We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“What a rip off!!”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 2 more sites!
Judges Country House Hotel
Ranked #1 of 1 Hotels in Kirklevington
Certificate of Excellence
Guisborough
Level Contributor
27 reviews
16 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 27 helpful votes
“What a rip off!!”
Reviewed June 2, 2009

Stayed there for a treat. Found the room to be very smelly and very small. The furnishing within the room meant it was like stepping back in time. I would not recommend this to anyone. Stay at Gisborough Hall it shows this place up for what it is RUBBISH

  • Stayed May 2009, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
4 Thank wooleyback
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
tma12001, Manager at Judges Country House Hotel, responded to this review, July 21, 2009
Any negative feedback is logged and investigated. One wonders why this reviewer did not raise these points with us directly and if they actually stayed with us at all.

With all that's written about suspect on-line reviews these days it does make you wonder whether it was someone trying to promote the hotel mentioned who wrote the review..........
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

547 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    418
    78
    28
    11
    12
See reviews for
141
242
11
60
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (110)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Huddersfield, UK
Level Contributor
28 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 31 helpful votes
Reviewed May 6, 2009

Oct 2008 - Stayed over on a Sunday (2 night min for Saturday night, we were informed), the house is stunning, very impressive to behold on arrival. There where plenty of people in at the restaurant when we arrived, but the friendly reception staff checked us in quickly. Small decanter of sherry in the room was a nice touch, as where the chocolates! Room was close to the main entrance (ground floor), and in keeping with the country house feel. Room was large, with lovely period features, view across the grounds at the rear, big comfy old bed, a goldfish (honest). It did have a slight “upper class parents spare bedroom” feel, a touch dated maybe, a touch twee, some may feel in keeping with the setting. Also small and past its prime en suite that was adequate but far from luxury. Being a converted country house this could all be expected, and we tend not to spend too much time in the room!
We had booked a meal in the restaurant; this was the main purpose of our visit. We had pre-dinner cocktails and amuse in the lounge (again full of country house charm). The sommelier was fantastic, very knowledgeable, and guided us through the extensive wine list. We we’re shown to our seats, in the conservatory, looking out on to the grounds. We we’re the only ones there for about 20 minutes! The view was stunning, rabbits hopping across the well manicured lawns and trees all nicely lit. The menu was short but well thought out. The food was amazing, some of the best I’ve ever had. I really can’t do it justice here. The appetiser, first, intermezzo, main, desert, petit four were all stunning. Waiting staff were very knowledgeable about the dishes. After coffee I read the papers next to the fire in the lounge with a few sneaky GnT’s, very relaxing!
Breakfast was a decent enough Full English, again in the conservatory.
The only reason I’ve given 4 stars and not 5 is the price of the room. We paid over £200 for ours and, having stayed in similar priced hotels, I felt it was too much for what you got. That said the meal alone would temp me back in a shot, the over all experience is well worth it, and if I could get a late room or extend my overdraft I’d be there now!

  • Stayed October 2008, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Simon D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
tma12001, Manager at Judges Country House Hotel, responded to this review, June 30, 2010
Thank you very much for your kind words and for taking the time to share your thoughts. We all look forward to welcoming you back to Judges in the near future. Kind regards. Tim Howard, Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Middlesbrough, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
48 reviews
43 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 72 helpful votes
Reviewed December 23, 2008

Stayed at this hotel in July 2008 to celebrate our first wedding anniversary. From the moment we arrived we were treated with first class service. ALL the staff were very helpful and friendly. The room itself was exceptionally clean, cosy and welcoming. We got a room to the front of the hotel which had great views and the 4 poster bed was very comfy.

As it was a gorgeous hot sunny day we were able to sit outside on the patio during the afternoon and enjoy the hot sun while being waited on by the attentive bar staff. It was nice to be served with crystal cut glasses, as opposed to standard wine glasses.

The food was delicious, but there is not all that much!

The grounds were really nice, and made for a romantic walk.

The best bit was being able to sit outside on the patio, enjoying a late night drink (or few) and being able to watch the wildlife, we even got to see a fox on the green.

Overall, this was a fantastic hotel which we could not find fault with. Yes it is expensive, but for a one off special occasion it is well worth it.

  • Stayed July 2008, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank JPloves2travel
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
tma12001, Manager at Judges Country House Hotel, responded to this review, June 29, 2010
Thank you very much for your kind words. We all look forward to welcoming you back to Judges in the near future. Kind regards, Tim Howard, Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
England
Level Contributor
51 reviews
24 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 40 helpful votes
Reviewed September 16, 2008

Stayed here for one night. The staff were amazingly friendly, the room beautiful, the four poster bed excellent. I really loved this place and wished could have stayed longer.

The food was also fantastic.

Cannot think of one thing that wasn't amazing.

  • Liked — Everything, the room, the staff, the foold
  • Disliked — Nothing
  • Stayed October 2005, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Lisa73
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
tma12001, Manager at Judges Country House Hotel, responded to this review, June 29, 2010
Thank you very much for your very kind words. We all look forward to welcoming you back to Judges in the near future. Kind regards, Tim Howard, Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Okotoks, Canada
Level Contributor
22 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 28 helpful votes
Reviewed September 4, 2008

Way too expensive for what you get. Box of chocolates included.. Yeah right! TWO chocs in a box what a rip off! Staff were arrogant and rude. Room was a let down. Worlds smallest double bed, bathroom smelt and is in serious need of modernisation, free tea and coffee but no milk! Breakfast included was a let down. Very small portion. Not enough for your money basically!

  • Liked — Stunning grounds
  • Disliked — Value
  • Stayed August 2008, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank GarethandGemma
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
tma12001, Manager at Judges Country House Hotel, responded to this review, June 30, 2010
I was really saddened to read this review and I am baffled as to why this guest said nothing to us about their concerns, either during the stay or on check-out. This is the only time I have received such comments about my staff, the size of our beds, the amount of complimentary chocolates given and the size of our breakfasts. Our bathroom refurbishment programme continues and I would be more than happy to show this guest what we have been doing. We try very hard to make sure every guest enjoys their stay and if we had been given the opportunity we could have at least tried to resolve any issues. Tim Howard, Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Tiverton, Devon
Level Contributor
6 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
Reviewed August 22, 2008

We stayed here for my cousin's wedding, which was being held in the courtyard suite at the hotel.
We baulked a little at the price of the room (nearly £200 for one night!!!) but felt it made sense as we have two young children and needed a base to retire to during the wedding festivities if need be.
Our room (number 15) was lovely, and extremely spacious, with a gorgeous (and very comfy!) sleigh bed, and views down over the landscaped gardens. There were very nice extra touches such as a goldfish called Margo, which delighted the children, plus magazines and even a game of Scrabble! Complimentary items included a plate of fruit, a decanter of sherry and some yummy cookies and chocolates. My only problem was that there was very little space to put down your toilet bag, and other bits and pieces - the room felt a little cluttered, to be honest. Also, although there was a sewing kit , there were no needles!!!

The bathroom was pleasant, with some lovely Molton Brown toiletries, which were much appreciated. However, there was no space to put anything down in here either, which was a bit annoying!

Breakfast was delicious, especially the scrambled eggs, and there seemed to be a good choice of cooked items, Service was excellent - lovely staff who were also great with the children.

We did enjoy staying here - it was a very comfortable room - but I was not necessarily convinced that it was all worth £200 a night.

  • Liked — Comfortable room, good service in restaurant.
  • Disliked — The price!
  • Stayed August 2008, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank bobbyfrazzle
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
tma12001, Manager at Judges Country House Hotel, responded to this review, June 30, 2010
Thank you for your kind comments and please be assured that your comments have been taken on board. As our programme of bathroom refurbishment has progressed we have incorporated your comments into our designs and are very grateful for your taking the time to post your thoughts. We look forward to welcoming both you and your family back to Judges in the near future. Kind regards, Tim Howard, Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sunderland, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
206 reviews
64 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 105 helpful votes
Reviewed January 3, 2008

Got married at this hotel. Small wedding - only 25 of us in total - got married in the restaurant area with reception in conservatory. Good points - on the day staff were very good, service was excellent, superb surroundings, food very good, rooms beautiful and clean. Weak points - rooms expensive with mimimal reduction in rate even though they were guaranteed to sell 10 of the 14 rooms; handover between events organiser and staff on the day poor leading to some major stress the day before the wedding for the bride and groom (did pick this up with the manager the next day who was courteous and noted complaint); provided our own wine but corkage charge and champagne price extortionate.

  • Liked — The setting
  • Disliked — Room price
  • Stayed December 2007
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank avidtraveller57
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
tma12001, Manager at Judges Country House Hotel, responded to this review, June 30, 2010
Further to our conversation following your stay, thank you for posting this review and for your kind comments. Please be assured that your comments regarding room and corkage rates have been taken on board but i would mention that, as with any business, we do know the margins that we need achieve in order to maintain our levels of quality as well as staying in business. Kind regards, Tim Howard, Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Kirklevington
1.9 mi away
Crathorne Hall Hotel
Crathorne Hall Hotel
#1 of 1 in Crathorne
862 reviews
12.6 mi away
Gisborough Hall Hotel
Gisborough Hall Hotel
#1 of 2 in Guisborough
1,444 reviews
9.2 mi away
Wynyard Hall
Wynyard Hall
#1 of 1 in Billingham
1,045 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
8.3 mi away
Rockliffe Hall
Rockliffe Hall
#1 of 1 in Hurworth-on-Tees
2,448 reviews
16.0 mi away
Brockley Hall Hotel
Brockley Hall Hotel
#1 of 5 in Saltburn-by-the-Sea
184 reviews
7.4 mi away
The Cleveland Tontine
The Cleveland Tontine
#1 of 1 in Staddlebridge
383 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Judges Country House Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Judges Country House Hotel

Property: Judges Country House Hotel
Address: Kirklevington Hall Thirsk Road, Kirklevington TS15 9LW, England
Location: United Kingdom > England > Yorkshire > North Yorkshire > Kirklevington
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beverage Selection Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Suites
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 1 Hotels in Kirklevington
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$
Hotel Class:4 star — Judges Country House Hotel 4*
Number of rooms: 21
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
An AA's Inspector's Choice Hotel since 2003, Judges Country House Hotel continues to be an AA 3 Red Star Country House Hotel as well as boasting 3 AA Rosettes, first awarded in 2003, and is also particularly recommended by the Michelin Guide 2014. Consistently rated by "The Good Hotel Guide" and praised by both "The Times", "The Sunday Times" and "The Telegraph" newspapers Judges is one of the finest hotels and restaurants not only in the Middlesbrough area but also in the United Kingdom as a whole. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Travelocity, Priceline, Booking.com and Hotel.de so you can book your Judges Country House Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Judges Country Hotel

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing