We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“So quiet and peaceful.”
Review of Goldsborough Hall

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 4 more sites!
Goldsborough Hall
Ranked #1 of 15 Knaresborough B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
Thornton Cleveleys, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
67 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 43 helpful votes
“So quiet and peaceful.”
Reviewed May 11, 2014

We visited again for the second time in 2 years. It was a wonderful place to stay, so quiet and peaceful with lovely grounds to walk around. We stayed in the Hanson suite this time and were very impressed, The bed was so BIG and COMFY we loved it. The spa bath was relaxing, bit of a squeeze for two but still it was great. Big tv with a dvd player which we knew so we took a dvd and a bottle of wine for us to chill and forget about real life. Breakfast was good....hot food with lots of choices.
Great place to stay for a night away.

Room Tip: Book direct on the website or ring up. Cheaper than booking.com or laterooms :)
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank LND88
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

360 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    323
    22
    9
    4
    2
See reviews for
43
246
2
14
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (111)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • German first
  • Any
English first
Newcastle, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
11 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
Reviewed May 6, 2014 via mobile

The perfect venue for a relaxing romantic break. Friendly efficient staff, making you feel welcome and at ease. Nothing was too much trouble and the food was delicious, high quality and excellent choice.

Stayed May 2014, traveled as a couple
Helpful?
1 Thank RichardandWendy2013
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Leeds, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
30 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 24 helpful votes
Reviewed April 22, 2014 via mobile

We visited this beautiful Hall to celebrate our sisters birthday. The staff were really pleasant and attentive, and did their utmost to make sure everything was perfect.
Our afternoon tea was a real treat, with more than enough for 3 people. Assorted sandwiches, fresh scones and fresh cream cakes.
All washed down with a choice of teas or coffee and, a glass of champagne. The Library was comfortable, and whilst we were asked if we wanted the fire to be lit, we found it warm enough.
We were given some history of the House by the Owner and we had a walk around very well kept gardens.
We had a really lovely afternoon and look forward to returning again.

Stayed April 2014
Helpful?
1 Thank Billiebubs
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Pontefract, United Kingdom
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed April 9, 2014 via mobile

We booked our wedding yesterday at Goldsborough Hall for September 2016 and couldn't be happier! The venue is absolutely beautiful and has such a lovely, warm and cosy feel to it inside. The grounds are stunning and the bedrooms are out of this world! We knew this venue was the one as soon as we saw it and what makes it even more perfect is the church where we will be getting married is right next door!
It was Ally who showed us round yesterday - she is so lovely and made us feel so comfortable and that nothing was too much trouble. She is an asset to Goldsborough Hall and made me and my fiance feel completely at ease.
I would highly recommend this venue to anyone who is looking to book their wedding as you simply couldn't ask for anything more. This really is the perfect venue.
We can't wait to have our wedding here and are counting down the days!
Jordana Stringer & Mark Edwards x

Stayed April 2014, traveled as a couple
Helpful?
1 Thank Stringer-Edwards
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Thornaby on Tees, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
145 reviews
37 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 51 helpful votes
Reviewed April 6, 2014

Found it a bit difficult to write this review as there wasn't really anything wrong with the place but it just lacked a bit of attention to detail. The room was lovely, an amazing 8ft four poster, beautiful bath and shower, lots of space, 50" plasma tv but the desk was a bit shabby with the leather top all marked and the cupboard on which the sinks were in the bathroom looked old and water stained, just small things but for the price I'd expect everything pristine. Home baked biscuits, fruit, fresh coffee, everything replenished on the night whilst we had dinner and our beds turned down, that was the attention to detail . Dinner was lovely and service was good if a bit slow with only 5 tables to deal with and what really got on my nerves was the background music. At first it was lovely until I realised it was the same three or four tracks on repeat at which point it drove me mad and got in my head even more the next morning when it was the same at breakfast. The other issue was the flies, there was lots of them dead on the window ledges - not sure where they all came from but wouldn't have expected to see them when our room was 'ready' for occupancy. Whoever turned down the bed etc on the night must have noticed them on closing the curtains and cleared them up. Unusual time of year to see so many flies in March! But overall nice staff and good food and lovely location.

  • Stayed March 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank ChrisKH63
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Keighley, United Kingdom
1 review
Reviewed April 6, 2014

Me and my partner stayed here for my 30th birthday, we stayed in the emperor suite, the bed was huge! The bath was huge! Very clean, staff were amazingly helpful, the grounds that it's set in are breathtaking, it is pricey, but if you are celebrating a special occasion then go all out and stay somewhere like this, will definitely be staying again, once again, thank you for the pleasant stay, Kirsty.

  • Stayed April 2014
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Kirstymr30
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hull - UK
Level Contributor
35 reviews
23 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 112 helpful votes
Reviewed February 6, 2014

We spent our 27th Anniversary at the Hall after booking it pretty well last minute. It isn't a cheap option, but we got a bit of a deal and once there realised that it was worth every penny.

It's more of a B&B than a hotel. It has only 6 or 7 suites and the owner and his family live in the building. You don't have to sign for anything and there is a minimum of staff who seem to work very hard.

The renovated sections of the building are magnificent with lots of original features combined with more recent, but compatible items. We had drinks and a light meal in the library on the 1st night and chatted briefly to the owner and got some of the halls history, which was very interesting. Our suite (the Hutton) was huge !!. 8ft wide 4 poster, 50in plasma screen, remote controlled monsoon shower and a 4 person Jacuzzi bath

Breakfast was very good and we ordered the 7 course tasting gourmet dinner on the second night. Whilst nothing was bad, it wasn't really of the quality or imagination that I had hoped for.

If you do dine in, do be prepared for the fact that you might be the only ones there. Having said that, the setting is so nice and intimate, it probably doesn't matter.

This is a beautiful building and the family should be very proud of the work they have done. They are friendly without being intrusive and I would not hesitate on returning on another special occasion.

  • Stayed January 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank TheBritsHull_UK
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Knaresborough
3.6 mi away
Rudding Park Hotel
Rudding Park Hotel
#1 of 1 in Follifoot
4,531 reviews
2.4 mi away
Best Western Dower House Hotel & Spa
4.6 mi away
Best Western Plus Cedar Court Hotel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
5.1 mi away
The West Park Hotel
The West Park Hotel
#2 of 30 in Harrogate
587 reviews
5.1 mi away
Crowne Plaza Harrogate
Crowne Plaza Harrogate
#11 of 30 in Harrogate
106 reviews
5.0 mi away
Ascot House Hotel Harrogate
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Goldsborough Hall? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Goldsborough Hall

Property: Goldsborough Hall
Address: Church Street, Knaresborough, Harrogate HG5 8NR, England
Location: United Kingdom > England > Yorkshire > North Yorkshire > Harrogate > Knaresborough
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 15 B&Bs / Inns in Knaresborough
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:5 star — Goldsborough Hall 5*
Number of rooms: 12
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Goldsborough Hall is a beautifully restored, privately owned stately home tucked away in the small village of Goldsborough, just off the A59 between Harrogate and the A1M. The 400yr old hall has had many residents through the years, being built for the high sheriff of Yorkshire, the last resting place of the eldest founding father to all thoroughbred horses and most famously the first family home of HRH Princess Mary, the aunt of our current Queen. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Agoda, Hotel.de, Priceline, LateRooms and HRS so you can book your Goldsborough Hall reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Goldsborough Hall Hotel Harrogate
Goldsborough Hall Knaresborough, Yorkshire

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing