We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Charming” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of Judges Country House Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 2 more sites!
Judges Country House Hotel
Ranked #1 of 1 Hotels in Kirklevington
Certificate of Excellence
London
Level Contributor
251 reviews
138 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 246 helpful votes
“Charming”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed January 20, 2014

Everything about the hotel is about that old fashioned quality and good service. The Kirklevington Hall, once a home of the Richardson family and then occupied by the circuit Judges when on location in Middlesbrough courts, was lovingly and carefully restored by its new owners. With only 21 rooms the owners commendably resisted the temptation of expanding the place into a bog standard hotel with a pretty façade.

The hotel is set in beautiful English gardens and well-tended grounds criss-crossed by the Judges Stream with wee bridges, waterfalls and even a grotto hidden away for you to explore. It’s just great to go out for a stroll outside especially on a sunny day.

The welcome starts with the moment you arrive at the hotel with staff rushing out to help you with the bags and making sure you settle comfortably in your room. The complimentary sherry and a bowl of fruit in the room were just a few of the many personal touches that set The Judges Hotel apart from the rest.

The place is full of little corridors and alcoves with rooms set unobtrusively within and giving guests that additional feeling of privacy. Rooms are spacious and well equipped with bathrobes, tea making facilities and fridge. Note there are no safe boxes in the rooms, at least not in Room 14.

There is a function venue set apart from the main building that ensures that other guests can spend the evening peacefully and not feel like trespassing as is often the case with other venues. The hotel also has a wine-tasting cellar.

The Lounge, a cosily attired room, is the place to meet and spend quality time in front of the crackling log-fire. The welcoming bar there is open all night with a friendly and efficient night porter going out of his way to ensure guests are comfortable and well catered for.

Breakfast choice is quite extensive though try to avoid going after 9 am as the place gets very busy and waiting is longer. If anything, extending the breakfast time until a bit later would be one improvement I would suggest.

Thoroughly recommended.

Room Tip: Any room is good enough but if you like your space go for one of the Feature Rooms.
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Globetrotter008
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
TimHowardJudges, General Manager at Judges Country House Hotel, responded to this review, January 23, 2014
I have just come back from London where, amongst other speakers, I was listening to Sir Clive Woodward talking about the DNA of a Champion and how to keep doing things better. This was really super to read on my return and really helps us continue pushing to improve. So, on behalf of all the team, thank you for your very kind words. Please do tell your friends about us and we all look forward to welcoming you back to Judges in the near future. Kindest regards, Tim Howard GM 23/1/14
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

526 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    404
    73
    26
    11
    12
See reviews for
133
231
11
59
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (104)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • Any
English first
North York Moors National Park, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
8 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed January 17, 2014

Just a little note to say a huge huge thank you to everyone at Judges for the hard work they put into our wedding day last weekend! The staff have been excellent during the whole planning process, and there are simply no words to describe how perfect our special day was at Judges- it was seamless and five stars just doesn't do this venue justice.

The bedrooms were a talking point amongst all our guests, chat about whether there was a goldfish in the room or a tv in the bathroom, and needless to say the complimentary sherry was a big hit with everyone! All rooms were different and have their own little quirks- totally unique and far from a bog-standard hotel room.
The food at breakfast and during the wedding day was delicious- especially the chips on the evening reception. And the communal areas and grounds are simply beautiful and so well maintained. We have had such positive feedback from everyone who was there, and I can't recommend this place enough. We are already looking forward to a return visit.

On a more personal note;
The reception staff are so helpful and offer such a warm welcome each time we have been, a huge thanks to Emma and Suzanne who have been on hand over the past few months to answer even the smallest of questions. Neil, well what can we say about him... Our guests are still raving about 'mr shoutyman' who did such a great job as MC. He had a wonderful rapport with our guests, knowing many of them by name by the end of the night and we are still amazed to how he was always one step ahead of us throughout the whole day, solving problems before they even arose. He is a real asset to Judges and really contributed to the relaxed atmosphere of our wedding day. Looking back, we couldn't have imagined him not being there! Finally, to the barman in the courtyard suite, michael, thank you for your help and hard work. Another amazing member of staff!

There is not one fault or criticism I have of this place. It is difficult to appreciate the warm, homely nature of Judges until you visit. It has such a special feel about it and we feel extremely lucky to have chosen this venue for our wedding. Couldn't have hoped for better. Thank you again.

Room Tip: All of the rooms are unique and have their own positives. Rooms 6 and 12a were probably our favourit...
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2014, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Northeast19
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
TimHowardJudges, General Manager at Judges Country House Hotel, responded to this review, January 23, 2014
Brilliant! On behalf of us all, thank you. Please do tell your friend about us! Every happiness to you both in the years to come and we look forward to welcoming you all back in the near future. Kindest regards. Tim Howard GM 23/1/14
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Middlesbrough, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
11 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed January 9, 2014

We arrived early and left our luggage with the staff who later put our bags in our rooms when they were ready. I stayed here with friends and we all found our rooms to be beautiful, very clean, and the beds comfortable. The extras in the rooms were a lovely touch and much appreciated after a busy day. Even down to the goldfish and a note asking you to feed them, brilliant.

Our only niggle was the breakfast, although the produce was excellent it was nouvelle. Excuse me, but breakfast is breakfast and should not be served as a mountain in the middle of the plate. Pulease it can still be nicely presented without that nonsense. I think this was because they didn't want to present a full plate.

The staff were all extremely friendly and went out of their way to help us when we needed it, and always with a smile. Overall, I would recommend this hotel.

Room Tip: As the hotel is set back from the road we found that those of us on the front were fine and had a go...
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2013, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Susan P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
TimHowardJudges, General Manager at Judges Country House Hotel, responded to this review, January 10, 2014
Thank you very much for your kind review and thank you also for your helpful comment regarding the presentation of breakfast. I agree with you 100% and I have now passed your comments on to my team. Maybe we need to redo the recent breakfast refresher training! Please do tell your friends about us and we hope to see you again very soon. Kindest regards, Tim Howard GM 10/1/14
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Beverley, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
31 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 17 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed January 3, 2014

Just returned from a wonderful christmas at Judges.From booking in to checking out the standards were high.Even at the busiest times the organisation meant everything ran smoothly.Every staff member was so friendly.Our room on the top floor was roomy and comfortable with views over the front lawns.New bathroom always had plenty of hot water and we liked the extra touches like the candles.Also the complimentary bottle of bubbly on ice when we arrived-Thankyou!!The little extras always make a difference and having a small jug of fresh milk in the fridge each day and a tin with biscuits in was a nice touch.
Each evening we ate in the Conservatory.We can honestly say it was the best food and service we have ever had.The Chef shows true passion in his creations .Not once all week did we ever have to think of using the salt and pepper,it was seasoned to perfection.
Good selection of wine too.Something for everyone and price wise comparable to other places .Breakfast also good with plenty of cooked choices..Standards never slipped once,even after a hectic Christmas day lunch we were presented with a gorgeous buffet in the evening.We enjoyed walking around the grounds in the wooded areas, the paths were well maintained and there is a 'Health walk trail" if wanted.
We have never been looked after so well and can't wait to return.A big thankyou to everyone!!Happy New Year!!

  • Stayed December 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Rose9865y
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
TimHowardJudges, General Manager at Judges Country House Hotel, responded to this review, January 6, 2014
What a great way to start the week, thank you! Please do tell your friends about us and we look forward to welcoming you both back to Judges in the years to come. Kindest regards, Tim Howard GM 6/1/13
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
England
Level Contributor
244 reviews
58 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 133 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed December 21, 2013

I attended one of your Christmas party nights and also stayed in the hotel. A mixed bag.

The party night was ok but not worth £40 (same standard as other hotels and these are charging around £30) The starter (soup) was tasty. The cheesecake desert was lovely. The main course was mediocre at best. A shame as a turkey dinner is pretty standard to do in bulk and I've had much better for a much cheaper price. The music was pretty naff and far too loud to allow people to talk. Surely a Christmas party is about a good natter and not just about the dancing? My bottle of wine cost £25 - ridiculously expensive for a bottle that would be £6 in Sainsburys and £4 from a supplier. I also didn't like it when I arrived and we were stuck in the small lobby with far too many people for the space. I was extremely uncomfortable and felt crushed and panicky. Perhaps Judges could rethink and allow people to go through from a little earlier. At the bar in the lobby I literally waited 15 minutes to be served. Not enough people serving for the amount of people in the lobby.

The hotel was a different matter - the service was wonderful, the room nice, the breakfast was great and it was a calm place to stay. Lovely. The little touches in the room were very thoughtful. I would stay again but I wouldn't come to another party night.

  • Stayed December 2013, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
Helpful?
Thank slippeddisc
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
TimHowardJudges, General Manager at Judges Country House Hotel, responded to this review, December 24, 2013
Thank for your review and for your kind comments. Thank you also for the helpful pointers regarding certain aspects of the evening and, having completed all our party nights, whilst these are the only such comments that we have received we will now be building them into our annual debrief to see if we can improve these areas. Kind regards and Happy Holidays! Tim Howard GM 24/12/13
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bolton, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
328 reviews
83 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 198 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed November 25, 2013

Very nice to return to this country house hotel. Comfortable room, excellent service in the bar and restaurant. If anything the quality of the meal is even better. The chef is obviously moving down the fine-dining route and producing really good food. Breakfast also was very good. It is nice to see a place which serves such good food in the evening and then gives you a decent breakfast. I know quite a few Michelin starred places which deliver the goods for dinner but fail miserably at breakfast, as though it is an afterthought and doesn't really matter. How wrong - it is your last meal there and that will be your last impression of the place. We look forward to our next visit to Judges.

Room Tip: Have only ever stayed in Room 7. large and comfortable. Even a telly in the bathroom !
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank WILLIAM W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
TimHowardJudges, General Manager at Judges Country House Hotel, responded to this review, November 26, 2013
This means a great deal to us, thank you. Our view is that you always keep pushing to do things better. It's all about the detail in absolutely everything that you do and it can never be just about the fancy stuff. So this is brilliant to read, thank you. Please do tell your friends about us and we hope to see you both again very soon. Kindest regards, Tim Howard GM 26/11/13
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Stockton-on-Tees, United Kingdom
1 review
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed November 20, 2013

We married at Judges 2 years ago - which was an amazing day. We returned last year for our anniversary & we have been back for our 2nd anniversary. From the moment you arrive until you leave, nothing is too much trouble for staff. Luxury hotel in the most beautiful setting.

  • Stayed November 2013
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank swainby
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
TimHowardJudges, General Manager at Judges Country House Hotel, responded to this review, November 20, 2013
I'm full of cold and feeling particularly grumpy this morning but reading this at the start of my day just brought a big smile to my face. So thank you from me and also from my team for your very kind words. Please do tell your friends about us and we hope to see you both again very soon. Kindest regards, Tim Howard GM 21/11/13
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Kirklevington
1.9 mi away
Crathorne Hall Hotel
Crathorne Hall Hotel
#1 of 1 in Crathorne
4.5 of 5 bubbles 832 reviews
12.6 mi away
Gisborough Hall Hotel
Gisborough Hall Hotel
#1 of 2 in Guisborough
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,376 reviews
9.3 mi away
Wynyard Hall
Wynyard Hall
#1 of 1 in Billingham
4.5 of 5 bubbles 978 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
7.4 mi away
The Cleveland Tontine
The Cleveland Tontine
#1 of 1 in Staddlebridge
4.5 of 5 bubbles 372 reviews
8.3 mi away
Rockliffe Hall
Rockliffe Hall
#1 of 1 in Hurworth-on-Tees
4.5 of 5 bubbles 2,301 reviews
2.3 mi away
BEST WESTERN Parkmore Hotel
BEST WESTERN Parkmore Hotel
#5 of 8 in Stockton-on-Tees
3.5 of 5 bubbles 414 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Judges Country House Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Judges Country House Hotel

Property: Judges Country House Hotel
Address: Kirklevington Hall Thirsk Road, Kirklevington TS15 9LW, England
Location: United Kingdom > England > Yorkshire > North Yorkshire > Kirklevington
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beverage Selection Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Suites
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 1 Hotels in Kirklevington
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:4 star — Judges Country House Hotel 4*
Number of rooms: 21
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
An AA's Inspector's Choice Hotel since 2003, Judges Country House Hotel continues to be an AA 3 Red Star Country House Hotel as well as boasting 3 AA Rosettes, first awarded in 2003, and is also particularly recommended by the Michelin Guide 2014. Consistently rated by "The Good Hotel Guide" and praised by both "The Times", "The Sunday Times" and "The Telegraph" newspapers Judges is one of the finest hotels and restaurants not only in the Middlesbrough area but also in the United Kingdom as a whole. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Orbitz, Priceline, Booking.com and Hotel.de so you can book your Judges Country House Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Judges Country Hotel

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing