We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“wheechair friendy accomodation”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
The Southgate Bed & Breakfast
Ranked #1 of 3 Hunmanby B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
Nottingham, England, United Kingdom
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“wheechair friendy accomodation”
Reviewed September 13, 2012

just returned back from staying at southgate b&b and hae to say i am so impressed with the accomodation and the owners carl and his wife they have truly created a wheelchair friendly enviroment i have stayed in many hotels and this one wins hands down from the massive wetroom with wheelchair level showers to the wheelchair level sinks and the size of the famiy room that has a doube bed a single bed and a big sofa plus table and chairs with ample room left over so you can glide the wheelchair around with easy and no furniture moving inolved,they make you welcome and nothing is to much trouble.

  • Stayed September 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Jason W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

116 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    106
    9
    1
    0
    0
See reviews for
29
53
1
5
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (27)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Holmfirth, United Kingdom
Level 5 Contributor
64 reviews
25 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 55 helpful votes
Reviewed August 28, 2012

Our 2nd visit to the Southgate and once again it was excellent. Carl & Nikki as before were very welcoming and friendly. The room was brilliant and the breakfast excellent. There are 2 friendly pubs nearby, and food at the Cottage is very good and well priced. We would recommend to anyone.

  • Stayed August 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank DaveM96
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Melbourne, Australia
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed August 26, 2012

We were welcomed and very well cared for by Carl and Nikki. I think we looked quite travel worn and there was a cuppa to greet us which we really appreciated.
The B&B could not be faulted. Spotless, spacious and every need catered for - and more.
Breakfast was in a bright, sunny room and , again so well catered for.
The village of Hunmanby is also worth a visit. Lots of history, lovely gardens and all needed services. Southgate is in the heart of the village - a lovely relaxed stay.
Car parking was no problem either which was a great help.

Room Tip: They were all good.
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Claris H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Leeds, New York
Level 5 Contributor
73 reviews
15 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 56 helpful votes
Reviewed August 21, 2012

Having never been to this part of the world before, friends booked us a room here so we could stay one night whilst visiting them. Pulling up to a quaint building, in a lovely 'ye olde worlde' village, we were surprised to find on entering, a wonderfully modern, yet fitting, decor. Staff were friendly without being overbearing, our bags were taken up to our rooms (a service you don't always get in hotels!) and we were handed keys which included those for the front door so we didn't have to worry about getting locked out - nice touch :) The room itself, a twin, was super, actually better than some supposedly high class hotels I've staye+d in. Beautifully decorated with super comfy beds, plush quilts, tea and coffee facilities and an ace little hairdryer, we were thrilled. Our delight only increased the following morning as we were presented with a cracking full english breakfast, they even had black pudding mmmmmm. All in all, I would recommend this B+B to any who asked. Enjoy.

  • Stayed August 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Incey W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Leeds, United Kingdom
Level 3 Contributor
10 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
Reviewed August 21, 2012

My friends and I booked in for the weekend. We all enjoyed our stay very much and will definitely stay there again. The rooms were spotless the breakfast really good and the hosts were a lovely friendly couple . The location is great with two very friendly pubs nearby.

  • Stayed August 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank bren001
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Barnsley, United Kingdom
Level 4 Contributor
41 reviews
35 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 72 helpful votes
Reviewed August 7, 2012

My wife and I and our friends just happened to stumble on this little Gem and stayed there for 1 night.We had decided at the last minute to stay somewhere in the area for the night so instead of staying in Filey or Bridlington we stayed there.The said resorts are only a 15 minute drive away so that puts this B&B in an ideal spot.The proprietors were very friendly and welcoming and could'nt do enough for us.We had a very large room with a great view looking up the street, our friends also had a very large room.It was Thursday so it was quiet with just a few guests and so had a choice of Breakfast times.The Breakfast was out of this world with nothing left out,of coarse there were the cereals,fruit,etc for the faint hearted.There are 2 good Pubs only 100 yards away serving Food if required.We will be staying there again.

  • Stayed July 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank KeithVi
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Lymm, United Kingdom
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed July 29, 2012

stayed for 2 nights family of 5 in one room plenty of space in this clean comfy room.hosts very friendly and helpful.breakfast was great better than we have had in some 4 star hotels.great location near to shops and pubs .great place to stay if your visiting anywhere in the area.thanks dave diane and family

  • Stayed July 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank dave258
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Hunmanby
2.2 mi away
White Lodge Hotel
White Lodge Hotel
#2 of 3 in Filey
393 reviews
0.1 mi away
Wrangham House Hotel
Wrangham House Hotel
#1 of 1 in Hunmanby
190 reviews
7.6 mi away
Travelodge Scarborough St Nicholas Hotel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
7.4 mi away
The Crown Spa Hotel
The Crown Spa Hotel
#6 of 28 in Scarborough
4,862 reviews
7.4 mi away
Marine Residence
Marine Residence
#19 of 28 in Scarborough
92 reviews
1.7 mi away
The Royal Oak Near Filey
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Southgate Bed & Breakfast? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Southgate Bed & Breakfast

Property: The Southgate Bed & Breakfast
Address: 8 Bridlington Street, Hunmanby, Filey YO14 0JR, England
Phone Number:
Location: United Kingdom > England > Yorkshire > North Yorkshire > Scarborough District > Filey > Hunmanby
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 3 B&Bs / Inns in Hunmanby
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3.5 star — The Southgate Bed & Breakfast 3.5*
Number of rooms: 7
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
This delightful, family run Bed and Breakfast is situated in the quaint village of Hunmanby on the East Coast of Britain. Hunmanby sits on the outskirts of the seaside town of Filey with Scarborough and Bridlington only 9 miles away. You will be spoilt for choice for beaches, golf courses, walks and cycle routes in the area. We pride ourselves on the quality and cleanliness of our rooms, with a good breakfast to start your day. We have one downstairs suite which has a wet-room making it ideal for guests with limited mobility. We are happy to serve breakfast to anyone booking this room who is unable to manage the small step up into the dining area. We are happy to cater for any dietary requirements by prior request eg: Vegetarian, Vegan, Coeliac, Allergies etc. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotels.com, Expedia, Orbitz, Travelocity, Priceline and Book Direct Rooms so you can book your The Southgate Bed & Breakfast reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
The Southgate Bed & Breakfast Hunmanby, North Yorkshire

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing