We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
“Great place that is clean & modern with good on...”
other travelers have booked this property

Review of Tickle Cottage

Phew ..parking at front and sun at back all afternoon /evening
Bookings for this home are first-come, first served. Lock in your dates before they are gone
Phew ..parking at front and sun at back all afternoon /evening
Check Availability
Request to Book
Make Inquiry
Excellent
50 reviews
Phew ..parking at front and sun at back all afternoon /evening
Dining area for six
Second bedroom can sleep 3. Includes hairdryer and TV/DVD
King size bedroom with huilt in wardrobe area includes TV/DVD, hairdryer, iron/board and slippers
The duck family are sitting tennants but they do behave!
Modern bathroom with overhead shower, wall towel rail and skylight
Swimming pool area with sauna and steam room, complimentary access when staying at Tickle Cottage
The very important . . .pub!
Fishing lake
View from the top of the private access road
Ho Ho Ho
Have a Tickle Christmas
Park you car directly outside the cottage and explore!
This property is not available for these dates.
Don't give up! Inquire about other rentals just like this one that are available -
Show all rentals available
Overview
Cottage -
2 Bedrooms, 2 Bathrooms, Sleeps 5
Hunmanby, Filey, Scarborough District, North Yorkshire, England

Reviews from our community

Excellent - based on 50 reviews
Write a Review

Reviews from our community

Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
English first
Any
English first
Mandy7979
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Nice clean cottage but shame about building site and no space for travel cot”
Reviewed October 10, 2013 for a stay in October 2013

We enjoyed our stay. The cottage is nice and clean overall. Kitchen well equipped. Beach is great and about 10 minutes walk (a bit steep for one part so harder work pushing pushchair). Can drive to beach though, but don't miss out steep bit. Nice to walk along beach to Filey. Free access to swimming pool few minutes walk away from cottage (and gym I believe), which was great. Cottage was on a building site, which didn't matter to us much as we stayed over a weekend and there was no work going on. Travel cot didn't properly fit in room which was a real pain for us. Three beds in small bedroom (single and bunk beds) and chest of drawers. After making up travel cot (which was very difficult as couldn't walk around cot to get around other side to fix mattress to bottom of cot), you couldn't get into room as there was about 5-10cms gap!! Not too bad for us once cot made, but definitely do not stay here if you need travel cot and have another child!! Other children won't be able to get into bed! And you won't be able to use the chest of drawers. Heating off when we arrived so had to sort that out, but found instructions and sorted it. Royal Oak near Spar not great. Friendly and service good but had to sent some food back and pub a bit dated. Enjoyed eating at John Paul Jones but quite noisy as very busy. Food and service good. Definitely needed to book. We were there first weekend October and very busy then. Overall, enjoyed stay and would recommend at weekends but not for those needing a travel cot.

Value Rooms
Location Cleanliness
Service
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Management Response
Oct 15, 2013
Thank you for taking the time to comment and I'm pleased to hear you liked our holiday cottage. Following our e-mail exchange I have enquired with other travel cot users who predominantly had it in the main bedroom at the foot of the bed and it worked well, I agree the smaller bedroom isn't the best fit however it does work perfectly well in the main bedroom. The Bay complex has now been established for nearly 5 years and currently houses over 200 buildings including all the communal facilities. A new phase of building is currently taking place nearby and is visible on approach however my guests have been made aware of this and I have followed up on their return as I did with yourself, and I have to say with very pleasing results. It appears it is causing very little impact on my holidaymakers which is a delight to hear. Thank you again for the feedback,it is very much appreciated.
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sheffield, United Kingdom
Reviewed September 15, 2013 for a stay in August 2013

Value Rooms
Location Cleanliness
Service
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of an individual traveler and not of TripAdvisor LLC nor of its partners.
Management Response
Oct 15, 2013
Thank you for your comments, we are new at this so I'm pleased we're heading in the right direction!!
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC nor of its partners.
Leeds, United Kingdom
Reviewed September 2, 2013 for a stay in August 2013

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: The kid-friendliness
Traveling group: Young Children
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway Older travelers
Families with young children
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of an individual traveler and not of TripAdvisor LLC nor of its partners.
Management Response
Oct 15, 2013
What a lovely review thank you, we are so pleased you enjoyed your stay and we do hope you will come back and see us again soon xx
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC nor of its partners.
York, United Kingdom
Reviewed August 24, 2013 for a stay in May 2013

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Traveling group: Young Children
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway Families with young children
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of an individual traveler and not of TripAdvisor LLC nor of its partners.
Management Response
Oct 15, 2013
Thank you for your comments, we're so pleased you enjoyed our holiday home xxx
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC nor of its partners.
Leeds, United Kingdom
Reviewed August 23, 2013 for a stay in May 2013

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: Open plan (kitchen/Dining/Living) aspect was ideal for cooking and socialising with the group.
Liked least: It lacked BBQ grills outside/
Traveling group: Friends
Your age range 25-34
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway Older travelers
Families with young children
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
  • Was your security deposit returned on time?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of an individual traveler and not of TripAdvisor LLC nor of its partners.
Management Response
Oct 15, 2013
Our first review woohoo, and what a fab start! Thank you xx
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC nor of its partners.
Enter dates for more accurate prices
2 guests
Adults2
Children0
Apply
Do you own a vacation rental? List it here.
Extra income
Earn money by renting out your home. With no up-front fees and no contract, you keep more for yourself.
Easy to manage
Confirm bookings in one click and track everything from inquiry to check-out – even while you're on the go.
Trusted by travelers
With millions of reviews and protected online payments, TripAdvisor helps travelers book your home with confidence.
Set up your free listing