will be told breakfast is finished (even if you are the only guests staying), then when you protest, be met with a filthy look and a cold fry up.
I wouldn't recomment staying here - you'll get a much warmer welcome elsewhere in beautiful Knaresborough.

  • Stayed: November 2009, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank auntierach
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Mr_F_Knaresborough, Owner at The Mitre Inn, responded to this reviewResponded May 6, 2010

Diane the manageress is no longer with the Mitre since January 2010.
Our new manager, James, together with his Assistant Manager Martyn and Supervisor Chris, are all very polite and helpful young gents.
We are confident that all our guests will find the service standards at the Mitre to be customer focussed and friendly.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a ReviewReviews (161)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

154 - 160 of 161 reviews

Reviewed September 17, 2009

We stayed 4nts at The Mitre & were very impressed. Stylish rooms with modern colours, great bathroom & toiletries. Tea/coffee facilities in room along with biscuits & complimentary bottled water.
Big tasty breakfast every morning cooked by Diane. We enjoyed being next to Knaresborough's fine old train station, at least it made us not oversleep!! Just a walk down the steep cobbled bank took you to the lovely River Nidd.
Parking isn't perfect, but in truth it didn't affect us. One day we left the car & took the train to York, 9.20GBP return for 2 was great value, as it'd cost about that to park in York I guess.
Can't wait to return soon!

  • Stayed: July 2009, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank ningaloo25
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 21, 2009

Just been for a weekend to Knaresborough and stayed at the Mitre which is ideally situated for getting around. First impressions excellent. Everywhere was immaculately clean and the staff very helpful and friendly. Room was spotless and very comfortable lots of hot water for loverly large bath. Parking can be a bit of a pain but the landlady (Diane I think) said we could park behind her car if we left our car keys so she could move it if necessary. Atmosphere in the bar was just like pubs used to be and the food in the restaurant very good. Best breakfast we've had in years, cooked as it was ordered in an open kitchen piping hot and fresh. The mitre is just across from the station so the noise from the early morning trains could bother some people but we slept fine (the real ales on sale in the pub might have something to do that). Will return to the Mitre without a doubt.

  • Stayed: August 2009, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Sammytrout
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 17, 2009

There aren't too many places to stay in Knaresborough! We were visiting for a friend's 65th birthday in a nearby village and booked a Saturday night for £75 (double B&B). The Mitre is a fairly upmarket "gastropub" type of place.
The rooms (only 4 or 5 I think) are recently modernised and very well finished and comfortable. The pub itself is really good, especially if you enjoy cask beers - there were several to try, all well kept. The staff were very friendly and the service was excellent.
The breakfast was really nice and freshly cooked to order by the chef. We didn't use the restaurant for any other meals, but the menu looked really good. The only downside to the Mitre is the lack of car parking spaces. If you arrive by train, this is no problem because the Mitre is only a few yards from Knaresborough station. We stayed for a Saturday night and it was possible to use the parking spaces at the garage next to the hotel, but I imagine that this is more difficult midweek.
Overall we were very pleased with the Mitre and will stay there again without hesitation - arriving by train in all probability.

  • Stayed: August 2009, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Hurley2rise
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 22, 2009

Very clean and spacious room and huge bathroom with good selection of products. Very good tea/coffe making facilities and comfy bed. Good breakfast though toast needs a bit of work ! However only 20 feet from the station so a certain amount of train noise but trains stopped about 10pm ish. Main problem with this hotel is lack of parking and extreme lack of help with parking from manageress. Only about 4 disc parking spaces at the top of the road (2 hours max) the rest is station parking or taken up by the car servicing garage next door. Manageress was extremely unhelpful about telling us where we could park and one guest got a £50 fine for parking in a disabled space (using his disc) because it was station parking and not public parking!! Strange chemical smell in the bathroom which didn't go away even with the window open and a loud sound like a radiator needed bleeding kept me awake for hours and miraculously stopped on the dot of 7.30am.

  • Stayed: June 2009, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank sheepdip
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed May 26, 2009

We knew we were on to a good thing when we arrived, already late for the wedding we were on our way to, and the staff couldn't have been more helpful. They managed to secure us a parking space, which is near miraculous in Knaresborough. We should really have come by train, as the Mitre is directly outside Knaresborough train station - but having said that, we didn't notice any noise once inside our immaculately done out room.

Everything in the room was spot on. The decor was modern, without skimping on any of the home comforts. Tea-making facilities and flat-screen tv made us feel very comfortable.

The en-suite was great, a great big bath, with a shower - nicely done out in stone and wood.

After a great nights sleep, we were treated to a fantastic breakfast in the brasserie downstairs.

Keep up the good work Mitre - we'll be coming back!

  • Stayed: May 2009, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank ToyChicken
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 10, 2008

Very clean, well decorated and comfortable. The staff were friendly and very helpful. Great bathroom although I only had a shower in mine. Bed good, nice cotton sheets etc, lovely soft towels:-) Flat screen TV, radio. The breakfast was very good. I also had dinner one evening, again the food was very good with a varied modern menu.
The only downside is the parking but I know they are trying to sort this out but hey if you travel by train you are dropped outside the Mitre! It isn't noisy either. For beer lovers I understand it's heaven. The Mitre is situated close to the river which is beautiful.

  • Stayed: August 2008, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank tania2006
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Knaresborough hotels
0.2 mi away
Best Western Dower House Hotel & Spa
0 mi away
Teardrop Cottage
Teardrop Cottage
#2 of 15 in Knaresborough
324 reviews
0.3 mi away
Newton House
Newton House
#4 of 15 in Knaresborough
491 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.2 mi away
Old Royal Oak
Old Royal Oak
#11 of 15 in Knaresborough
161 reviews
2.3 mi away
Goldsborough Hall
Goldsborough Hall
#1 of 15 in Knaresborough
423 reviews
0.1 mi away
Kirkgate House
Kirkgate House
#3 of 15 in Knaresborough
135 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Mitre Inn? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Mitre Inn

Address: 4 Station Road, Knaresborough HG5 9AA, England
Location: United Kingdom > England > Yorkshire > North Yorkshire > Knaresborough
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant
Hotel Style:
Ranked #6 of 15 B&Bs / Inns in Knaresborough
Price Range: $100 - $140 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Number of rooms: 4
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
As Knaresborough's premier pub, food and accommodation experience, The Mitre has four superbly appointed en-suite rooms available on a bed and breakfast basis. All have been furnished and equipped to the highest possible standard ensuring the most relaxing break possible! ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com and Priceline so you can book your The Mitre Inn reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
The Mitre Inn Knaresborough, Yorkshire

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing