We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“New B &B in Hunmanby Yorkshire”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
The Southgate Bed & Breakfast
Ranked #1 of 3 Hunmanby B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed August 3, 2011

Excellent quality B &B accomodation in the charming village of Hunmanby,conveniently situated near Filey ,Scarborough and Bridlington.
Peter and Shirley will certainly make you very welcome.

  • Stayed: July 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank jandk19
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (120)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

115 - 120 of 120 reviews

Reviewed August 1, 2011

very happy with this b& b very clean , very warm welcome on arrival and throughout our stay , good service and very comfortable , the breakfast was quality , overall we were very delighted and will definately be returning

  • Stayed: July 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank ingabonny85
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 29, 2011

We got a good feeling about the property as soon as we saw it and we weren't disapointed, we were made to feel welcome and at home on arrival. The property was exellently decorated and modern, the management were friendly and extremely helpful. It is located in a beautiful village with lots of choice nearby, we would definately recommend this b&b to anyone and we are looking forward to returning to this property soon.

  • Stayed: July 2011, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank jonnyboy242
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 25, 2011

We have just returned from a 2 night stay at the Southgate B and B.
It is ideally located and we found the locals very freindly and welcoming, close to 2 little village pubs.
The rooms are tastefully decorated and furnished with all up to date facilities, the shower was excellent.
Breakfast was a full English, needed a hearty appetite to finish it requested a smaller one for the second morning.
The manager was freindly and very welcoming.
When we enquired about staying there he asked us if we would like to see a room once we saw the room we knew we wanted to stay.
We will be visiting here again and would recommend this hotel for quality and value for money and would definatley recommend a stay at this B and B.

  • Stayed: July 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank llesliesheffield
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 25, 2011

This B&B has only been open 3 Months, and everything is brand new and the inside of the building has been totally renivated and refurbished. The owner showed us around all the bedrooms which are modern and tastefully decorated, with lovely carpets and finishings.
Breakfast consists of fruit juice, tea or coffee, cereals and a brilliant cooked breakfast, the best we have had in a B&B, Guest house or hotel.
The Southgate is ideally situated in the centre of Hummanby, with lots of car parking to the rear, just up from the B&B are two nice old traditional pubs.
We found the hotel ideally situated for Filey and Flamborough golf courses.
We hopefully will be returning later in August. Have a look at their website www.southgatebandb.com for photos.
Many thanks to Peter and Shirley for a very enjoyable and welcoming two nignts stay on the 23/24 of July.

Room Tip: Splash out the extra £10 and go for the large suite for that special occasion, we would have but the...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: July 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank pales30
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 11, 2016 via mobile
Google Translation

Stayed: August 2016, traveled with friends
Thank rinaklein1963
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Hunmanby
0.1 mi away
Wrangham House Hotel
Wrangham House Hotel
#1 of 1 in Hunmanby
199 reviews
2.2 mi away
White Lodge Hotel
White Lodge Hotel
#2 of 3 in Filey
426 reviews
7.0 mi away
Ambassador Hotel
Ambassador Hotel
#22 of 26 in Scarborough
1,279 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.1 mi away
The Royal Oak Near Filey
2.4 mi away
Esmae House
Esmae House
#2 of 19 in Filey
121 reviews
2.4 mi away
No photo provided
Hallam Guest House
#7 of 16 in Filey
136 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Southgate Bed & Breakfast? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Southgate Bed & Breakfast

Address: 8 Bridlington Street, Hunmanby, Filey YO14 0JR, England
Phone Number:
Location: United Kingdom > England > Yorkshire > North Yorkshire > Scarborough District > Filey > Hunmanby
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 3 B&Bs / Inns in Hunmanby
Price Range: $90 - $118 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3.5 star — The Southgate Bed & Breakfast 3.5*
Number of rooms: 7
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
This delightful, family run Bed and Breakfast is situated in the quaint village of Hunmanby on the East Coast of Britain. Hunmanby sits on the outskirts of the seaside town of Filey with Scarborough and Bridlington only 9 miles away. You will be spoilt for choice for beaches, golf courses, walks and cycle routes in the area. We pride ourselves on the quality and cleanliness of our rooms, with a good breakfast to start your day. We have one downstairs suite which has a wet-room making it ideal for guests with limited mobility. We are happy to serve breakfast to anyone booking this room who is unable to manage the small step up into the dining area. We are happy to cater for any dietary requirements by prior request eg: Vegetarian, Vegan, Coeliac, Allergies etc. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Expedia, Travelocity, Orbitz, Booking.com, Priceline and Agoda so you can book your The Southgate Bed & Breakfast reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
The Southgate Bed & Breakfast Hunmanby, North Yorkshire

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing