We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Spur of the moment” 4 of 5 bubbles
Review of Wrangham House Hotel

Wrangham House Hotel
Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 1 more site!
Wrangham House Hotel
Ranked #1 of 1 Hotels in Hunmanby
Certificate of Excellence
Leeds, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
15 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
“Spur of the moment”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 19, 2013

July 13 --14
We decided to spend the weekend at the coast and called into the Wrangham House Hotel to see if they had any vacancies we chose the double room over the four poster.
The room was up a spiral iron staircase which was a bit precarious The room was charming very clean and the bed was one of the most comfortable beds I'v ever slept in.
The breakfast was very good
This was our first stay but we will be back shortly.
Well done Wrangham

Room Tip: Room three is really charming with a GREAT bed
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank gatkinson40
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

177 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    107
    40
    10
    9
    11
See reviews for
57
73
5
4
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (22)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
York, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 16, 2013

As we have just moved into the area and it was our anniversary we thought we would give the restaurant a try. We arrived and was asked to wait in the bar area where a young girl of 15 was serving. On trying to purchase drinks we were told to wait a minute, this stretched onto 10 so we went into the restaurant without drinks. The meal was nice and service was adequate so we ordered coffee to finish. We were told our coffee was in the lounge area, we went into the lounge the only coffee available was at a table with people seated so we waited, when no coffee arrived we asked the people seated if they had ordered coffee, they had not so we presumed this was ours.
I then went to the bar for the bill, the young girl was talking and talking and talking. I broke in and asked for the bill. 10 minutes passed, 15 minutes passed so I went looking for someone and found the owner who told me the bill was being prepared. We did hear the landlord comment that people of the village do not use the restaurant and after the way we were treated I can understand why. We were under the impression that our money was not important only residents were important. Although the food was nice we will not be going back.

  • Stayed July 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank 918Tony11
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
York, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 15, 2013

we have visited this hotel many times, the location is stunning and handy for everywhere. This place is family run giving extra attention to details to make your stay perfect. The food is exceptional, fresh, lots of local produce and fayre, you cant make a bad choice as its all amazing. The rooms are beautiful continuing the character of this grand period property. The whole place is immaculate throughout and well maintained.
Also can recommend peters and staceys' home made scones.....

  • Stayed June 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank clk-3982
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cambridge
Level Contributor
54 reviews
20 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 45 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 11, 2013

We were delighted to spend a couple of nights here. The food was varied and delicious. The approach by staff, very casual. The hotel a little scruffy around the edges, maybe a little tied. The weather was perfect. Thank you

Stayed July 2013, traveled as a couple
Helpful?
1 Thank Anne T
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Oldham
Level Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 3, 2013

We got married in June at Wrangham House it was the best day ever thanks to Stacie who is the greatest organiser and makes you feel really special and the fantastic food cooked by the one and only Peter. The gardens were in full bloom and look great on our wedding photos. And yes the furnishings are a little tired but what do you expect in a house full of charm. I would definitely recommend this hotel for a lovely intimate wedding or for the food alone. Thank you Stacie and Peter

  • Stayed June 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank AngieKerr
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Doncaster, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
16 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 1, 2013

Recently returned from a very enjoyable weekend stay. Warm welcome as usual, room clean & comfortable(traditional décor but cosy with it). Lovely & quiet, so had a good nights sleep - but did hear the owls calling in the garden! Food excellent as always, with a good choice, lovely & freshly cooked. Wrangham House has a good sized car park, so parking is never a problem; it is convenient for the nearby coastal towns & a good base for touring this area. Although some attention to detail would improve appearances( ie tidying some areas of the garden, & curtain hangings), we would be more than happy to return-for the food alone! - & would gladly recommend the hotel to others.

  • Stayed June 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank ida91
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
York, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
6 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed June 16, 2013

A quite superb lunch of exceptional quality combined with fine, friendly service. Highly recommended. Perhaps an overlooked venue. Great beers on offer too! The beef and vegetables were cooked to perfection. We will definitely return.

  • Stayed June 2013
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
Helpful?
1 Thank nickneill
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Hunmanby
2.0 mi away
White Lodge Hotel
White Lodge Hotel
#2 of 3 in Filey
4.5 of 5 bubbles 337 reviews
7.4 mi away
The Crown Spa Hotel
The Crown Spa Hotel
#6 of 28 in Scarborough
4.0 of 5 bubbles 4,496 reviews
10.3 mi away
Wrea Head Hall
Wrea Head Hall
#1 of 28 in Scarborough
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,781 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
8.4 mi away
Expanse Hotel
Expanse Hotel
#1 of 7 in Bridlington
4.0 of 5 bubbles 522 reviews
8.5 mi away
Park Manor Hotel
Park Manor Hotel
#4 of 28 in Scarborough
4.5 of 5 bubbles 780 reviews
7.6 mi away
The Crescent Hotel
The Crescent Hotel
#5 of 28 in Scarborough
4.5 of 5 bubbles 560 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Wrangham House Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Wrangham House Hotel

Property: Wrangham House Hotel
Address: Stonegate, Hunmanby, Filey YO14 0NS, England
Location: United Kingdom > England > Yorkshire > North Yorkshire > Scarborough District > Filey > Hunmanby
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Restaurant
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 1 Hotels in Hunmanby
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Number of rooms: 12
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Agoda, Booking.com and LateRooms so you can book your Wrangham House Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Wrangham Hotel Hunmanby
Wrangham House Hotel Hunmanby, North Yorkshire

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing