We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Wonderful stay, can't wait to go back and sample the restaurant”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Judges Country House Hotel
Ranked #1 of 1 Hotels in Kirklevington
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed March 11, 2014

We stayed at this lovely hotel when attending a family wedding held there. The rooms were fantastic: light, airy and very beautiful.

We took our little boy (age 3) and although we thought the hotel would be more suited to adults and couples we were made very welcome. He was very impressed with the room (especially the novelty of a tv in the bathroom) and his own little bed which was made up ready for him. There was lots of space in the room for him to play and the staff were all very welcoming. At breakfast he was able to get exactly what he wanted (great with a fussy child!) and the staff were wonderful.
The grounds at Judges are stunning and the wedding was fantastic, we are looking forward to coming back for a short break.

  • Stayed: March 2014
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank DNAC1985
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
TimHowardJudges, General Manager at Judges Country House Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded March 12, 2014

Reading this was such a super way to start the day; on behalf of us all thank you very much for your kind words. Many of us here at Judges have children so it's super to read that our future clientele is already connecting with our brand! We look forward to welcoming you all back to Judges in the near future and in the meantime please do tell your friends about us. Kindest regards, Tim Howard GM 12/3/14

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (577)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

307 - 313 of 577 reviews

Reviewed March 5, 2014

Visited Judges this morning with friends for coffee we were shown to lovely table overlooking
the gardens. The young lady who served the coffee was welcoming and polite,. been on number
Of occasions wether it is lunch afternoon tea or morning coffee it is always a delight

  • Stayed: March 2014, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Service
1  Thank StocktonSween
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
TimHowardJudges, General Manager at Judges Country House Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded March 6, 2014

Thank you very much for this review. It reinforces my belief that it does not matter whether you are doing something big or small; it is all about how you do it and how you make the guest feel. Brilliant. Thank you. Please do spread the word about us amongst your friends and we all look forward to welcoming you back to Judges very soon. Kind regards, Tim Howard GM 6/3/14

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed March 1, 2014

Had a lovely afternoon tea here courtesy of a gift voucher which was a Christmas present. We decided to end the afternoon with a drink; 2 glasses of Prosecco, 1 vodka and tonic and a diet Coke, the bill was £27.50!! Absolute rip off, know wonder the place was empty when we left!!

Stayed: March 2014, traveled with friends
3  Thank angelofthenorth9
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
TimHowardJudges, General Manager at Judges Country House Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded March 4, 2014

Thank you for your review. I am glad that you enjoyed your afternoon tea which had been given to you as a Christmas present. I have personally checked the prices for the drinks served as well as the measures that were used (50ml for the vodka and 125ml for the Prosecco) and I can confirm the prices charged were correct. It is always possible to buy cheaper and our prices are commensurate with other hotels of a similar standard. Perhaps this is why we were full for afternoon tea and then catered for 195 dinners that night. Regards, Tim Howard GM 4/3/14

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed March 1, 2014

We had our wedding in January at Judges and we could not have wished for a more perfect day. Arriving at the venue I was greeted by members of staff who unloaded centre pieces from my car and carried the many bags I had with me to my room.
Every single member of staff, throughout the day, were attentive, professional yet personable. Their attention to detail was amazing and they really did go that extra mile to make sure myself, my husband and ALL of our guests were happy. The food was absolutely delicious, many of our guests commented on this.
Our bridal suite was beautiful and the hotel and grounds look fantastic in our wedding pictures.
I would recommend this hotel to anyone looking for a venue to get married, the staff are experienced, thorough and very very nice people who you can trust to make sure your special day goes smoothly. Thank you Judges staff for making our day so special.

  • Stayed: January 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank emmabarrass
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
TimHowardJudges, General Manager at Judges Country House Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded March 4, 2014

Brilliant! On behalf of us all thank you very much for your kind words. Please do tell your friends about us and we wish you every happiness in your life together. Kindest regards, Tim Howard GM 4/3/14

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed February 28, 2014

We held our wedding day at Judges on the 22nd February 2014. From start to finish the day was amazing! The staff, food and whole atmosphere was just perfect and everything ran like a dream. I would highly recommend anyone to consider for a wedding venue. The afternoon tea is also very good!

  • Stayed: February 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Lindsay R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
TimHowardJudges, General Manager at Judges Country House Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded March 4, 2014

Super! Thank you on behalf of us all. Please do tell your friends about us and we all look forward to welcoming you both back to Judges In the years to come. Kindest regards, Tim Howard GM 4/3/14

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed February 24, 2014

We stayed at Judges Hotel for the first time for one night on 22nd February on a special dinner, bed, and breakfast offer.
This hotel is outstanding!
Our room was spotlessly clean and had every facility.
The staff could not have been more helpful and seemed to treat everyone with unfailing cheerfulness, but were never overbearing.
Our dinner was extraordinary - the food for every course from canapes to coffee gave us a variety of memorable flavours, and was presented with obvious care and enthusiasm by the kitchen staff. Sheer enjoyment for us!
Breakfasts are often treated as an afterthought in some hotels, but not here. What we had again was ingredients of the highest quality and very well presented.
For a gastronomic experience, and comfortable, relaxing surroundings, this hotel cannot be faulted.

  • Stayed: February 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Adrian R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
TimHowardJudges, General Manager at Judges Country House Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded February 25, 2014

Reading this was just such a super way to start the day, on behalf of us all, thank you very much. Please do tell your friends about us and we hope to see both again very soon. Kindest regards, Tim Howard GM 25/2/14

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed February 5, 2014

I booked a surprise stay at short notice at the Judges Country House Hotel for my wife and I, after having to cancel a holiday abroad on doctors orders due to my wife"s medical condition. We had stayed at this hotel a year previously and on this occasion we stayed there on 30th and 31st January 2014. I had liaised with the hotel manager, Mr Tim Howard regarding our situation and requested that flowers and chocolates would be in our room on arrival as a further surprise for my wife. We were allocated room 12A, a spacious feature room overlooking the grounds to the rear of the hotel and duely found, when entering the room, a top class bouquet of flowers and chocolates as requested. The room was spotless with all the amenities you could need. Comfortable top class furnishings, huge comfortable bed and sparkling bathroom with jacuzzi bath and overhead T.V. A well stocked mini bar and tea and coffee making facilities etc. There were really nice extra touches such as a complimentary decanter of sherry, chocolates, cookies, fresh fruit, friendly goldfish and teddy bear, excellent! All the staff we encountered were most professional, helpful and friendly. In particular Dominique and Angelo who looked after us in the bar lounge and restaurant when we dined in on the 2nd evening. Our dining experiences of both breakfast and dinner were very much enjoyed with an extensive selection of high quality food and drink. This is a superb hotel and it was obvious to us that the management and staff strive to provide and achieve an excellent service.
The hotel is ideally located just outside the small interesting town of Yarm which has an interesting history, a good selection of shops, restaurants and bars and an ideal base for exploring Teeside, the north Yorkshire coast and moors areas. Once again, many thanks to Mr Tim Howard and his staff. We definitely hope to visit "Judges" again.

Room Tip: Go for a "feature" room
See more room tips
  • Stayed: January 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank owlsfan
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
TimHowardJudges, General Manager at Judges Country House Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded February 5, 2014

On behalf of us all, thank you for your very kind words. A full and speedy recovery to your wife and we all look forward to welcoming you both back to Judges in the very near future. Kind regards, Tim Howard GM 6/2/14

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Kirklevington
1.8 mi away
Crathorne Hall Hotel
Crathorne Hall Hotel
#1 of 1 in Crathorne
902 reviews
12.7 mi away
Gisborough Hall Hotel
Gisborough Hall Hotel
#1 of 2 in Guisborough
1,508 reviews
9.4 mi away
Wynyard Hall
Wynyard Hall
#1 of 1 in Billingham
1,106 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
16.1 mi away
Brockley Hall Hotel
Brockley Hall Hotel
#1 of 4 in Saltburn-by-the-Sea
235 reviews
2.5 mi away
Best Western Parkmore Hotel
Best Western Parkmore Hotel
#6 of 9 in Stockton-on-Tees
481 reviews
7.2 mi away
The Cleveland Tontine
The Cleveland Tontine
#1 of 1 in Staddlebridge
409 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Judges Country House Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Judges Country House Hotel

Address: Kirklevington Hall Thirsk Road, Kirklevington TS15 9LW, England
Location: United Kingdom > England > Yorkshire > North Yorkshire > Kirklevington
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beverage Selection Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Suites
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 1 Hotels in Kirklevington
Price Range: $188 - $287 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — Judges Country House Hotel 4*
Number of rooms: 21
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
An AA's Inspector's Choice Hotel since 2003, Judges Country House Hotel continues to be an AA 3 Red Star Country House Hotel as well as boasting 3 AA Rosettes, first awarded in 2003, and is also particularly recommended by the Michelin Guide 2014. Consistently rated by "The Good Hotel Guide" and praised by both "The Times", "The Sunday Times" and "The Telegraph" newspapers Judges is one of the finest hotels and restaurants not only in the Middlesbrough area but also in the United Kingdom as a whole. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com and Priceline so you can book your Judges Country House Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Judges Country Hotel

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing