We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The Royal Oak Near Filey
Nearby Hotels
Ambassador Hotel(Scarborough)
$70
$68
Expedia.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Weston Hotel(Scarborough)
$100
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
$82
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Restaurant
  • Bar/Lounge
Red Lea Hotel(Scarborough)
$101
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Rivelyn Hotel(Scarborough)
$53
Booking.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Restaurant
The Crown Spa Hotel(Scarborough)
$588
$83
Hotels.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Pool
TripAdvisor
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Parking
  • Breakfast included
TripAdvisor
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Marine Residence(Scarborough)
TripAdvisor
View Deal
The Esplanade Hotel(Scarborough)
No availability for your dates from our partners
  • Free Parking
  • Restaurant
Reviews (189)
Filter reviews
189 results
Traveler rating
112
36
18
11
12
Traveler type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
112
36
18
11
12
Show reviews that mention
All reviewssunday carverythe pubprimrose valleysalmonhomemade chipsbouncy castlemashsteak pieplay areaturkeyhunters chickencaravan sitemixed grillpastrybeer gardenprice was reasonablenew extension
FilterAll languages
Updating list...
151 - 156 of 189 reviews
Reviewed December 18, 2013 via mobile

Our Christmas evening meal, great meal, can't fault it. Some of pur party had not been before were very impressed. Many thanks to all the staff, even to Terry that could not be there (get well soon Terry). Merry christmas RO and Happy new year.

Stayed: December 2013, traveled with friends
1  Thank bigron2000
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Steve M, General Manager at The Royal Oak Near Filey, responded to this reviewResponded January 29, 2014

Hi bigron2000, so glad you enjoyed your Christmas Meal with us, it certainly was a pleasure for us to serve you and your party. Terry is well on the mend thank you and even though he's under instructions not to come down to the bar area until March he's been spotted a few times, typical Terry really!!!
Cheers, from all the staff.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed December 8, 2013

A warm welcome from the bar staff, coupled with good wholesome food. Be careful what you order as the portions are massive. Our family have started to frequent this pub on a regular basis and we always have a selection of different meals, but they are all served together and piping hot. Well recommended.

  • Stayed: December 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank retepyllek
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Steve M, General Manager at The Royal Oak Near Filey, responded to this reviewResponded January 29, 2014

Hi retepyllek, many thanks for your wonderful review, we are really pleased you enjoy your time with us and it seems you've become quite a regular. I hope you are working your way through our menu and Specials Board!!!
Cheers, from all the staff.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 21, 2013 via mobile

3rd visit and came for Sunday carvery and again the service is warm and friendly and I think its Terry behind the bar and apologies if not but the lovely little irish gem that he is, always makes me smile as I have never met anyone who can beat me at talking... The carvery is just awesome, plenty of meat given and good choice of veg... The pub itself is dated but clean it is... I also think the replies to the moans and groans on here are so applaudable and good on you for fighting back... So to sum the Royal Oak its brill, yes not posh, yes not modern but it offers the best pub food, good service, value for money and its a really down to earth pub!! Thank you for another fab visit and see you all very soon.....

  • Stayed: October 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank faithderby
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Steve M, General Manager at The Royal Oak Near Filey, responded to this reviewResponded October 22, 2013

Hi there FaithDerby, thanks for posting a great review on both our sites, we really appreciate your company and we are so pleased you enjoy ours!!!
Hope to see you again real soon. Cheers, from all the staff.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 15, 2013

Stayed at primrose valley for the week with 2 members of family who had previously been to this pub and were keen to take me. We went on the Monday and ordered hunters chicken, fish and chips and gammon and chips with sides of onion rings and mushrooms. I am a bit of a food snob but I honestly cannot fault any of the meal. Onion rings are massive and cooked to perfection, hunters chicken was without a doubt better than other eateries I have been to, Gammon and chips and the fish and chips went down a treat with my family too. I spoke to Terry the bar man and he is such a lovely warm character and is definitely a face you'll remember!! 'Health, wealth and happiness'- lovely to be greeted by this! We then went back on the Thursday and had different meals and I had the rump steak and wasn't expecting it to be as delicious but yes I was highly delighted and enjoyed yet anothed perfect meal. we managed to have puddings as it was our last night and they were gorgeous too. (Sorry for the long review but I have never eaten food of this quality before and it will be hard to beat) all the way from Exeter, I would happily return in the future when visiting family. Thank you for your great service!!

  • Stayed: October 2013
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
Thank Hayleyleaman
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Steve M, General Manager at The Royal Oak Near Filey, responded to this reviewResponded October 22, 2013

Hi Hayley thanks for a great review. And double thanks for a great review title, you have certainly hit the nail on the head!!!
We source all our food locally and cook each order from fresh, non of that 'ping' food in our pub thank you!!
We really hope to see you again soon, although from Exeter that's some journey. Next time stay over and enjoy our Sunday Carvery....go on you know you want to!!!
Cheers, from all the staff.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 15, 2013

Due to commitments,haven't been in Filey area for a while.Decided to eat at the Oak.Must say the food is as good as it was last year,fantastic.
We both had Turkey n Ham Pie n chips n veg,the pastry melted in your mouth and the meat was perfect ,home made chips,n veg.The whole meal,hot from start to finish,,,,,Perfection.
Well done to the whole team.

Stayed: October 2013, traveled as a couple
1  Thank alfredStokeOnTrent
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Steve M, General Manager at The Royal Oak Near Filey, responded to this reviewResponded October 22, 2013

Hi there Alfred, thanks for taking the time to post reviews on both our sites. It's a real pleasure writing reviews when everything is OK, and in your case you certainly seem to have been very satisfied with our food and hospitality.
Thanks again and hope to see you soon. Cheers, from all the staff.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
View more reviews