We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
“Beautiful house - highly recommend to anyone”
lead photo: house and front lawn
Bookings for this home are first-come, first served. Lock in your dates before they are gone
lead photo: house and front lawn
Stunning views over lawn and golf course Kits room - lovely south facing bedroom, great for a kids get together, double and three singles
Check Availability
Request to Book
Make Inquiry
Excellent
104 reviews
lead photo: house and front lawn
Stunning views over lawn and golf course
Kits room - lovely south facing bedroom, great for a kids get together, double and three singles
All beds are dressed with Egyptian cotton sheets and guests are provided with towels
Large comfortable TV lounge, Sky HD+, Sky Sports, BT Sports, books, games and toys
Large comfortable TV lounge, Sky HD+, Sky Sports, BT Sports, books, games and toys
The snug - a hideway that's a great place for a sundowner with a balcony looking south and west
Baby grand piano - tuned and ready to go!
Stunning main lounge - light, huge and lovely! Wood burner, 3 large sofas, music centre, piano.
Stunning main lounge - light, huge and lovely! Wood burner, 3 large sofas, music centre, piano.
Stunning main lounge - light, huge and lovely! Wood burner, 3 large sofas, music centre, piano.
Stunning main lounge - light, huge and lovely! Wood burner, 3 large sofas, music centre, piano.
Time for tea..
Eat-in kitchen, range style cooker, side by side fridge freezer, dishwasher, pots & pans galore
Eat-in kitchen, range style cooker, side by side fridge freezer, dishwasher, pots & pans galore
Eat-in kitchen, range style cooker, side by side fridge freezer, dishwasher, pots & pans galore
Eat-in kitchen, range style cooker, side by side fridge freezer, dishwasher, pots & pans galore
Eat-in kitchen, range style cooker, side by side fridge freezer, dishwasher, pots & pans galore
Tea time
The house looking from the South garden
Playing on the lawn
The house looking from the golf course
The house looking from the garden terrace
Oak paneled dining luxury with natural light from the south garden
Oak paneled dining luxury with natural light from the south garden
Oak panelled dining room for dining in style
Christmas Day in South Wing
Oak paneled dining luxury with natural light from the south garden
Oak paneled dining luxury with natural light from the south garden
Twin bedroom, TV, west facing, very comfortable
Twin bedroom, TV, west facing, very comfortable
Twin bedroom, TV, west facing, very comfortable
Ruby room, double bed, en-suite bathroom, TV, views south over gardens and gold course
Ruby room, double bed, en-suite bathroom, TV, views south over gardens and gold course
Ruby room, double bed, en-suite bathroom, TV, views south over gardens and gold course
Ruby room, double bed, en-suite bathroom, TV, views south over gardens and gold course
Master bedroom, super kingsize bed, 3 piece suite, en-suite bathroom, dressing room.
Master bedroom, super kingsize bed, 3 piece suite, en-suite bathroom, dressing room.
Master bedroom, super kingsize bed, 3 piece suite, en-suite bathroom, dressing room.
Master bedroom, super kingsize bed, 3 piece suite, en-suite bathroom, dressing room.
Master bedroom, super kingsize bed, 3 piece suite, en-suite bathroom, dressing room.
Master bedroom, super kingsize bed, 3 piece suite, en-suite bathroom, dressing room.
Louis room, double, single and en-suite shower room, views east to sea and south over gardens
Louis room, double, single and en-suite shower room, views east to sea and south over gardens
Hunmanby beach, seven miles of beautiful beach
Scarborough Spa
This property is not available for these dates.
Don't give up! Inquire about other rentals just like this one that are available -
Show all rentals available
Overview
Rental Home -
5 Bedrooms, 5 Bathrooms, Sleeps 14
Hunmanby, Filey, Scarborough District, North Yorkshire, England

Reviews from our community

Excellent - based on 104 reviews
Write a Review

Reviews from our community

Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
English first
Any
English first
Rachael B
Leeds, United Kingdom
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Beautiful house - highly recommend to anyone”
Reviewed March 28, 2016 for a stay in December 2015
1
person found this review helpful

We stayed at South Wing for a family celebration weekend and couldn't have asked for more. The house itself has a real "wow" factor and is full of character - large,airy rooms with floor to ceiling windows and stunning views over the large garden/golf course. The house itself was so warm, clean and comfortable and the kitchen is fantastically equipped. Great location too - a 2 minute walk from Hunmanby village, which itself is located nearby to larger towns such as Filey/Scarborough.

Our age group ranged from 7 to 70 years and everyone thoroughly enjoyed staying at South Wing and didn't want to leave!! I would highly recommend this special house to anyone, I have no negative comments at all.

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: The dramatic character of the house/size of rooms
Liked least: No security light outside entrance door- made it very dark on a night upon entry
Traveling group: Extended Family
Your age range 35-49
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway Older travelers
Families with young children Large groups
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Management Response
Mar 30, 2016
Thank you Rachael for this fabulous review! I think you have summed up South Wing beautifully and I'm delighted that you and your family enjoyed your stay.
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Carole M
Kingston-upon-Hull, United Kingdom
1 review
“Fabulous”
Reviewed March 21, 2016 for a stay in March 2016

We celebrated my daughters 40th Birthday at South-Wing. It was a wonderful place to stay. Plenty of room and the layout of the bathrooms makes it very easy to share if you have a number of people to accommodate. The beautiful dining room was perfect for us all to be seated comfortably. We look forward to be able to visit again during warmer weather to take advantage of the garden.

Traveling group: Extended Family
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
northyork...
York, United Kingdom
Level 5 Contributor
46 reviews
26 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 84 helpful votes
“Beyond our expectations!”
Reviewed February 23, 2016 for a stay in February 2016
1
person found this review helpful

Wow!!! What a place!

We stayed here as a party of 10 - 5 couples. It's not often we get to have a weekend to ourselves so we were all looking forward to it. We knew South Wing was going to be pretty special but just didn't realise how fabulous it actually is!

The place is huge and although I'd looked at the photos many times, they didn't do the place justice. All the bedrooms were lovely and comfy. Everything was spotless. One person in our party is abit of a clean freak and even she couldn't find any faults!

South Wing is situated perfectly. We parked up and did the whole 2 min walk to The Cottage pub for our lunch and it was brilliant and a bargain. In fact, the men visited the pubs several times over the weekend! The shops and supermarket are within a 2 min walk as well so it's just perfect.

We loved it and have already enquired about returning next year and hopefully are going to book in the next day or so. We felt that the house was perfect for the 10 of us. The men would often congregate in the TV room to watch the football whilst us women were quite happy in the bigger living room. All the rooms were so comfortable and although the kitchen is slightly small compared to the rest of the house, you name it and it's in there!

The men cooked us a beautiful meal one evening and we all sat in the magnificent dining room feeling like we were in an episode of Downton Abbey! We loved it that there was ipod docks all over the house and whatever you needed, you could find. The utility room was brilliant for our mucky boots after a long walk one afternoon and we even sat outside in the garden over a g&t one afternoon - just perfect!

From the moment we booked, the owners were so professional. I would email them over anything and never once was I made to feel that I was pestering them or a burden over my many questions!

We can't wait for our return visit next year!!!

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: Everything!!!!!
Liked least: That we had to leave!
Traveling group: Friends
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway Older travelers
Families with young children Large groups
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Management Response
Feb 24, 2016
Thank you so much for this fantastic review - It sounds like you love the house as much as I do! Looking forward to seeing you back next year
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Jen T
Kingston-upon-Hull, United Kingdom
Level 1 Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“So grand we felt we were in an episode of Downton!”
Reviewed February 2, 2016 for a stay in January 2016
1
person found this review helpful

We had a fantastic extended weekend at South Wing. The house itself is magnificent - I was speechless when I first explored myself and I loved showing each member of the group round as they arrived. The rooms are enormous yet still cosy and there are countless excellent features throughout - grand piano, wood-burning stove, books, games and the comfiest beds.... The kitchen is well stocked with anything you could possibly need and although we'd brought tons of food ourselves, it was a thoughtful touch to find bread, butter, milk, eggs, bacon already there. The views are lovely across the gardens and right to the sea. The house is perfectly placed to enable a quick 5 minute walk to the village (for pubs, shops and the train station to Scarborough / Bridlington and nearby). Car parking and access to the property was also so easy and well-explained by the owner prior to our arrival. In fact, from the initial booking stage, contact with the owner was consistently quick, easy, friendly and informative, and we were made to feel that we would be welcome at his home. There's also lots of information about the house and its history so you can really get a feel for the place. I'm already looking for an excuse to return to South Wing in the future and would fully recommend a stay here to anyone looking for relaxation, luxury and lots of space.

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: Relaxing with friends in the huge lounge by the wood-burner :)
Liked least: Having to leave!
Traveling group: Large Group
Your age range 25-34
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway Large groups
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Management Response
Feb 3, 2016
Hi Jen T, what a great review and thank you for taking the time. I'm delighted that you enjoyed your stay at South Wing and hope we see you back soon!
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
LeedsUKDi...
Leeds UK
Level 5 Contributor
67 reviews
41 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 26 helpful votes
“Fantastic house for a large gathering”
Reviewed January 14, 2016 for a stay in January 2016
1
person found this review helpful

Just returned from a wonderful 70th birthday celebration with family and friends. We ranged in age from 3 to 71 years and everyone enjoyed themselves. I had been anxious that the house may be too large but it was just perfect. The formal dining room was great for a celebration meal while the large lounge was warm and cosy with the wood burning stove. The 3 children enjoyed the space and a treasure hunt was a great success. The house is well equipped and the beds very comfortable. We did have a slight issue with the upstairs heating but the owner is aware of this and I'm sure it will soon be remedied. Communication with the owner was excellent and the information about the house and area the most comprehensive we've had. Would love to return in the summer and make use of the garden.

Traveling group: Large Group
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Management Response
Jan 15, 2016
Thank you Dilys for taking the time to post such a lovely review and I'm delighted that you enjoyed celebrating your birthday at South Wing. Hopefully we'll see you back in the future.
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Tina H
Yorkshire, United Kingdom
2 reviews
“The house with the wow factor”
Reviewed December 3, 2015 for a stay in November 2015

I have just stayed at south wing for a long weekend with friends 8 in total.what a beautiful house we all loved it ,lots of character,huge rooms ,amazing comfy beds private gardens and a great location.
Of all the places we have stayed over the years this is by far the best and we will return.

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: The size and and character of the house.
Traveling group: Friends
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway Families with young children
Large groups
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Management Response
Dec 4, 2015
Hello Tina, thank you for this lovely review! It's great to hear you enjoyed your stay and hope to see you again soon - maybe come back in the summer and enjoy the wonderful local beaches, countryside and gardens!
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Deborah B
Newcastle upon Tyne, United Kingdom
Level 2 Contributor
7 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
“Amazing, large property and well equipt with extras!!”
Reviewed November 9, 2015 for a stay in October 2015

Had a lovely stay with family. The property was very large and easily accommodated us. The rooms were lovely and the garden space large.

The place was well equipt with extras and lovely touches of nice glasses etc

Situated ideally for places such as Scarborough and Whitby as well as filey and many other interesting places. Some nice local pubs as well.

Great stay!

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: The large rooms so it was not cramped
Liked least: Some decoration issues on the ceilings - Paint falling off
Traveling group: Large Group
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway Families with young children
Large groups People with pets
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Management Response
Nov 10, 2015
Hi Deborah, thank you very much for taking the time to post this review which is much appreciated. Great to hear you enjoyed your stay and it sounds like you got to see some of the lovely sights in this beautiful part of North Yorkshire. We hope to see you back at South Wing in the future.
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Enter dates for more accurate prices
2 guests
Adults2
Children0
Apply
Do you own a vacation rental? List it here.
Extra income
Earn money by renting out your home. With no up-front fees and no contract, you keep more for yourself.
Easy to manage
Confirm bookings in one click and track everything from inquiry to check-out – even while you're on the go.
Trusted by travelers
With millions of reviews and protected online payments, TripAdvisor helps travelers book your home with confidence.
Set up your free listing