We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Ideal Locaton for a business stop over as well as a weekend retreat!”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 3 more sites!
Judges Country House Hotel
Ranked #1 of 1 Hotels in Kirklevington
Certificate of Excellence
Milton Keyenes
1 review
“Ideal Locaton for a business stop over as well as a weekend retreat!”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed January 11, 2013

This is a beautiful hotel and the staff extremely helpful, friendly and professional. They couldn't do enough for me. I was travelling on business and feeling tired after a lot of travelling and a busy day, it was lovely to be met at the door by the staff who welcomed me to the hotel, promptly checked me in and carried my luggage to my room. Each room has a 'goldfish' with a little note of their name and a request to feed them with the food provided between certain times and to talk to them. This is quite novel and made me smile. The standard, including friendliness of the hotel was excellent and I had a good nights sleep in a sleigh bed! I didn't have time to take breakfast but the hotel offer a complimentary machine providing various coffees etc to take with you on your journey. The bar and lounge were most comfortable and a pleasant way to end the evening relaxing in the luxurious surroundings. I would thoroughly recommend this hotel to anyone and especially women travelling alone. You will feel safe and comfortable and I would return without hesitation.

Room Tip: High floor as it offers wonderful views of the countryside. I had room 2
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Gillian R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
TimHowardJudges, General Manager at Judges Country House Hotel, responded to this review, January 17, 2013
Fabulous! Thank you, please tell your friends and we hope to see you again very soon. Kindest regards, Tim Howard, GM 17/1/13
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

529 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    406
    74
    26
    11
    12
See reviews for
135
232
11
59
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (104)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Beckenham, United Kingdom
1 review
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed January 9, 2013

We had stayed at Judges a few years ago and remembered it for the fantastic quality of its food and the pet goldfish in our room. This time we arrived on 31st Dec quite stressed after a particularly fractious stay at nearby Rockcliffe Hall. We were so relieved to leave the next day feeling like human beings again. Suzanne was so helpful, welcoming and unruffled, she had called us to say a room had come free and from how she dealt so kindly with us from that moment on, we cannot thank her enough. She wasn't to know that one of our close relatives was very ill and we were not even in a particularly celebratory mood but her calm professionalism, the lovely room, brand new bathroom, complimentary exquisite sherry and fruit, the beautiful period fireplace in the room, the fantastic breakfast delivered hot and what felt like 5 minutes after we'd ordered it (even the coffee and tea tasted perfect), the lovely view, all contributed to a restoration of equilibrium. We had to leave earlier than planned and didn't want to but even this was no problem to Suzanne. We're looking forward to staying again very soon in a lovely place where it is clear the staff both care and anticipate the needs of their guests.

  • Stayed December 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank devonymole
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
TimHowardJudges, General Manager at Judges Country House Hotel, responded to this review, January 11, 2013
I should let Suzanne respond to this and embarrass her completely! Thank for this and and I hope that you think of us when you are returning to the North East. In the meantime please do tell your friends about us. Kindest regards, Tim Howard GM 11/1/13
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Middlesbrough, United Kingdom
1 review
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed January 6, 2013

I was given this as a Present. What an amazing present it was. I was met by the Sous Chef he showed me around the Kitchen before introducingme to the Head Chef, John.
This kitchen is amazing, you are given tasks to do which you do not believe are done so that those eating receive the perfect meal.
You will leave with an amazing understanding of how the kitchen works, an attention for detail which you will look out for when eating in a restaurant,,, as well as a new way of seeing how mashed potatoe is really made.
Worth every penny.

Stayed November 2012, traveled solo
Helpful?
Thank MartinJBall
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
TimHowardJudges, General Manager at Judges Country House Hotel, responded to this review, January 10, 2013
This was super to read, thank you. The Times newspaper recently wrote a piece about our Chef for the Day experience as it offers uniquely a genuine understanding as to how much effort, dedication (and money!) really goes into consistently producing high quality food. Please do tell your friends about us and we all look forward to welcoming you back to Judges, (both front and back of house!) in the near future. Kindest regards, Tim Howard, GM 10/1/13
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
21 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed January 5, 2013 via mobile

We stayed at Judges for a wedding on 28 December, and chose it purely for the convenience of being in the same venue as the wedding reception, so we had no particular expectations. But we were blown away by how lovely our stay was and in particular the fantastic service from all the staff, and all the special little touches that you just don't get in a larger hotel. My only regret is that we only stayed one night.

Right from the start Judges were making things easy for us. We arrived very early to check in (about 11.30) but our room was ready and they were expecting us; we were shown to our room, all the important info explained including how to find the church for the wedding ceremony and then where the reception would be.

The hotel itself is an attractive stone country house set well back from the road and in countryside that I'm sure is beautiful but we didn't see it at its best as it rained almost the whole time we were there!

The room (room 9) had lovely views over the garden and was comfortable and pretty without being too 'twee'. The bathroom was modern with a powerful shower. There were lots of little complimentary extras to enjoy - fresh fruit, proper cafetiere coffee, bathrobes and posh bubble bath, and for the evening a glass of sherry and chocolate truffles. Our favourite thing was the resident goldfish - we enjoyed feeding him and chatting to him!

We didn't eat dinner in the restaurant but the food at the wedding reception was lovely, and the smoked salmon and scrambled eggs at breakfast was delicious (also the jams which tasted homemade and were yummy!). Again, the service was fantastic throughout.

We didn't have much time to explore the immediate area, but it seemed quiet and tranquil, with few local attractions to visit. That might be a small down side if you came for a longer visit, although for many people I expect the quiet location would be a plus. There are plenty of places within a short car journey away, the north east is one of my favourite places to visit.

All in all, it was an unexpectedly lovely stay and we will be hoping for an excuse to stay there again in the future!

  • Stayed December 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Lucy S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
TimHowardJudges, General Manager at Judges Country House Hotel, responded to this review, January 10, 2013
Brilliant, thank you! Please tell your friends and yes, the jams are homemade. We look forward to welcoming you back to Judges in the not too distant future. Kindest regards, Tim Howard GM 10/1/13
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Middlesbrough, United Kingdom
2 reviews
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed December 29, 2012

We have just returned from Honeymoon following our amazing Wedding at Judges on the 15th December and just had to write this review asap!
We held our Wedding weekend there for 23 guests and the whole experience was outstanding. Emma and Suzanne were so helpful and totally understood exactly what we wanted for our Special Day. Their organisation and attention to detail was second to none and nothing was too much trouble for them and indeed all of the team at Judges were fantastic. The food and wines were totally delicious and they catered to all our needs and requirements for the whole weekend not just for the Wedding Breakfast . Myself and my Husband shall certainly remember this wonderful Day for the rest of our lives as will our guests who were blown away too by the excellent standard of personal service and truly beautiful surroundings throughout the Hotel and bedrooms . We will certainly be returning to Judges many times in 2013 and most definately for our 1st Anniversary !. A big thankyou again to your caring friendly professional team and we will see you soon.!

Paul and Julie Ryder

Room Tip: All the rooms are furnished to an excellent standard. Very comfortable plush decor gorgeous egyptia...
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Paul R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
TimHowardJudges, General Manager at Judges Country House Hotel, responded to this review, December 31, 2012
What a super way to end the year, thank you. Please tell your friends and every happiness to you both in your future together. We all look forward to welcoming you both back to Judges in 2013 and the years to come. Kindest regards, Tim Howard GM 31/12/12
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
1 review
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed December 23, 2012

All our previous visits have been a delight however for some reason this evening was off the mark. Lovely setting with a relaxed atmosphere however the first 2 bottles of Fleurie were off and the 3rd bottle, a claret, was way too warm. Must say the staff were fine about changing the wine but took the edge off our evening.
Will return to see if Judges is back to it's usual good service. Really hope so.

  • Stayed December 2012
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
Helpful?
Thank Andymass
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
TimHowardJudges, General Manager at Judges Country House Hotel, responded to this review, December 24, 2012
This relates to a dinner on December 1st and was dealt with on the evening by my Restaurant Manager, following it up to the guest with a nice e-mail on the 4th. By then we had spoken to our wine supplier, reviewed our wine storage temperature records, returned the wine in question and moved on to the next vintage of that particular wine. I've worked at Judges for nine years and this is the first time that I've seen this happen. It's Christmas Eve as I write this response, three weeks plus after the dinner in question. It's a shame that the season's goodwill appears to have finished early this year. Tim Howard GM 24/12/12
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Oxford, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
8 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed December 14, 2012

This was my first overnight stay at Judges - having only previously been there for afternoon tea. It's a lovely example of a traditional country house hotel - stone-built in attractive grounds, with very attractive and comfortable public rooms. I only had b&b, so can't comment on the food, although the dinner menu looked tempting, and the restaurant room and attached conservatory was welcoming at breakfast. Along with the bar, it had an interesting range of wine/champagne/armagnac displays. My top-floor (2nd floor) room overlooking the front drive was a good size, very well decorated, and had a number of (what I view as) nice touches - such as snacks and minibar drinks at bar prices rather than being extortionate; robes; your own teddy bear; goldfish for you to feed and talk to (fish food supplied!); real fresh milk in a jug in the minibar fridge; and candles in the bathroom. All in all, a very positive experience having driven 250 miles that evening in the bleak fog. The on-the-day b&b rate represented good value. I'd wholeheartedly recommend Judges on this basis, and will definitely wish to return for a weekend break, or at least sample dinner.

  • Stayed December 2012, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank keithtaylor59
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
TimHowardJudges, General Manager at Judges Country House Hotel, responded to this review, December 20, 2012
Brilliant! Thank you, please tell your friends! We look forward to welcoming you back to Judges in the near future. Kind regards, Tim Howard GM 20/12/12
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Kirklevington
1.9 mi away
Crathorne Hall Hotel
Crathorne Hall Hotel
#1 of 1 in Crathorne
4.5 of 5 bubbles 844 reviews
12.6 mi away
Gisborough Hall Hotel
Gisborough Hall Hotel
#1 of 2 in Guisborough
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,412 reviews
9.2 mi away
Wynyard Hall
Wynyard Hall
#1 of 1 in Billingham
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,003 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
7.4 mi away
The Cleveland Tontine
The Cleveland Tontine
#1 of 1 in Staddlebridge
4.5 of 5 bubbles 377 reviews
8.3 mi away
Rockliffe Hall
Rockliffe Hall
#1 of 1 in Hurworth-on-Tees
4.5 of 5 bubbles 2,356 reviews
2.4 mi away
Claireville Hotel
Claireville Hotel
#6 of 8 in Stockton-on-Tees
4.0 of 5 bubbles 46 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Judges Country House Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Judges Country House Hotel

Property: Judges Country House Hotel
Address: Kirklevington Hall Thirsk Road, Kirklevington TS15 9LW, England
Location: United Kingdom > England > Yorkshire > North Yorkshire > Kirklevington
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beverage Selection Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Suites
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 1 Hotels in Kirklevington
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:4 star — Judges Country House Hotel 4*
Number of rooms: 21
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
An AA's Inspector's Choice Hotel since 2003, Judges Country House Hotel continues to be an AA 3 Red Star Country House Hotel as well as boasting 3 AA Rosettes, first awarded in 2003, and is also particularly recommended by the Michelin Guide 2014. Consistently rated by "The Good Hotel Guide" and praised by both "The Times", "The Sunday Times" and "The Telegraph" newspapers Judges is one of the finest hotels and restaurants not only in the Middlesbrough area but also in the United Kingdom as a whole. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Travelocity, Priceline, Orbitz, Booking.com and Hotel.de so you can book your Judges Country House Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Judges Country Hotel

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing