We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Nearby Hotels
Reviews (23)
Filter reviews
23 results
Traveler rating
16
3
2
0
2
Traveler type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
Traveler rating
16
3
2
0
2
Show reviews that mention
All reviews pies modern accommodation patio area salmon ale portions filling meal dog pub filey
Selected filters
Filter
Updating list...
5 - 10 of 23 reviews
Reviewed May 31, 2019 via mobile

Honestly one of the best pies I’ve ever had

Fantastic service and quality of food,

Found it completely by accident but so glad we did, great portions at a great price and a brilliant vegetarian selection which was great for me!

Highly recommend to any family (also dog friendly, our dog enjoyed his treats!)

Date of stay: May 2019
Trip type: Traveled with family
Thank GorjOgle
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
John E, Marketing Manager at The Piebald Inn, responded to this reviewResponded June 1, 2019

Thank you for your 5 star rating!

We are delighted you loved our food, and vegetarian options!

Looking forward to welcoming you again soon,

Best regards

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed May 22, 2019 via mobile

We had been to the pinbold inn last year and sat in the bar to have are meal, for some reason we were moved to the restaurant area to have are meal this time, no one else in, and no atmosphere and for pie and chips twice and 2 pints of coke £35 seemed a little steep, won’t be calling again!

Date of stay: May 2019
Trip type: Traveled as a couple
Thank altoftspete2014
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
John E, Marketing Manager at The Piebald Inn, responded to this reviewResponded May 24, 2019

Thank you for your feedback,

We are happy for you to remain in the bar if you wish during your meal, please make your intentions known to our staff who will be happy to accommodate your requests.

We pride ourselves on serving only highest quality, freshly cooked food, made from locally sourced ingredients and our Pie Awards speak for themselves. Our pricing structure is extremely competitive when compared with similar establishments and you will note that over 95% of our reviews mention "Value for money".

We may not be the "cheapest" option for a meal, however we have found "cheap" does not equal quality or customer satisfaction.

Best regards

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed May 18, 2019 via mobile

Wow,this place is great! Sampled both the pies and breakfast and there food is homecooked really nice, and portions are big, we stayed here also and I can honestly say they are the most immaculate rooms we have ever stayed in, modern clean tidy rooms with crisp white clean bedding!! Worth every penny, so relaxing and friendly did not want to leave, see you again soon piebald!!

Date of stay: May 2019
Trip type: Traveled as a couple
Thank Kirsty B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
John E, Marketing Manager at The Piebald Inn, responded to this reviewResponded May 24, 2019

Thank you for your 5 star rating!

We are delighted you loved our food, and found our rooms immaculate :)

Looking forward to welcoming you soon,

Best regards

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed May 4, 2019 via mobile

Arrived to a relatively quiet pub. The girl on the bar wasn’t particularly forthcoming, had to ask for menus, high chair and to place an order. The meals were quite a while in coming, not a problem for adults but a bit of a pain with a toddler and baby. The food though was absolutely delicious! We were so full when we left. So if you aren’t in a rush, definitely worth a visit.

Date of stay: May 2019
Trip type: Traveled with family
Thank ILoveHolidays03
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
John E, Marketing Manager at The Piebald Inn, responded to this reviewResponded May 5, 2019

Thank you for your feedback following your recent visit.

We're really delighted you loved our food, and generous portions.

Our meals are all freshly cooked on the premises and this can take upto 30 minutes depending on the pie chosen.

Saddened to hear that you didn't appear to have our usual level of friendly, attentive service, which I offer my apologies for and will investigate.

We really hope to see you again soon,

Best regards

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed April 24, 2019 via mobile

Absolutely shocking service. Couldn't tell you about the food. We arrived with baby in tow.. no greeting from the girl on the bar. Wandered around looking for a high chair. Eventually got the bar girl off her phone long enough to ask about a menu only to be told that food is only served in the restaurant (not a problem) but we're told we ' couldn't really' have a high chair in the bar in the meantime. Asked if we'd booked and said we hadn't. She took our names and said we could order then someone would take us through to the restaurant once our food was ready. Made to feel like a lepper for having a baby with us. Ended up walking out and going elsewhere. Rudest staff we have ever met. She was far too busy faffing with her phone behind the bar to provide good service. The food may well be amazing,but the customer service and experience we had was atrocious.

Date of stay: April 2019
Trip type: Traveled with family
Thank adamgC3876VF
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
John E, Marketing Manager at The Piebald Inn, responded to this reviewResponded April 25, 2019

Thank you for your recent feedback, I am sorry to hear that you have experienced issues during your visit.

As this is such an unusual occurrence please can I ask you to call Jon / Janine (our Managers) on 01723 447 577 after 12pm to discuss your experiences in more detail.

Many thanks,

Best regards

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
View more reviews