We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Last minute escape !”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
The Southgate Bed & Breakfast
Ranked #1 of 3 Hunmanby B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
Matlock, United Kingdom
Level 3 Contributor
13 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
“Last minute escape !”
Reviewed October 8, 2011

We found this place when really fed up and needing a break! what a gem ! Friends have a little place in Filey so thought we try the area but nothing going because of the beautiful weather that last week in Sept. We were put onto the Southgate by one of the Filey B+B's we tried. Looked it up on the web - first impressions very good - but believe me - even better in reality ! Had to leave a message on the answerphone because it was so late but Peter rang the following morning apologising for ringing so early - with a room available ! We were packed and out within the hour - could only manage a one night stay - it was wonderful. They can't do enough for you. Fantastic renovation - bang up to date. Excellent breakfast and afternoon teas. We ate at the nearby pub 'The Cottage' - good simple food reasonably priced but we be will returning to The Southgate by which time we hope the planned restaurant is up and running - if it lives up to the rest of the place it will fantastic ! Give it a go! Julie and John Wilson

Room Tip: we were shown round the other rooms where guests were checking out. The single is more than generous...
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank JFW5657
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

112 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    103
    8
    1
    0
    0
See reviews for
28
52
1
5
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (26)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Amersham
Level 2 Contributor
7 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed September 18, 2011

After a warm welcome from the host we were showns rooms which we had seen on the leaflet but was so much better in true life.We have been to many a B&B but this takes the biscuit, there must be many a four star hotel which envies these rooms. The interior of these converted cottages takes nothing away from the old village atmosphere and I am sure will be in great demand once word gets around. Breakfast was well cooked, beautifully presented. and plenty of it. While sitting there it was nice to see locals coming in for a coffee and chat. I thoroughly recomend this and the scones are to die for.I know where we will make for on any future trip to thye area.

Room Tip: D/Stairs is A1 for less mobile folk or a family room otherwise all first class
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2011, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Richard B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bergerac, France
1 review
Reviewed September 15, 2011

What a fantastic B&B , more like a boutique hotel. Beautiful room, comfortable bed, lovely colour co-ordination and great shower room. Extremely friendly, professional staff and the full English breakfast was delicious. We've travelled extensively and The Southgate is certainly the best B&B we've stayed in, can't wait to return.

Room Tip: Our room was perfect, but so was everyone else's.
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Vivienne J
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bristol, United Kingdom
Level 2 Contributor
7 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
Reviewed September 13, 2011

Very warm welcome, spacious modern room, powerful hot shower, big breakfast, pleasant pub grub next door - what more could you need!

  • Stayed September 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Derek N
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bradford, United Kingdom
2 reviews
Reviewed September 6, 2011

We used this B&B as a base for our cycling weekend, chosen as it is on route 1 of the cycle network. It was a fabulous place to stay. Spotlessly clean and very comfortable. Peter was very helpful, letting us keep our bikes in the garage and making sure our drinks bottles were filled. The excellent cooked breakfast was just what we needed before setting off on the 60 mile round trip from Hunmanby to Whitby. We will be definitely be back!

  • Stayed September 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Carolynet
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Chorley, United Kingdom
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed September 5, 2011

I stayed at Southgate for 2 nights as I was working over in the Yorkshire area. I was amazed to find this B and B to be more like a hotel. Completely modern in decor with a great sized single room and friendly staff to boot. The breakfast was wonderful and they did accomadate me requiring mine a little earlier than listed too. The free wiFii was a fantastic help to me to get some work done in the evening.
I can't recommend it highly enough and it will be my place of choice whenever over this way again.

  • Stayed August 2011, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Jackie C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Wakefield, United Kingdom
Level 3 Contributor
18 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 17 helpful votes
Reviewed September 5, 2011

We really enjoyed our stay at the Southgate, Peter and Shirley were really great hosts - welcoming and friendly. The building is quite old and quaint looking from the outside but as soon as you step inside everything is clean and modern. Our bedroom was no exception - very clean, light and tastefully decorated, it also had an en-suite bathroom. I believe all the rooms were en-suite. On the Reception Desk were leaflets for palces to go and see in the area, which was useful. The breakfast was excellent, filled us up for the day. The B & B is in the centre of the village, so really handy for everything, including bus routes. We were able to leave our car in the car park. Hunmanby Village is quite small, but very busy with a variety of shops and pubs. There are some nice places to go for walks too. Will recommend the Southgate to my friends.

  • Stayed August 2011, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Angela W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Hunmanby
2.2 mi away
White Lodge Hotel
White Lodge Hotel
#2 of 3 in Filey
385 reviews
0.1 mi away
Wrangham House Hotel
Wrangham House Hotel
#1 of 1 in Hunmanby
186 reviews
7.4 mi away
The Crown Spa Hotel
The Crown Spa Hotel
#6 of 28 in Scarborough
4,844 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
7.6 mi away
Travelodge Scarborough St Nicholas Hotel
7.4 mi away
Marine Residence
Marine Residence
#20 of 28 in Scarborough
80 reviews
1.7 mi away
The Royal Oak Near Filey
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Southgate Bed & Breakfast? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Southgate Bed & Breakfast

Property: The Southgate Bed & Breakfast
Address: 8 Bridlington Street, Hunmanby, Filey YO14 0JR, England
Phone Number:
Location: United Kingdom > England > Yorkshire > North Yorkshire > Scarborough District > Filey > Hunmanby
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 3 B&Bs / Inns in Hunmanby
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3.5 star — The Southgate Bed & Breakfast 3.5*
Number of rooms: 7
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
This delightful, family run Bed and Breakfast is situated in the quaint village of Hunmanby on the East Coast of Britain. Hunmanby sits on the outskirts of the seaside town of Filey with Scarborough and Bridlington only 9 miles away. You will be spoilt for choice for beaches, golf courses, walks and cycle routes in the area. We pride ourselves on the quality and cleanliness of our rooms, with a good breakfast to start your day. We have one downstairs suite which has a wet-room making it ideal for guests with limited mobility. We are happy to serve breakfast to anyone booking this room who is unable to manage the small step up into the dining area. We are happy to cater for any dietary requirements by prior request eg: Vegetarian, Vegan, Coeliac, Allergies etc. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Orbitz, Expedia, Hotels.com, Priceline, Travelocity, Booking.com and Agoda so you can book your The Southgate Bed & Breakfast reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
The Southgate Bed & Breakfast Hunmanby, North Yorkshire

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing