We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“A visit to the largest village in England”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
The Southgate Bed & Breakfast
Ranked #1 of 3 Hunmanby B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed August 27, 2013

I went with my partner and children ages 6 and 5 months. It was an excellent base for trips to Filey and Scarborough. Accomodation was first class and Carl and Nikki were very accomodating, nothing was too much trouble for them. The breakfast was one of the best i have had and there was that much that i didnt need anything else to eat all day. The room was spotless and en;suite also very clean. There are 3 pubs within walking distance 2 of them just round the corner, these too are very friendly and Hunmanby is a very clean village. I cannot praise the accomodation and surrounding area strongly enough and i will definately be visiting again.

Room Tip: If going as a family book a family room they are so spacious
See more room tips
  • Stayed: August 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank paul r
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (118)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

67 - 73 of 118 reviews

Reviewed August 21, 2013

We stayed here for one night and other members of my family stayed two nights lovely clean rooms food lovely and staff very welcoming and next too two lovely pubs and take away places....we had a good weekend and would stay again

  • Stayed: July 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank LouiseCoughlan
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 18, 2013

We stayed here on short notice and couldnt have been made more welcome. Our room, which I have to say we stayed in maybe a couple of years ago, was still as fresh and clean as ever. The breakfasts were first class and the dining area is beautiful. Look forward to staying with you if ever we visit the area again. Thank you.

  • Stayed: August 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Mollymag007
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 17, 2013

Spent one night at the Southgate whilst on business and in the process of relocating back to the area. It's in an excellent place for visiting the east coast, the pub close by very lively and friendly, the fish and chip shop across the road with a cafe was A1. My room was spotless, fresh and modern, very comfy bed. The breakfast was excellent. I can't prasie Carl and Nikki enough for a warm welcome and a well managed B&B. I enjoyed my stay and I have already booked and intend to take my wife and two children back in a few weeks time.
Thank You.. Mark Handley

Room Tip: The B&B has only been open for the last couple of years, I think?, but my room was modern, fres...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: July 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank MCHGLOS
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 10, 2013

Spent two nights at the Southgate while celebrating our friends birthday, It's in an excellent place for visiting the east coast and we found the pub close by very lively and friendly.
Our room was spotless and warm, as it was November we were very grateful for that.
The breakfast was excellent.
We enjoyed our stay so much we decided it should be a yearly event.

Room Tip: As we were a large party I saw several of the rooms they were all lovely.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: November 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Janet H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 9, 2013

This is a converted high street pub which has been refurbished to a very high standard, the decor is clean and contemporary.
Friendly, helpful staff were keen to make my stay as comfortable as possible.
The weather was extremely warm during my stay, however, the bed linen was crisp and cool and this combined with a well aired room allowed a good nights sleep. Lovely breakfast of cereals, toast, in addition to the cooked platter.
This is one of the better establishments that I have stayed in and I highly recommend it.

  • Stayed: July 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Eric H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 1, 2013

We only stayed one night but would have gladly stayed longer. The rooms were excellent with lovely bathrooms and newly furnished. Free WiFi, and the usual supply of coffee, tea, biscuits, toiletries, hairdryers etc. The breakfast was one of the best we have had, and the staff were very helpful. Good value, quiet, free overnight street parking and good location for the coast and local villages. A really nice place to stay.

  • Stayed: May 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank julieann26
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Hunmanby
0.1 mi away
Wrangham House Hotel
Wrangham House Hotel
#1 of 1 in Hunmanby
199 reviews
2.2 mi away
White Lodge Hotel
White Lodge Hotel
#2 of 3 in Filey
418 reviews
7.4 mi away
The Crown Spa Hotel
The Crown Spa Hotel
#6 of 26 in Scarborough
4,928 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.7 mi away
The Royal Oak Near Filey
2.4 mi away
No photo provided
Hallam Guest House
#7 of 16 in Filey
135 reviews
2.2 mi away
White Rose Guest House
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Southgate Bed & Breakfast? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Southgate Bed & Breakfast

Address: 8 Bridlington Street, Hunmanby, Filey YO14 0JR, England
Phone Number:
Location: United Kingdom > England > Yorkshire > North Yorkshire > Scarborough District > Filey > Hunmanby
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 3 B&Bs / Inns in Hunmanby
Price Range: $90 - $150 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3.5 star — The Southgate Bed & Breakfast 3.5*
Number of rooms: 7
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
This delightful, family run Bed and Breakfast is situated in the quaint village of Hunmanby on the East Coast of Britain. Hunmanby sits on the outskirts of the seaside town of Filey with Scarborough and Bridlington only 9 miles away. You will be spoilt for choice for beaches, golf courses, walks and cycle routes in the area. We pride ourselves on the quality and cleanliness of our rooms, with a good breakfast to start your day. We have one downstairs suite which has a wet-room making it ideal for guests with limited mobility. We are happy to serve breakfast to anyone booking this room who is unable to manage the small step up into the dining area. We are happy to cater for any dietary requirements by prior request eg: Vegetarian, Vegan, Coeliac, Allergies etc. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Hotels.com, Travelocity, Orbitz, Priceline, Agoda and Booking.com so you can book your The Southgate Bed & Breakfast reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
The Southgate Bed & Breakfast Hunmanby, North Yorkshire

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing