We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Disappointing”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Judges Country House Hotel
Ranked #1 of 1 Hotels in Kirklevington
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed September 1, 2009

We recently visited the hotel for a wedding reception (all day) and I have to say how disappointed we were. We have visited the hotel on several occasions in the past (this was our first wedding here though) and we've always had only good things to say, however we really saw a different side to the hotel this time.

The wedding breakfast was utterly disappointing. Not at all Judges standard food. The meal was very bland and poor quality. We have eaten at Judges before and the food is normally exceptional. I just can never understand why a place would not want to put their best foot forward when catering a wedding. All those people who have never eaten a proper meal at the hotel have now gone away thinking that it ain't so great. Such a shame.

The wine with dinner was absolutely disgusting. We had to buy a separate glass of lemonade just to make it palatable. I had the white and my husband had the red and both were equally poor. Very cheap and nasty. What made it worse was that they were charging £4.50 for a glass in the evening!

We had higher hopes for the evening barbecue, but this was equally poor. The burgers were dry and tasteless, the kofta kebab was the same, the salads/pastas were uninspiring and the chicken was substandard. The sausages were nice, but this didn't compensate for the rest of the food being so poor. For what they paid for this food, I would've expected a lot better quality.

We stayed at the hotel, paying £160 for the night. Our room was small, dingy and the bed was appallingly uncomfortable. It was like they hadn't bothered with a mattress and had just wrapped a lump of wood in a few old duvets. Terrible! For the price we paid (and note that this was the reduced wedding rate!) we expected a lot more. On the plus side, the room was clean and it did have some character but it still did not live up to the price tag. We have stayed at the hotel before, in a superior room, and we would definitely advise paying the extra for this. We wanted a superior room for our stay this time, but they wouldn't guarantee us one for a wedding booking. Very odd. Don't really know why. Guess they didn't want to see them at a reduced rate when they could extort some other poor unsuspecting guest...

We had breakfast in the morning and this was only ok. We were in the conservatory, which is stunning. There were a lot of options on the menu, but after a few drinks the night before we just wanted a good old full English. The breakfast was nice, but nothing out of the ordinary.

The wedding celebration itself was really nice. The bride and groom had a lovely day and the grounds of the hotel make a lovely back drop for the wedding photographs. I do think it's a real shame that only small weddings can take place in the main house, as the courtyard suite just isn't the same.

The staff on the whole were good. They didn't seem particularly well trained, but they were friendly which is the main thing.

I feel really disappointed in having to write a poor review. Perhaps my expectations were too high having had better experiences here in the past. I certainly wouldn't recommend this place for a couple looking to get married here. My past experiences of the food in the restaurant have all been very good, so I'd recommend it to someone looking for a special meal. It is very expensive, but a nice place for a treat.

Overall, I feel that the hotel is incredibly overpriced and as a guest at this wedding I felt quite let down unfortunately.

  • Stayed: July 2009, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
4  Thank ilikeflowers_9
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
tma12001, Manager at Judges Country House Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded September 2, 2009

This is the first negative feedback I have received about our wedding food since I started at Judges nearly six years ago I would refer the reader to the previous review.

All feedback is welcome but given the guest’s previous experience of Judges it disappointing that no comment was made on check out. Our relationship with our guests is extremely important to us and had these points been raised with us directly I would have been more than happy to explain the following:-

Our restaurant is one of the highest rated restaurants in the country. Our Courtyard suite is a banqueting facility, which caters for up to 200 guests. It is not a restaurant.

It is unreasonable (and impractical) to expect food, which is created for restaurant diners to be served also to large numbers of guests, who are attending a function.

Wine is always a personal choice and we have used this wine all through the summer without any negative comment. Alternative wines are always available.

For extra comfort our bedrooms have luxury feather “toppers” on top of our normal mattresses. I am sorry that this guest did not understand or like this added facility.

All wedding guests have the option on booking of upgrading to larger, deluxe rooms for a £20 supplement.

Tim Howard MIH
General Manager

02/09/09

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (577)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

562 - 568 of 577 reviews

Reviewed August 7, 2009

We got married at Judges (August 2009) and thought the venue was first class. The rooms were well equipped and spotless, the grounds were absolutely gorgeous and the food was excellent. The staff were superb; they were kind, competent, friendly, helpful and really went the extra mile to ensure our every need was met. Everything was perfect - we can't recommend this hotel highly enough, especially if you're looking for an outstanding venue for your wedding.

  • Stayed: August 2009, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank gembrown
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
tma12001, Manager at Judges Country House Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded June 29, 2010

Thank you very much for your kind words. We very much look forward to welcoming you back to Judges in the near future. Kind regards, Tim Howard, Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 21, 2009

Judges Hotel is one the best hotels I have stayed in all my life. All the staff were very kind and very helpful, the grounds were truly breathtaking. Though it was a bit more expensive than other hotels I normally stay in it was worth it for the quality of the staff and the building. The restaurant alone should put this hotel high on anybody's list of the best hotels in Britain, with the extremely tasty food and the excellent presentation of it.
Truly a wonderful hotel.

  • Stayed: July 2009, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank LouisQU
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
tma12001, Manager at Judges Country House Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded June 29, 2010

Thank you very much for your very kind words. I hope that we will have the opportunity of welcoming you back to Judges in the not too distant future. Kind regards, Tim Howard, Manager.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 2, 2009

Stayed there for a treat. Found the room to be very smelly and very small. The furnishing within the room meant it was like stepping back in time. I would not recommend this to anyone. Stay at Gisborough Hall it shows this place up for what it is RUBBISH

  • Stayed: May 2009, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
4  Thank wooleyback
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
tma12001, Manager at Judges Country House Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded July 21, 2009

Any negative feedback is logged and investigated. One wonders why this reviewer did not raise these points with us directly and if they actually stayed with us at all.

With all that's written about suspect on-line reviews these days it does make you wonder whether it was someone trying to promote the hotel mentioned who wrote the review..........

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed May 6, 2009

Oct 2008 - Stayed over on a Sunday (2 night min for Saturday night, we were informed), the house is stunning, very impressive to behold on arrival. There where plenty of people in at the restaurant when we arrived, but the friendly reception staff checked us in quickly. Small decanter of sherry in the room was a nice touch, as where the chocolates! Room was close to the main entrance (ground floor), and in keeping with the country house feel. Room was large, with lovely period features, view across the grounds at the rear, big comfy old bed, a goldfish (honest). It did have a slight “upper class parents spare bedroom” feel, a touch dated maybe, a touch twee, some may feel in keeping with the setting. Also small and past its prime en suite that was adequate but far from luxury. Being a converted country house this could all be expected, and we tend not to spend too much time in the room!
We had booked a meal in the restaurant; this was the main purpose of our visit. We had pre-dinner cocktails and amuse in the lounge (again full of country house charm). The sommelier was fantastic, very knowledgeable, and guided us through the extensive wine list. We we’re shown to our seats, in the conservatory, looking out on to the grounds. We we’re the only ones there for about 20 minutes! The view was stunning, rabbits hopping across the well manicured lawns and trees all nicely lit. The menu was short but well thought out. The food was amazing, some of the best I’ve ever had. I really can’t do it justice here. The appetiser, first, intermezzo, main, desert, petit four were all stunning. Waiting staff were very knowledgeable about the dishes. After coffee I read the papers next to the fire in the lounge with a few sneaky GnT’s, very relaxing!
Breakfast was a decent enough Full English, again in the conservatory.
The only reason I’ve given 4 stars and not 5 is the price of the room. We paid over £200 for ours and, having stayed in similar priced hotels, I felt it was too much for what you got. That said the meal alone would temp me back in a shot, the over all experience is well worth it, and if I could get a late room or extend my overdraft I’d be there now!

  • Stayed: October 2008, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Simon D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
tma12001, Manager at Judges Country House Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded June 30, 2010

Thank you very much for your kind words and for taking the time to share your thoughts. We all look forward to welcoming you back to Judges in the near future. Kind regards. Tim Howard, Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed December 23, 2008

Stayed at this hotel in July 2008 to celebrate our first wedding anniversary. From the moment we arrived we were treated with first class service. ALL the staff were very helpful and friendly. The room itself was exceptionally clean, cosy and welcoming. We got a room to the front of the hotel which had great views and the 4 poster bed was very comfy.

As it was a gorgeous hot sunny day we were able to sit outside on the patio during the afternoon and enjoy the hot sun while being waited on by the attentive bar staff. It was nice to be served with crystal cut glasses, as opposed to standard wine glasses.

The food was delicious, but there is not all that much!

The grounds were really nice, and made for a romantic walk.

The best bit was being able to sit outside on the patio, enjoying a late night drink (or few) and being able to watch the wildlife, we even got to see a fox on the green.

Overall, this was a fantastic hotel which we could not find fault with. Yes it is expensive, but for a one off special occasion it is well worth it.

  • Stayed: July 2008, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank JPloves2travel
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
tma12001, Manager at Judges Country House Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded June 29, 2010

Thank you very much for your kind words. We all look forward to welcoming you back to Judges in the near future. Kind regards, Tim Howard, Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 16, 2008

Stayed here for one night. The staff were amazingly friendly, the room beautiful, the four poster bed excellent. I really loved this place and wished could have stayed longer.

The food was also fantastic.

Cannot think of one thing that wasn't amazing.

  • Stayed: October 2005, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Lisa73
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
tma12001, Manager at Judges Country House Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded June 29, 2010

Thank you very much for your very kind words. We all look forward to welcoming you back to Judges in the near future. Kind regards, Tim Howard, Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Kirklevington
1.8 mi away
Crathorne Hall Hotel
Crathorne Hall Hotel
#1 of 1 in Crathorne
904 reviews
12.7 mi away
Gisborough Hall Hotel
Gisborough Hall Hotel
#1 of 2 in Guisborough
1,510 reviews
9.4 mi away
Wynyard Hall
Wynyard Hall
#1 of 1 in Billingham
1,107 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
16.1 mi away
Brockley Hall Hotel
Brockley Hall Hotel
#1 of 4 in Saltburn-by-the-Sea
236 reviews
2.5 mi away
Best Western Parkmore Hotel
Best Western Parkmore Hotel
#6 of 9 in Stockton-on-Tees
481 reviews
7.2 mi away
The Cleveland Tontine
The Cleveland Tontine
#1 of 1 in Staddlebridge
409 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Judges Country House Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Judges Country House Hotel

Address: Kirklevington Hall Thirsk Road, Kirklevington TS15 9LW, England
Location: United Kingdom > England > Yorkshire > North Yorkshire > Kirklevington
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beverage Selection Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Suites
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 1 Hotels in Kirklevington
Price Range: $188 - $287 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — Judges Country House Hotel 4*
Number of rooms: 21
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
An AA's Inspector's Choice Hotel since 2003, Judges Country House Hotel continues to be an AA 3 Red Star Country House Hotel as well as boasting 3 AA Rosettes, first awarded in 2003, and is also particularly recommended by the Michelin Guide 2014. Consistently rated by "The Good Hotel Guide" and praised by both "The Times", "The Sunday Times" and "The Telegraph" newspapers Judges is one of the finest hotels and restaurants not only in the Middlesbrough area but also in the United Kingdom as a whole. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com and Priceline so you can book your Judges Country House Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Judges Country Hotel

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing